We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemount Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemount Guest House
Save
You added Rosemount Guest House to your Saves list
The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Discount
Ranked #1 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
York, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Rosemount while in Kippford for a family celebration at the end of September and found it extremely comfortable and convenient. The suite was spacious with a particularly good bed in the back room. The shower was a little on the small side, but that would be my only negative comment. There were lots of little touches - like glasses and a corkscrew in case you wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine in the porch - that made Rosemount feel a very welcoming place to stay. Vanessa and Don were kind hosts who dealt patiently with our rather complicated arrangements of people coming and going and provided a really excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I didn't see the chalet at the back, but would recommend staying in the house if possible. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here after reading other Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had the suite and our daughter and fiancee had the annex; both rooms were warm, clean, comfortable and well equipped. A fridge is provided for your own drinks (and fresh milk from the hosts), bath robes -in the suite - and lovely views.
The annex shower is not very powerful and noisy in the rain (apparently!), but this can only be expected.
The breakfast was delicious and Don gave some useful tips on places to visit in the area. We'll definitely return.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We discovered this hidden gem during a weeks touring of Scotland and Northern England.What a find! An absolutely beautiful little village on the edge of the marina and Solway Firth. Rosemount is situated overlooking the marina, perfect for birdwatching and watching the sun go down with a glass of wine as we did - sitting on the little terrace complete with hanging baskets. Our room had the same view, but we used it only for sleeping as lots to see, pleasant walks and The Anchor pub only doors away.
The guesthouse was lovely, clean and in an ideal position. The conservatory was a good addition with wineglasses and coffee supplied for guests use. Our host Don was friendly and and a fountain of knowledge about the surrounding area and the birds feeding on the mud flats.
An enjoyable evening meal was had at The Anchor, both of us choosing sea food which was delicious. Despite being busy there earlier on in the evening, no noise disrupted our stay.
Breakfast was cooked well, full scottish and lots of fresh berries, we managed to secure the window table which was an added bonus as we managed to observe a squirrel scuttling past feeding on the peanuts! Trips out whilst there included Rockcliffe and Threave Gardens, both recommended. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My stay at the Rosemount was a wonderful experience. Our room and accomodations were in excellent condition- very clean. The owners provided a delicious Scottish breakfast for free every morning along with other healthy options. Vanessa and Don were the nicest hosts where they made you feel so comfortable, you felt right at home.
Add to the mix the unbelievable beauty of the surrounding nature all around, Kippford was a little slice of heaven. Thanks- John & Ivy

Room Tip: We found the back room very comfortable and we could still see the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in the suite, which gave us a very pleasant sitting room with a wonderful view over the river (and TV and broadband connection if you could tear yourself away from that); and a comfortable bedroom with an enormous bed and view into the back yard with the opportunity to spot red squirrels at their feeding station (though sadly they were hiding from us!). The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries - including a few little extras like a box of cotton buds - and the hospitality tray was kept well stocked. There's a lovely conservatory downstairs which has its own tea, coffee and biscuits for guests to enjoy whilst looking out over the estuary. Breakfast was excellent, and there's a great pub two doors away, which provided a wide selection of light bites and main meals - if it's still there when you visit, don't miss the seafood chowder which was by far and away the best I'd ever eaten. Parking is on the road outside, and we had no difficulties whilst we were there - though I imagine in high season it might be a bit more tricky. Kippford is a very pleasant little town, with lots of pretty walks of varying degrees of difficulty - you'll appreciate the tea and biscuits even more when you return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Rosemount Guest House, Kippford in July and i must say the guest house and surrounding area are a fantastic place to stay. The room was well furnished and very clean. The view from our room was breathtaking and the breakfast is as good as any i have tasted, and i have had a few. Friendly and helpful hosts from beginning to end. Highly recommended. Kippford is a real gem and there are some pleasant walks on the doorstep. Lots of things to do nearby. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Book the suite, its worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location - right by the water. Excellent breakfast - top quality ingredients cooked to perfection by Don. We were made to feel at home by Don and Vanessa. It was great to sit out in the evening watching the boats and the activity on the water.We moved into the conservatory if it got a bit chilly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Guest House

Address: The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemount Guest House is situated on the waterfront of the quaint picturesque sailing village of Kippford, nestled away on the undiscovered and scenic Colvend Coast in south west Scotland. We offer excellent bed & breakfast accommodation over four bedrooms providing a luxury suite, double, twin or family rooms. With unspoiled views across the Urr Estuary, and two pubs in the village serving food and refreshments daily, it makes Rosemount a special place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosemount Guest House Kippford, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemount Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.