We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Peace Haven Cottage
Garden at Peace Haven
Front door path, to garden
Leigh-on Sea
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spikebda
St. George, Bermuda
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Peace Haven is certainly a clean, tidy place. It is located in a quite area but walking distance to the shops and cafes. It has a quaint garden, but spent most of our time in the dinning room chatting up on the family gossip with a bottle of wine or two.
Relaxing and a comfortable place to stay.
Thank you Sarah

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Walking distance to everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
Yes the amount of people that just love our dining room. Even our own home doesn't have such a big table for big family gatherings!!! thanks for the review xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Singapore...
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great xmas hide away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

After experiencing a few warm asian christmas day's the family wanted a traditional english christmas, cold dark and wet. Being from essex ourselves we want to find a base to work from but need big enough facilities to entertain.
We searched for months to find the best place but couldn't find the right the place. By luck we found this little gem and at a realisable cost we look forward to our trip.
It has to be said that this is a lovely property set in the heart of sleepy rural fish town of Leigh-on-sea. Sarah the owner made every effort to make us feel welcome with christmas decorations and a smashing xmas hamper.
If your looking for a genuine restful cottage there no better place than Peace Haven

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Log fires
Liked least: No Wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
We totally loved having you guys to stay, welcome back any time, and thanks for the great review. If you were thinking of coming for the Summer, you know we are getting a bit booked up already, I have just listed 2015 so you could book for then if you have missed out xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jo W
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our stay at Peace Haven cottage was so lovely we didn't want to leave! The cottage had a lovely warm homely feel to it and a lovely atmosphere. The cottage was very clean and tidy and the beds were really comfortable. Sarah, the owner was very welcoming when we arrived and explained everything clearly to us. We didn't need to use the car once as everything was in easy walking distance in Leigh. The children loved playing on the beach building sandcastles in Old Leigh and paddling in the sea in their wellingtons! We caught the train to Southend on sea which is only a short journey where there are fairground rides and more beaches! We had a great time and will definitely return. Peace Haven is an ideal base if your visiting the area. We would definitely stay there again. Thank Sarah :-)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are charmed with our beaches even in the winter the kids love them! You and your lovely family are always welcome. I am so glad that your kids enjoyed Peace Haven, and it was warm and cosy. Hope to see you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Wendy R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Characterful and Spacious Cottage in an Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Peace Haven is full of character, clean, spacious and very peaceful. It is within walking distance of the many wonderful amenities on offer in Leigh and also the beach and Old Leigh.

We had a good week and wouldn't hesitate to book another stay here.

Thank you!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The central location and peacefulness of the cottage.
Liked least: The bathroom is small/narrow.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2013
Thanks and you would be most welcome again, just a shame that the weather turned during your stay :(
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mpreston2
San Diego, California
1 review
“a beautiful getaway in the heart of leigh-on-sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Peace Haven is located in the centre of leigh-on-sea within walking distance to everything you could ever need, including parks, the high street, restaurants, the train station and the estuary. It has off street parking too should you need it. We were there for 1 week and stayed as a family my wife and two young children 8 and 9 and absolutely loved it - the kids especially liked having their own unique rooms to stay in and explore the house and the beautiful garden.

Sarah (the owner) is very friendly and very accommodating, we had an unusual arrival schedule and she was able to meet us at the house without issue to show us around and explain everything. We didn't run into any problems related to the property during our stay but I'm confident that if anything did crop up Sarah would resolve the issue promptly.

Our only regret is that we wish Peace Haven had been available to us in previous years, as we make an annual visit to Leigh. Peace Haven makes everything else that we have stayed at in Liegh/Southend pail in comparison.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the location and the peaceful setting
Liked least: steep stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thank you we would love to welcome you and your beautiful family again next year. Should you wish to come at Christmas we can offer to decorate the house, and bring some wood for the woodburner, it is so cosy in winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Downthetu...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a lovely holiday we all had in this lovely charming seaside cottage.

Cottage was very clean throughout with very comfortable beds. Despite the very warm temperatures, the cottage was very cool with a nice sea breeze. Lovely well kept garden with sun terrace which was a delight.

As for Leigh-on-sea itself - the town has wonderful independent shops with a number of bars/resturants only a short walk away. A visit to Old Leigh (short walk) is a must which has traditional pubs, lovely cafe and is right on the seafront where you can walk (as we did on a couple of occasions) to Southend-on-sea.

Went by car but rarely needed to venture out due to the lovely surroundings and the short walk to the train station which serves all the local nearby towns and London.

Owner Sarah was very welcoming with nice touches. Will definitely be staying again.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
So glad you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. thank you for being such fantastic guests :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mm1187354
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

flying over from Germany I stayed at Peace Haven with my wife and daughter (11 years old) from 20th June - 3rd July. The cottage was great, very clean, unique in style, full of harmony (including the back garden) and in terms of location it proved even better. Train Station a short walk from the house given us the pleasure of day-trips to London, little shops round the corner catering for all needs and a nearby Park plus the Beach not far away either. Plus to top it all, Sarah and Andy were a fantastic couple, very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended to friends in Germany (also taking into consideration that it is so near to London with the advantage of quality resting time after a day in busy London.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to accomodate your lovely family, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you all again next year. Perhaps next year you can visit some of the beautiful nearby Essex villages, thank you very much for your gifts too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$156
/
Night
Week
Instant Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Sarah Y
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2013
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing