We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mariner Hotel

The Mariner Hotel
Kippford, Kippford, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Burscough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

lovely views but bit run down and menu leaves a lot to be desired. Old fashion food choices and expensive for what it is

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    11
    16
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed in kippford for a few days and ate here 1 night. The food was good pub grub, basically what you would expect, large portions, a lot of menu choice although we didn' have room for dessert. We sat outside as the views are nice although a bit windy when we were there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying in Kippford at a brilliant guest house - but no evening meal. We arrived at this hotel for an evening meal. The tables, and the bar areas, were dirty, and the place totally out of character for a quiet retreat in he village, with loud music and games machines. The food was served quickly but so awful that neither of us managed to eat much of it. Indeed, the plates went back looking pretty much as full as when they arrived.... Horrible - will not be returning, ever!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrive around 8pm for a meal unbooked with myself, hubby and 3yound children. The Staff were very welcoming, atmosphere was brilliant everyone was friendly. A good choice of meals from starter to dessert! Portions was huge! So if your planning on going make
Sure you have an empty stomach :) food was cooked to perfection and very reasonably priced, personally I'd say they were under priced due to the amount they served :) definitely recommend the hotel for anyone who has a large appetite :) and we will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Supper with views over the estuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We took our grandchildren here twice when on a holiday to Barend. Plenty of choice, especially for a vegetarian. The food was very good and reasonably priced, good portions,quick service. Parking. I would go there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mariner Hotel also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mariner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.