We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at the Anchor Hotel, Kippford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Hotel at Kippford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Save
You added Anchor Hotel at Kippford to your Saves list
Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Meal at the Anchor Hotel, Kippford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Four of us, after a superb walk around this beautifully area, had a meal around 4pm in this plain but welcoming pub/hotel.
We were concerned that following on from the departure of a 'party' around twenty people the staff and chef would be passed their best but we were not disappointed.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the pub food was delicious. Too much on our plate was our only negative comment!
Just what we had been looking for after our walk.
We'll be back to this venue again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I can,t recommend this place enough, basic lodgings, fantastic food, great price, service & staff...
Ideal for over-night & long week-ends ,,, for couples ,family's & friends, who like outdoor walks, scenery,peace & quiet .

Room Tip: Ideal for an over night or couple of days, great walks & food!!!! Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm-on=Tees
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Peaceful location with views of the bay. Excellent walk to Rockcliffe and on to Sandyhills if feeling energetic. Excellent food, with an obvious good reputation, with no seats available in the bar and lounge after 6pm on the Friday and Saturday. Good beers. Very helpful polite staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from a blustery golf tour in the Solway Firth area of Scotland and enjoyed 2 nights of very good hospitality in Kippford's Anchor Inn. We were recommended by a friend who has a holiday home a few miles away and who regularly dines here.
We were a party of 7 golfers.
The bedrooms are far better than we expected and offered exceptional value for money for a pub with accommodation. All the rooms were clean with decor in keeping and had decent views over the river and were well provisioned with tea coffee biscuits, mints, towels, bathroom products etc, showers that were hot and offered a decent flow of water, heating that worked etc etc
One of our party is the owner of a 4 star hotel bar and restaurant and like the rest of us was very impressed with the quality choice and volume of the food served as well as a first class choice of reasonably priced quality wines.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and served with a smile by the very helpful and hard working owner Sharon.
The bar had atmosphere and is clearly popular with the locals. We did notice that all those in the know did not bother with starters such were sizes of the portions!!!
If you are thinking of staying in the area this is the one to beat!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went for a meal at Anchor Hotel whilst staying at Barend Holiday Village. We have enjoyed meals here before on past visits to Barend. I personally enjoyed my meal but my mum had scampi which had obviously been very overcooked. The back room we sat in is not very cosy and is a bit like a school dining room - lots of children and noise. We are unlikely to visit here again for a meal with my mum as she was more disappointed than me. I noticed the family on the next table to us were far from impressed also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived for a break in Kippford and decided to go to The Anchor Hotel for dinner as there is only 2 places to eat in Kippford. I can honestly say this is the worst ever customer service we have ever had the misfortune to encounter.
The staff were totally rude, unhelpful and looked like working there was the absolute last thing they wanted to be doing in the whole world.
Truly appalling customer service by all staff, especially the chap working there his manners were utterly disgraceful and disrespectful.
Food was average, nothing special at all. Prices totally inflated in relation to quality.
Will never be back or recommend to anyone. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

you know living in Ayr I had planned a trip to Kippford for year(always flying over the top to London) i really enjoyed the buzz of the place... splendid varied menu and reasonably priced , which was a benefit also..

Friendly staff , you should try for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Hotel at Kippford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Address: Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel At Kippford Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Hotel at Kippford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.