We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai Inn

Royal Thai Inn
A/130 London Rd, Benfleet SS7 5SQ, England
+44 1268 569700
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 47 Restaurants in Benfleet
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went to the Royal Thai for the first time, the food was excellent. The service was good, will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is more Chinese than Thai so with that in mind order the Chinese food. It is excellent at that. The duck is always a fave with me and my family as is the chicken with salt and chilli. Try this knowing it is really a Chinese and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor food, Dull resturant nothing special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

after recently visiting this restaurant left half way through our meal as was very disappointed with the starter,

Firstly our order turned up wrong which is understandable as mistakes happen,
But when received our correct order, I had a chicken dish, which turned up a bit on the pink side which put me off completely, then my other half order some ribs and after biting into one them it was boiling on the outside but almost frozen still in the middle, which seemed as if it had been quickly pinged in the microwave, we did not stay to have our main course as the starter was so dreadful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A bit dull but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have eaten here a number of times, I can not criticise the foo, which is good, but it has never been very busy and the atmosphere is a bit dreary.
The set meals are what we normally have and in theory you can eat as much as you like. But neither of us have ever managed to get past the allotted portions!
It's not cheap but there again not outrageous, a service charge is added. We will be going again.
They also do takeaway which we also sometimes have.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit. Great food. Consistently good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were surprised to read the negative reviews on here for this restaurant as we have been many times. We have always had excellent food. Without doubt our favourite Thai restaurant in the area. Portion sizes and quality of food are good. I would recommend the £25 set menu. It really fills you up and is a great choice of dishes.
Service is always good, with staff polite and helpful.
My only negative comment would be the chairs. They are quite uncomfortable and really could do with changing. Other than that. A nice restaurant that is well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Inn also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Benfleet, Essex
 
Benfleet, Essex
 

Been to Royal Thai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.