We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars xxxx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kippford Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kippford Holiday Park
Save
You added Kippford Holiday Park to your Saves list
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4 stars xxxx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here the first weekend of February. We had a VIP lodge with a hot tub. It was absolutely gorgeous. Accommodation was amazing, u couldn't want for anything. It was very well equipped. Lodges are very well spaced out so it's very private. I would definitely stay again. If your visiting out of season then bring food and drink with u as the shop is closed on the park and the nearest shop is a bit of a drive away. We found a fab pub/restaurant called the steamboat inn. Its a bit of a drive but worth it. You are in the middle of nowhere but that was what we wanted. Beautiful.... Will def visit again. Oh and the hot tub was a treat!!!

Room Tip: Book a lodge with a hot tub. Well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    26
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

my husband and i stayed here over christmas 2012, i hired a lodge, L10, the views were lovely, but being the dark winter months you couldnt get chance to spend time to view, was dark too early.
the lodge was spacious and spotless clean, modern amenities, place to park the car next to lodge, the park had lots of caravans, and other lodges, but spaced out, in between trees, to make it less intrusive.
we stayed here first along time ago, in the spring, 2003, and was wonderful, but did get busy,
the staff are friendly, and very helpful, has i left a couple of items in the lodge, and when i got home rang, and they returned them without hesitation, and i paid them in stamps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had an excellent stay in one of the VIP Norwegian lodges(number 5) from the Friday afternoon through to the Monday.Arrived in the heavy snow so the best thing we thought to do was get the hot tub ready and jump straight in,as you do with a glass of sparkling wine.Good start to a holiday if you ask me.Would recommend going on one of the many woodland walks,we walked to Rockcliffe and had a cracking days weather for it.
The lodge itself had everything you could want,hot-tub,tumble dryer,washing machine etc.Very spacious with a log fire and central heating so the cold weather wasnt a hassle.If your a nature lover look out for the various birds,rabbits and we had our very own Red Squirrel visiting on us a couple of mornings.

Setting,accommodation,staff,amenities all top notch would reccomend this to anyone even if i would like to keep it a secret all to myself.

Room Tip: Take a torch if going out at night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great place to stay and go out and explore South West Scotland. We have been going here for a number of years. You just can not beat it. If you get the weather you could litrally be anywhere in the world!!!! An absolute gem of a place. We tend to stop in the Boston lodges VIP3 as they allow pets. Spaces, warm in winter, cool in summer. Comfy beds. Waher, dishwasher. Only thing i missed was a hoover (sad i know) but when you have pets it gets messy quickly. Hot tub is lovley touch. Can not beat a bottle of fizz in the tub to relax thoses aching muscles from a long walk. Would recommend a trip up Screel, fantastic views!!! The staff are so friendly and will help in anyway. Both oubs in the village allow dogs and watching the sun go down over the marina is heaven. Would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: I Like to take my own pillows as the pillows are never up to scratch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A great 5 day break at Kippford. We stayed in a VIP lodge, L21, which was spacious, warm and spotless. The lodge had everything we needed (tea towels, d/w tablets, cloths etc) and a welcome pack of tea, coffee, pint of milk & biscuits (nice touch). The park setting is lovely, on many levels with a mixture of accommodation. Our highlights were the mornings, when we fed the multitude of birds and red squirrels and then in the evenings, drinking fizz under the stars in the hot tub. We ate in one of the local pubs, The Anchor and had a couple of great days out. We would recommend staying at Kippford and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

our family came from this small fishing village, though we never did visit when we where younger we have adopted this place as our 2nd home because we love it so much, we stayed at the lodges which was perfect for 6 girls chilling, jacuzzi, walking drinking & eating in a fabulous location....
So much that we will be booking for next year!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a jacuzzi outside our cabin,which we loved & used for our whole stay, absolutely recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from our annual stay at Kippford.....totally peaceful relaxing comfortable n cosy, went last year with 2 sisters and mum who is 76.
This is our shopping girls weekend and could not fault this at all, this time we had to call the reception to ask about the hot water and the on call maintenance guy was at our door in 1 minute...the previous people had switched off the hot water switch...simple.
This site is spotless and even the red squirrels are friendly as we were sharing our monkey nuts with them, will probably be booking same time next year...we love our shopping day in Castle Douglas which is also a friendly place as well.
Friendly helpful staff and clean chalet warm chalet what more could you want

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kippford Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippford Holiday Park

Address: Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kippford Holiday Park, one of the most beautiful holiday parks in Dumfries and Galloway, South West Scotland, the perfect holiday location for those who wish to avoid the "indoor attractions" of noisier resort locations.With all of Dumfries & Galloway - often described as ‘Scotland in Miniature'- for your playground and the Colvend Coast, known as ‘Scotland's Riviera' for its beautiful rocky headlands and sandy beaches as your neighbourhood; Kippford is regarded as being the loveliest seaside village in South West Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kippford Holiday Park Hotel Kippford
Kippford Holiday Park Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kippford Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.