We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, English historical charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, English historical charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

In August 2008 my husband and I drove from Hungary to Edinburgh, Scotland in order to bring our dog into the UK due to the strict laws on the transport of animals into the UK. We were in the area of Newcastle-upon-Lyme when we realised it was getting late so we decided to stop for the night. We asked at two other hotels which were all booked up before arriving at The Crewe Arms Hotel.
They willingly took us and our dog in. The hotel has English historical charm. It was a reasonable price of £65. The room was clean and well appointed. The service was polite and helpful. We ate at the bar instead of the restaurant as the bar had an outdoor area where we could take the dog with us. The food at the bar was very good. It was much better than what one would expect from a bar. The locals at the bar were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a nice chat with many of them. We took our dog for a walk around the neighbourhood which was beautiful English countryside with a small forest, sheep and a small river.
All in all we were very happy at The Crewe Arms Hotel, especially since they were so dog friendly which is not easy to find. We would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    14
    11
    23
See reviews for
13
38
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

i went to stay at this hotel whist visiting family to try and make it a holiday aswell i surpose at first i was fine with the out of date funiture it made it more homley i surpose but after one night it was all tured around after dangers and faults galore a trouser press fell off the wall and nearly hit my foot the exstetion cable was hanging aroud just waiting for an accident which of coarse the kettle was attached to. The worst thing about this hotel was that when i dropped my wallet near the wardrobe i saw something under it and being curious i fished it out to my surprise it was a 40+ porn magazine my partner was shocked so after this being the final straw i went to the front desk to speak to the manger about this hoping in some way i could be compensated for this incredbly bad hotel exsperience but all i fund was a rude, unhelpful show of poor cutomer service (which may i add know about as i am a manger of a store myself) she then tryed to say that the magazine was mine and only offered me 1 nights refund. These other reviews are written by the hotel staff/manger becuase i wouldnt even let them pay me to stay there.
WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU ARE A COCKROACH
(even though they may be disappointed)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

If you want to stay in the area it is a good cheap choice. I think it is rated at two stars, the room was clean and handy for the restaurant & bar. For a Thursday night the restaurant was very busy serving locals who clearly went there often. The staff were friendly, the food good with a wide choice and a good bar too. Holiday Inn it is not, but that was not what I wanted. Loads of free parking, always a welcome point.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Me & a friend stayed here at the beginning of Sept 08, before heading on to Alton Towers. It's clean, tidy and convenient, certainly beat the Travel Lodge we were originally planning to stay at.

The Bar was nice, good food & beer - what more do you want?!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant Madeley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crewe Arms Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.