We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Olive Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pringle Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Olive Guest Lodge
Save
You added Wild Olive Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Cnr. Bell and Hangklip Roads, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent three nights with Gloria and Peter at Wild Olive Guest House and were so well looked after. Peter is a wonderful chef and Gloria is busy making sure that their guests are wanting for nothing. It was lovely to have our evening meal with other guests plus Gloria and Peter joining us for evenings of excellent food and conversation. The rooms are spacious, light and airy with views of the ocean. All this just over an hour from Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found Wild Olive beautiful. Gloria and Peter made us so welcome and the 'fine dining' dinner created by Peter was utterly delicious. The breakfast the next morning was also amazing. Our bedroom was lovely, with the added thrill of our own al fresco shower ( as well as our lovely indoor shower room).We also had a private terrace. The whole house has a contemporary beach chic theme. Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wild Olive Guest House conveniently located on the coast between Cape Town and Hermanus continues to provide comfort, generous hospitality, great food, and hugely helpful owner hosts. A wonderful base for those who wish to relax and enjoy the garden, sea and mountain views, or indulge in a wide range of activities and adventures, all within easy reach, with expert guidance from owner Gloria Langer, whilst her husband Peter, a skilled chef, works at producing delicious breakfasts and dinners suited to every dietary requirement, with fine Cape wines available or enjoy those you might have bought in the nearby Cape Winelands. We are one of many return guests who enjoy the experience and great value offered.

Room Tip: Corner rooms enjoy private patios and all rooms have the luxury of an outdoor shower in addition to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My parents stayed here recently but don't have their own trip advisor, so they're borrowing mine:

'You will never be disappointed staying here it is fantastic.Gloria is a warm host and has a deep understanding of what her guests require,tour guide included.Peter is a chef of the highest standing,breakfasts are stunning,fresh fruits,eggs,bacon and a very special few additions.Dinner sensational,fresh crayfish,game,what ever you want Peter will prepare it.

Where for instance will you find a B & B which has a plug to take just about every adaptor,UK,Europe,USA and both an indoor and outdoor shower,easy chairs in your own garden space,sunbirds and many other birds feet away.Just a few hundred yards from the seashore,with massive waves breaking over the rocks.

Everything here is marvellous,such great value and one place that we will always visit if we are in the Cape.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our favorite place for a gastronomic experience and peaceful escape from Cape Town. Excellent breakfasts and dinners, and great walks by the sea. What could be better. And Peter and Gloria are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead,Berkshire,UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

No review or web site can do full justice to exceptional standards at this Guest House. The standard of cleanliness and attention to detail are second to none and we have travelled extensively in South Africa. Gloria and Peter are excellent hosts and you quickly know you have arrived somewhere special. To add to all the superlatives you have the added bonus that Peter is an exceptional cook. The breakfasts and dinners were absolutely superb. Our two days were no where near sufficient. We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: All are excellent with good views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I decided on Wild Olive as a last minute thing; we'd stayed in Pringle Bay a couple of times before at another guest house but decided on a change.
The outside is nothing special. On entering the door onto the courtyard you're taken into a quiet and pleasant retreat. We were welcomed by Gloria and shown our room.
The room had large double bed with immaculate white and blue sheets, large bathroom with shower, double sink and usual toiletries, door onto terrace with chairs and table and views over the fynbos, other houses, the sea and mountains. There's also an outdoor shower which was great fun to use.
A short walk takes you to the beach with lovely views over the water and a backdrop of mountains.
We were debating as to whether we should go out for an evening meal. Do NOT under any circumstances do this; the restaurants in "town" are few and not really of great quality. Our chef, Peter, who is married to Gloria, is a trained Austrian chef and presents the most astonishing meals. We shared a table with another charming German couple and Gloria and Peter also ate with us. The dining area is lovely with beautiful views out onto the sea where you sip your pre-prandial drinks. I won't list what we ate, only to say that it was all beautifully presented (you can see Peter working in his kitchen), very tasty, generous portions and excellent value. You can also choose your wine. It was like eating in a top quality restaurant but rather friendlier and better priced.
After a lovely evening and having eaten far too much we had a blissful night's sleep on a very comfortable double bed and woke up in the morning refreshed.
We then went back up to the "dining room" and looked out at the whales in the bay through the binoculars (which they provide for you); a lovely sight. We were given a top notch breakfast, excellently presented; cereals, fruit salad, filtered coffee, a variety of teas etc etc.
I could have spent at least another day or two here. I'd suggest a minimum 2 nights.
There's some excellent things to do in the area. Betty's Bay has a wonderful penguin colony. Walker Bay is a lovely area to explore. Harold Porter botanical gardens are magnificent. Hermanus isn't far away either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Olive Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Olive Guest Lodge

Address: Cnr. Bell and Hangklip Roads, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Olive Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.