We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, lovely breakfast and good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchor Hotel at Kippford to your Saves list
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, lovely breakfast and good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room a week in advance online via LateRooms.com for £70 per night bed and breakfast for myself and 2 kids. Room was very comfortable and well equipped - Tv, kettle, hair dryer and iron etc - shower pressure was a bit light but overall more than happy with it .

Breakfast was superb with a wide choice and a friendly waitress happy to let the kids pick and choose what they did and didn't want.

Also ate there one night with our extended family (13 of us booked in at last minute) - again a lovely meal at reasonable cost. Decent selection of beers and wines available.

A lovely stay in a nice hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went down a run along the Solway Coast to have a bar meal at the Anchor Hotel. Heard a lot about it so a visit was overdue. Hotel car park was full and the outside eating area was the same. Looks promising we thought? Sadly the meal was pretty average. Prices were above average but we still enjoyed our day as the run down, weather and scenery was lovely. The Solway Coast takes a bit of beating on a nice day.
Will visit the Anchor again sometime but only for a refreshment. Kippford itself is well worth a visit just to see the harbour area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in Room 6 from which we could see boats gently bobbing in the estuary,it's a nice quiet place so got a good night's sleep..The full Scottish breakfast is enormous so probably best to choose your favourite elements and order only those -very tasty.The haggis was delightful on the first morning but a little too well done on the second.There was good attention to detail e.g. bottled water left in the room as well as the hospitality tray but not enough milk pots -- we find this everywhere.Our evening meals were nice enough, we drank in the bar and found the staff both there and in the restaurant polite and pleasant.The location is excellent- there is a lovely walk to Rockcliffe and many other places to explore nearby.Sharon is friendly and enthiusiastic and we certainly would return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed whilst visiting family near-by. Weather was poor so very quiet. Single room was adequate & spacious for a single. A few minor issues in the bathroom that required attention. Heating was a small portable electric heater, The room may be cool if cold outside.

Breakfast was enormous, served by pleasant staff. Cannot comment on food during the day as I was away working with family.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After a nice walk along the footpath at Kippford we stopped at the Anchor Hotel for food. We ordered pizza off the kids menu for the kids in the group and they were actually served up plain panninis with some melted cheese on top! We commented to the waitress that the food served should reflect what is stated on the menu. We felt as if we'd be conned. Cans of soft drinks were served warm as the fridge was empty. The adults had a variety of dishes which were unremarkable.

This hotels approach to serving food represents what you often find in rural Scotland where you get poor food quality and customer service, treating tourists/visitors as a 'one-off sale' with no real need by some 'can't be bothered' hotels/restaurants.

The bar in the hotel was busy, and looked to be a good atmosphere and but can't comment on the hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's Town of Dalry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Called in after walking dogs on an unexpectedly warm day (30th April) - could have been the reason for shortage of staff as quite busy - decided to have lunch, and as last reviewer found, not cheap but sadly disappointing, fish decidedly undercooked and batter not crisp, not good for a seaside restaurant! I would normally have complained directly to the staff but the one young lady was run off her feet and after waiting for a while didn't see anyone so left....this is not the first time food has been a problem either but thought we would give it another chance. Probably not again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Warm friendly pub serving real ale and pub grub. Log fire and very friendly bar staff. Enjoyed the chat and ale at the bar, a proper old fashioned pub. Sounds great until we ordered Sunday lunch and then pure disappointment. Only Gammon roast on the menu but we were offered half chicken with veg, potatoes or chips. Meal arrived with mixed peppers, carrots and other frozen veg barely warm in a small pile on the side of the plate along with frozen chips at the same temperature. The chicken was OK but not what we were expecting. The staff were apologetic and the food was removed and replacement meals offered. After a long wait a hotter chicken meal and replacement steak pie and chips arrived, but unfortunately the quality was very poor. Not the cheapest pub grub nor the best. A delightful day unfortunately spoilt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Hotel at Kippford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Address: Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Anchor Hotel at Kippford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel At Kippford Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Hotel at Kippford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.