We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our November stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Hall Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Hall Country House to your Saves list
The Old Hall Country House
Poolside, Madeley CW3 9DX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off book for 3 nights
Ranked #1 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wickham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our November stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Simply the best !!
Visiting friends in the area and have in the past been rather dissapointed with the standards! then looking at 'TRIP ADVISOR' we found this wonderful welcoming B&.B.
We stayed in the Charles 2nd room ,the priests hole made it feel very historic as was the beautiful comfortable room. Bed linen 5* which was wonderful for a good nights sleep.Breakfast cooked fresh when
Simon and Gary are the perfect hosts ;we will return in the spring

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review, we are both really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovley to meet you both and catch up on Wickham! We're looking forward to seeing you again in the Spring. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
138
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a B&B owner myself, it's rare I find places up to my standards, however, Old Hall was really great in every way. Despite the many old beams & big oak framed four poster & all the nooks & crannies it was spotlessly clean everywhere. It has real old world charm with antiques & quality furniture.
We were welcomed warmly by Simon & Gary who were very helpful & we felt at home instantly. I loved the fresh milk on the well stocked tea tray. There were lots of toiletries in the large bathroom which had a separate bath and shower along with useful twin sinks.
We wandered round the lovely gardens & enjoyed seeing the chickens which helped provide eggs for the tasty breakfasts.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves with the Charles II room - the best room but still reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
From a B&B owner we are particularly chuffed by this review. we're both really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much and intend to come back in the future.
It will be a pleasure to see you again and thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our last day of our honeymoon & it was perfect. The staff were so friendly & welcoming. We stayed in the charles II room one word "Amazing" it was a very posh home from home. Breakfast the next day was gorgeous & all cooked fresh. We will be definitley be staying again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review, we are really pleased it made the perfect end to your honeymoon having stayed with us. We hope you can pop back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just enjoyed a fabulous three night stay here at The Old Country Hall,I guess prior trip advisers have covered nearly all of the bases when it comes to writing a glowing review of this property,we would just like to add that Simon and Gary take a lot of pride in their home and the same amount of pride in making their guests stay an occasion they will truly remember, as we both most certainly will.This review will be the start of the second century of reviews and if their present standards of excellence remain intact as they stand today then all future reviews should most definately be EXCELLENT as ninetyeight of the past ones were!! Well done to you both, and thank you for making us feel so very welcome, we shall most definately return!!!

Room Tip: They are all special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Our 101st review and such a glowing one! Many thanks to you both for the brilliant review, we are both really pleased you enjoyed your 3 nights with us so much and appreciated the ambiance and facilities on offer here at The Old Hall. It would be lovely to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed one night for our 3rd wedding anniversary. The owner Simon, upgraded us to the King Charles II Room which was out standing! Huge bed, which was soooooo comfortable! Ensuite bathroom was large with bath and shower. Bathrobes were available to use. Lovely gardens to wander around. Breakfast was served nice and hot, which was lovely. The reception we got when we arrived was excellent. Simon showed us to our room and came back 10 minutes later with a bottle of chilled champagne and two glasses and wished us a happy anniversary! A lovely touch. It is the little gestures like this that make your stay even more enjoyable and memorable. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your third anniversary celebrations. It was a pleasure to have met you both and many thanks for taking the time to write this review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My beautiful wife and myself had the absolute pleasure of experiencing the Old Hall on two different levels. On our first night (before our wedding) we experienced the venue as a Bed & Breakfast, with fantastic hosts Gary & Simon. Both were attentive to our needs and the rooms we took for ourselves and our parents were amazing. We stayed in the King Charles II room and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We were spoilt to a fantastic breakfast the following morning, prior to seeing the venue transformed for our wedding. The wedding was simply perfect, Gary attentive and calm and managing the proceedings, while Simon charged (very calmly) around the place making sure we had everything we needed, nothing was too much to ask for. We had looked for so long to find a place that met all our needs, the Old Hall was and is it. From the beautiful rooms, to the fantastic food through to the look and feel of the building and the beautiful grounds - we couldn't have asked for anything more. If you're looking for a quality, relaxing location, with attentive hosts and great food then this is your place. Thank you both so much. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have individual character and are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Martyn and Mell, what can we say, it was an absolute pleasure to have hosted your wedding and we are really chuffed that it surpassed your expectations. You became part of the family for the three days you were with us and your own family and friends made for a really great day for the day of your wedding. Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for taking the time to do so. We really hope we will see you again, maybe for your anniversary next year! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A beautiful old house and not too far from the M6, which we found useful on our trip south. We stayed in the Queen Margaret Room - a good-sized room with large 4-poster bed and very comfy mattress and an ensuite shower room (in very good condition but is due to be redone this winter). Had a good night's sleep undisturbed by any traffic noise. Everything you could need in room including a decanter containing very nice (but unknown) tipple as extra welcome touch. Good cooked breakfast in the morning and a chance to walk in the gardens and visit the hens. Simon was really friendly and helpful - and we'd definitely like to go back and try out the Charles II room. On Simon's recommendation we ate at the Swan with Two Necks and found it very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWhite40, Owner at The Old Hall Country House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much and do appreciate you taking the time in writing this review. We hope to see you again and maybe you can try one of our other rooms out this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Old Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Country House

Address: Poolside, Madeley CW3 9DX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hall Country House is in Madeley Staffordshire, close to Keele University, Stoke on Trent, Newcastle under Lyme and Nantwich. The property has been extensively refurbished and offers luxury accommodation in a tranquil environment. The house dates back to the 16th century and is of half timber construction, the rooms are full of beams, sloping floors and plenty of ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Country House Hotel Madeley
The Old Hall Country House Madeley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Hall Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.