We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't fault this outstanding guest lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Olive Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pringle Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Olive Guest Lodge
Save
You added Wild Olive Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Cnr. Bell and Hangklip Roads, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Pringle Bay B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We can't fault this outstanding guest lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Peter and Gloria run what must be one of the best gust houses in South Africa! Our 2 nights were perfect - we can't fault the rooms, food or hospitality. peter's cooking is amazing and is totally complimented by Gloria's "front of house". It is like having your own top chef cook for your private dinner party. What a wonderful couple and a wonderful guest house. My only reservation is that everyone will want to go there now!!

Room Tip: All are perfect with private space and outside showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked for 2 nights in February 2012 and wished we had booked for more. The other two couples staying at the same were repeat guests over many years. I think that is a testament to the level of personal hospitality Peter and Gloria afford to their guests. We were made very welcome and enjoyed wonderful sunsets with stunning views across Pringle Bay. Our room was very comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. On both evenings Peter, being a first-rate chef, prepared superb home-cooked meals and we enjoyed the fine dining, excellent choice of wines and conversing with Peter, Gloria and the other guests. We cannot wait to visit Wild Olive again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Being served by an experienced chef, Peter, and hosted by his very attentionated wife Gloria was a real privilege. The room, with a private patio and an outside shower was decorated with taste and absolutely spotless. The dining room upstairs, next to the open plan kitchen where Peter makes miracles opens on a roof terrace where the sunset offers beautiful colours to complement the view on the bay.
The first night Peter prepared the first 3 crayfishes of the season that he caught himself in the bay that same day. I remember as well this delicious duck breast. I never had such a good duck breast in my life although I am from the south west of France and have a fairly good experience of that dish. I could talk similarly of the carpaccio of tuna, the austriche, the peaches flambées,... After 2 weeks of very good food in SA I can say that peter's was the best one, and by far.
The location is quite and perfect to visit the Pinguins in Betty's Bay and the whales in Hermanus or nearby. Gloria gave us very precise information and we enjoyed a full day with the whales, a dream! Thank you both. We will come back, for sure.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms and Peter cooks only for the guests. Our room was the one on the left of the gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A visit at Wild Olive is sure to be a highlight of your trip. Peter showed me to my room, which was an absolute delight. It has a very calm and tranquil appeal, with lots of extra comfies to make your stay an absolute pleasure. my biggest treat was the outside shower, where you can hear the waves while you shower!! Undoubtedly, the treat of all was dinner. Peter, who is a trained chef, prepared a meal to die for. Gloria is so warm and friendly, and you feel at home and at ease immediately. They are both so very good at what they do. I would recommend Wild Olive to anyone - go and treat yourself!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being in the hospitability business ourselves we know excellent practice when we see it. Wild Olive is operated by two skilled professionals offering great food, hospitality and comfort on a very personal level. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed Peter’s cooking on 2 of those. Being a restaurant owner in the past, he cooks to a very professional standard, in fact better than many of the highly rated restaurants we have visited on this trip.

It was a little chilly during our visit so we were unable to use the outside showers and terrace which were en suite to our room. Each of the rooms we were shown had a private terrace and outside shower which in the warmer weather must be wonderful to use.

The view from the breakfast tables is second to none. You will pay treble or more elsewhere for something that will not meet the same criteria. Enjoy……

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are a family travelling with two children and only stayed for one night before flying home to Germany. We wish we could have stayed longer as the house is beautifully located - 5 minutes to walk to the beach, with ocean view from our rooms and a perfect view from the upper balcony and dining area. Gloria and Peter are very friendly, helpful and polite hosts. Peter is a fantastic chef and fixed the best dinner of our holiday for us. For breakfast he spoiled the children with pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, homemade bread, ect. It could not have been better. The rooms where very clean and nicely decorated, they even had an outdoor shower - the kids loved it, for the adults it was too chilly outside. The Wild Olive is the perfect place to relax and unwind. It's not a party town nor a party place and that's what we liked about it. If we ever go back, we sure hope that we'll have the opportunity to stay with Gloria and Peter again! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Roche Bernard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We've been returning to the Wild Olive for a number of years now and we are never anything but delighted to be there. Gloria and Peter always welcome us like old friends, which I guess is what we are now. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and familiar, although each time we come back there are improvements and small surprises which make every visit an occasion to look forward to. Peter's food just gets better and better even though on our first ever visit I thought he was the best chef in the world! We look forward to returning to the Wild Olive for many years to come.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Olive Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Olive Guest Lodge

Address: Cnr. Bell and Hangklip Roads, Pringle Bay 7196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Pringle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pringle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Olive Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.