We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well be going back again and again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden
1517 London Road, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2SF, England
01702 480 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 100 restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
1 review
“Excellent, well be going back again and again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We love the Rose Garden we had a lovely meal our waitress (katie) was lovely and couldn't do enough for us she made our meal and evening very enjoyable. The food was lovely and the atmosphere made me feel relaxed we will be going back again and would recommended to all our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    59
    16
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant, terrific Sunday carvery and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a charming cosy place this was. We went for the Sunday carvery in a group to celebrate a relative's 80th birthday. It was the best carvery I have ever had. The meats were all succulent, the veg fresh and tasty and plentiful. You could have one two or three courses at a very reasonable price. The service was quick, and the girls attending us were lovely always with a smile on their faces. Can't wait to go back again and we travelled for about an hour to get there. Terrific.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best carvery meals I have had....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am very impressed by my first visit to The Rose Garden. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and professional.

The food was was far better than the normal carvery quality, the vegetables were perfectly cooked and the yorkshires perfect, the gravy was delicious.

I choose the broccoli and Stilton soup which was better than homemade. The added touch of cream heart decoration was a pretty touch. The croutons did taste like soggy fried bread, I prefer mine crisper.

I completed my meal with the fresh fruit salad which was very good with a really wide choice of fruits complimented with a very good ice cream. My companion had the apple pie which he said was the best he had ever had, even better than mine!

All in all a very pleasant Sunday lunch I look forward to visiting again soon to try their other menus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Amazing Food Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at the Rose Garden several times & the food has always been fantastic. Large portions & presented beautifully. Our favourite restuarant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good Local Lunch Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our first visit to The Rose was on the recommendation of friends. It is quite easy to overlook this restaurant which is located at the rear of The Harry Pub so we are pleased we took friends advice and lunched there. There was a 'light lunch' menu and a 2 or 3 course set lunch menu. The restaurant is quite small and cosy and Katie, our waitress, was very friendly and efficient. The food was freshly prepared, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, so much so that the friends we lunched with intend to book a birthday celebration function there in the near future. Well worth a visit, we will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.