We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place when the kids went home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kippford Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kippford Holiday Park
Save
You added Kippford Holiday Park to your Saves list
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great place when the kids went home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely Holiday park, we rented a one bedroom bungalow, Saturday night was a bit noisy, but only until 11pm, as that is the curfew time, for want of a better word.
From Monday onwards we were able to enjoy the wildlife in peace.
NOT our normal thing, but I could see myself returning many-many times.

Room Tip: Ask not to be by kids play area ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    27
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We (7 of us) have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Kippford Lodge 3 VIP. The hot tub was a hit with us all and the accommodation was clean and had everything you needed and more (except an iron). Great wee peacefull break away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Kippford Holiday Park. We stayed in a 4 berth caravan which was spotlessly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The highlight of our holiday was the red squirrels which came to eat the peanuts we left out for them. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Oyster Lodge on this great site. Views from the french doors which opened onto the balcony were spectacular. We were visited every morning by a red squirrrel and many of varities of small birds ate from the feeders. The eight burner hob, double oven and grill were excellent so we hardly had to eat out. Beds were comfy and warm. Couldn't believe the storage space everywhere including the walk in wardrobes in both the double and twin rooms. It was so nice we felt we could live here all the year round. Plent of lovely little villages to visit in the area and a handy coop and Tescos only 6 miles away in Castle Douglas.

Room Tip: Oyster Lodge only new to this site in 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the 6 berth caravan and there were 4 adults and 2 large dogs and there was more than enough room. Caravan was fantastic with the fenced off patio area outside was great to keep the dogs enclosed. The acravans were also very well spaced out and were not lined up next to each other which was also a great bonus. There is loads to do in and around the area, Kippford itself is a lovely wee village and i would highly recommend the Anchor Hotel for meals. Activity wise- i would highly recommend Forrest Estate Experiences http://www.ForrestEstateExperiences.com- (contact details below) for clay pigeon shooting- its only around a half an hr drive but is well worth it and the instructors are fantastic. Would highly recommend this holiday park to anyone considering going and we hope to return next year.

Andrew Case
C/O Tourism Doctor Ltd
andrew@tourismdoctor.com
T: 01644 430015
M: 07747 691447

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just stayed for a week in the new Oyster Bay lodge (2?), and it was fantastic! Really clean, modern, plenty of room for everything and all you need in whats basically a wee home from home. Only negative was the double room was always much colder than the rest of the lodge, but the good outweighed the bad. Lovely wee place and will probably visit again sometime!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We camped 3 nights at Kippford. The pitch was clean, level and clear etc (as you would expect as a paying customer) but poorly located.

Kippford is primarily a site for high-end lodges and caravans, picturesquely located on the slopes with great views. The few camping pitches they offer are right at the base of the site, next to the main road and vehicle entrance.

If the camping pitches were cheap then I would say fair enough, good budget option, but this is the most expensive camping pitches we've ever used in Scotland (over several years of family camping).

On the plus side, there is a charming on-site shop and the toilets/showers were very clean. No litter or mess visible anywhere on the site (apart from some evidence beside our pitch that dog owners had not been totally responsible for their pets, if you get my meaning). There's some (small) play facilities for children too. In the evening the site was very tranquil; no music or disturbances of any kind, so we got a great night's sleep each time.

Would we return again? If the price was not so expensive then yes probably. As it is, we've taken recommendations (from some other disappointed folks with similar opinions whom we met on site) to try other sites nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kippford Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippford Holiday Park

Address: Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kippford Holiday Park, one of the most beautiful holiday parks in Dumfries and Galloway, South West Scotland, the perfect holiday location for those who wish to avoid the "indoor attractions" of noisier resort locations.With all of Dumfries & Galloway - often described as ‘Scotland in Miniature'- for your playground and the Colvend Coast, known as ‘Scotland's Riviera' for its beautiful rocky headlands and sandy beaches as your neighbourhood; Kippford is regarded as being the loveliest seaside village in South West Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kippford Holiday Park Hotel Kippford
Kippford Holiday Park Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kippford Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.