We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice eve with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosy Lee Cafe

Rosy Lee Cafe
1219 London Road | Leigh on Sea, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea, England
01702 471830
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice eve with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Rosy lee Cafe on sat night with group off friends.have read many reviews. Found place full and was buzzing which made good start to eve. We did have stater drinks in bellinis, so were already primed. Good service by two girls, food was good and overal price reasonble bearing in mind take own drinks (had no chillers for wine) good night had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have been a couple of times now to the Moroccan night at the Rosy Lee, the atmosphere is lovely and the food is delicious. The staff are amazing, esepically Kate, they are helpful and welcoming, I really recommend this place, had a wonderful evening and I will deffinitly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Moroccan Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked up earlier in the month (deposit required to secure as its so popular ) and Saturday arrived, our table for six was ready and the place was buzzing.
We poured our drinks and ordered our food,it arrived piping hot and was absolutely delicious .
The service was second to none and the two girls service are really charming and friendly.
It's the first BYOB Resturant we've been to and it so works , the bill reflects this £64.00 all in including sweets and coffees.
Nothing could be faulted ,thanks to all at the Rosy Lee for a lovely meal and I thoroughly recommend this Resturant for some lovely different food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Loved It.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked a table for 2 at the Rosy Lee for an evening meal (it's a greasy spoon cafe during the day) as my partner and I have wanted to go there for some time. Bookings are hard to come by because of how popular it is so make sure you book well in advance.

We had to settle with a table outside on the decking. The outside tables are unfortunately next to a busy road so they could probably do with some speakers outside to drown out the traffic but, it was a nice evening so sitting outside was fine.

The food was really, really good, tasted authentic and was very reasonable (around £15-18 per head for 2 courses). The service was great, really friendly and very eager to help. We had a warm welcome on the way in and a big thank you/goodbye on the way out.

The restaurant has a bring your own booze policy. They serve soft drinks but, if you want a beer, bring it yourself and they do not charge corkage. This is the first BYO I've been too and, not only does it drive down the cost of your bill but, it's quite quirky.

There aren't too many options on the menu but enough variety (meat and fish) to cater for most. I definitely recommend the Rosy Lee, me and the misses both really enjoyed it! Definitely one of the best in the Southend area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Rosy Lee is a real enigma being a normal 'bacon sandwich' type cafe by day and then turning into a piece of the exotic east on friday and saturday nights. The atmosphere is buzzing and the place is hectic but that is its charm - it is not the place for a quiet evening but is a place to enjoy life which is exactly what visitors do. Bring your own wine means that cost is very reasonable, the food is excellent and authenticly flavoured and served. A micro-culture lives inside the Rosy Lee and is reminiscent of a souk, the waitresses wearing little bits of arabic costume that add to the atmosphere. Cloe was brilliant last night adding her own personal charm to our meal which was spend with friends who are still raving over the evening and the food. Can't wait for our next visit, thanks to all at the Rosy Lee

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosy Lee Cafe also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Rosy Lee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosy Lee Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.