We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem! A real rarity!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemount Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemount Guest House
Save
You added Rosemount Guest House to your Saves list
The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Discount
Ranked #1 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem! A real rarity!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I booked this place for a number of reasons, I had some family business in the area, it was my wife's birthday and it had excellent reviews. Whilst I must confess to being somwhat sceptical of some trip advisor reviews whether they be bad or excellent preferring to believe the middle ground, this guest house is exceptional! From the moment of arrival with a pleasant welcome, a tour of the facilities and concise explanation of how everything worked. We stayed in the suite, seperate sitting room with reclining chairs, plentiful tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite receiver and excellent picture and stunning views across the estuary.
The bedroom was lovely with king-size bed and immaculately prepared with in addition, lovely fluffy towelling robes, watch out Hilton Hotels and we have stayed in a few of those on our travels.
I would struggle to find anything bad to say about this guest house. Sometimes proprietors advertise things on their web site that they cannot deliver, such as pictures of red squirrels, but here at Rosemount guess what!? On the afternoon we arrived and the next morning, there they were on cue feeding in the garden.
Breakfast was superb, plenty of it, all local produce and beautifully cooked.
As a local boy now living in Staffs I am often asked to recommend places to stay in Scotland. Having been away over thirty years I sometimes struggle, not anymore I would have no hesitation in recommending this little diamond, It really is superb.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite worth the extra for the treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Rosemount Guest House for two nights in October. The welcome was warm and the accommodation spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had the double suite which consisted of a sitting room with adjoining bedroom. The room overlooked the estuary, as did our daughters' equally well equipped twin room. The attention to the smallest detail made it obvious that the owners care about their guests. Breakfast was varied and tasty and set us all up well for the day. The village of Kippford is quiet but offers a good base for walks and local sightseeing. The two village pubs cater well for evening meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rosemount and look forward to going back. We throughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Recently returned from a three night stay at Rosemount in Kippford and my wife and I simply wanted to echo the opinions of so many others who have stayed here.

We stayed in the Suite and it was just superb.

Having a separate Lounge, with the comforts of reclining chairs and THAT view is definitely worth paying the extra for.

Vanessa & Don are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are simply brilliant.

Note that for food, there are just the two pubs in Kippford, but you can also get a very nice homemade sandwich at The Ark, a souvenir shop on the front, which we did for a change one evening.

Very oddly, there is no Tea Room in Kippford, which it is crying out for, but there is a very nice one in Rockclffe, the next hamlet along the coast which is a very easy walk away.

Thanks for making our stay so pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have just returned from our second trip to the Rosemount B&B. It is a wonderful place, run by a friendly, helpful couple. The rooms are beautiful. We have stayed in a double room and the Suite - both of which had the most amazing view over the estuary. Everything you need is available to you, and the conservatory is a beautiful space in which to sit and watch the world go by!
Breakfast is memorable - Black puddings to die for, and everything locally sourced.
Near to many of the 7 Stanes mountain biking routes, so a good place to stay after a hard day on the bike! There is a pub very close, so good food in the evening too!
What more could you want!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton lancashire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you are looking to stay in this area, look no further.
My Husband and I have just had a great 2 night stay at this b&b. We have had some horrible experiences at other hotels and b&b's in the past so were very wary. We already knew the area from a previous visit so we looked on trip advisor for a write up on Rosemount Guest House.
We stayed in the newly refurbished double en suite which was excellent, spacious and very clean with views of the estuary and mountains.
The breakfast was gorgeous , all local produce , could not fault it. The hosts Don and Vanessa are very welcoming and friendly.
We were gutted to leave and were talking about how soon we could go back to stay on our car journey home.

Room Tip: the usual , just book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Had a great stay in a lovely location .The room was clean and comfortable with great views .Breakfast was the best i had on my trip , with extras like fresh fruit salad . Nothing was too much trouble from the friendly owners . I'll be back next year

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This guesthouse offers tremendous value. Particularly the kingsize suite which is amazing. Comfortable and with everything one needs [ even a mini fridge] plus a beautiful view. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Guest House

Address: The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemount Guest House is situated on the waterfront of the quaint picturesque sailing village of Kippford, nestled away on the undiscovered and scenic Colvend Coast in south west Scotland. We offer excellent bed & breakfast accommodation over four bedrooms providing a luxury suite, double, twin or family rooms. With unspoiled views across the Urr Estuary, and two pubs in the village serving food and refreshments daily, it makes Rosemount a special place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosemount Guest House Kippford, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemount Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.