We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand the Church Clock at Ten to Three?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Mad Dogs & Englishmen
1349-1353 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 100 restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tea Rooms within Interior Design Showroom
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stand the Church Clock at Ten to Three?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came here with a friend recently for afternoon tea. It felt like we had travelled back in time with the scene set and music playing. The waitress was very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. We just couldn't manage the final large piece of cake so gratefully accepted the choice to have it boxed up to take home with us.

I recommend Mad Dogs for afternoon tea but suggest you book first because it is quite intimate and I can imagine it could get busy once people discover it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My daughter treated me to afternoon tea at Mad Dogs & Englishmen for my birthday. It was a delight. The young waitress was very helpful and obliging - especially appreciated as she had already prepared the sandwiches when we asked for ham without mustard and cheese without tomato. The adjustments were made with a smile and arrived exactly as requested. The surroundings are exceptionally pretty and take you back to the elegance of 1930s/40s/50s (not that I remember of course!!). The only problem is parking is restricted so you have an hour in peace and then you might have to getup and move your car. We found 1 hr was ample for the teas, but if you want a good browse round the extensive shop, then you'll need a bit longer. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A touch of elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

'The Parlour' is a pretty tea room at the back of Mad Dogs & Englishmen. Go there and have afternoon tea or just a pot of tea and a piece of homemade cake. Beautiful shop to browse around and then relax in an elegant setting. Lovely ladies provide friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Within this unusual shop there is a new tea room providing home made cakes, it is very pleasant inside and service comes with a smile, having wandered around looking at the eclectic mix of things in the shop a cup of Earl Grey and a healthy slice of lemon drizzle makes the world seem a much better place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Dogs & Englishmen also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Mad Dogs & Englishmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Dogs & Englishmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.