We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty filthy toilets” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Harvester, Tarpots

The Harvester, Tarpots
London Road (A13), Benfleet, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 42 Restaurants in Benfleet
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At The Tarpot Harvester in Benfleet food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dirty filthy toilets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

the restaurant appeared clean and tidy - then I went to the toilets! Dirty place needs a clean - will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Harvester, Tarpots, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Tarpots. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    24
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dagenham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We thought the service was good we were seated as soon as we got there food was good staff were very nice , the food was good i would go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Harvester, Tarpots, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Harvester, Tarpots. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“1980's throw back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sorry another bog standard non exciting Harvester.
Needs bringing into this century.
Food is nothing different and needs modernising.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Harvester, Tarpots, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Harvester, Tarpots .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food quality Was Very Poor, The place was a bit of a mess, but have to say it was very busy , eaten here many times and this was the worst I've seen it,
would recommend if its busy go some where else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Harvester, Tarpots, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Tarpots. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have not been to this Harvester for about a year as the last time I visited it was a disapointment.
Unfortunately this was still the same case. The salad bowls were all dirty. In fact it was hard to find à clean one. There was also no plates for the rolls & the salad looked old & tired.
When lunch arrived the plates were cold as were the peas. The steak I had was also very poor quality.
I think it would benefit the management to visit the Harvester at the Crown pub in Basildon. There is no comparison between the two.
I will not be returning to the Benfleet Harvester again. You would think that the parent company would keep an eye on their franchises to check for consistant quality across their sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Harvester, Tarpots, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the meal you had at Harvester Tarpots was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harvester, Tarpots also viewed

 

Been to The Harvester, Tarpots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harvester, Tarpots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.