We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northen Sands Hotel Restaurant

Northen Sands Hotel Restaurant
Main street, Dunnet, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dunnet
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Falkirk, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in John O Groats and popped in here on the way back from Castletown/Thurso on afternoon.

Dont be put off when you walk in and the bit we eat in was in the front door and just keep walking straight through the back - was a nice place to sit and the service and food was really good.

Wish we had popped in earlier in the week but will be back next trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thurso
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Donnie and Shirley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Donnie and Shirley always make sure you get 5 star food and service one of the best places to eat in Caithness they will catering for any special request great Roast on every Sunday

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“carvery to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Amazing Sunday carvery, good value and great food... the staff were very helpful and the venue surprisingly roomy, only problem was finding parking but worth doing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Customer service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have eaten at the Northern Sands a number of times over the last couple of years. Last time my family attempted to go for lunch there, the waitress informed us that we were too late to order (at just past 1.30) so we had to eat elsewhere. Previously (on a Sunday visit) I was told I could not park in the main car park as I would get in the way of 'regulars' coming for their Sunday roast - despite me telling the man (who was dressed in chef whites) that I was supposed to be dining there..... When I have actually managed to procure a meal here, the food has been very good. But customer service? Hmmmmm - I think the kindest thing I can say is that it can be a little hit-and-miss, depending on who you are dealing with. A shame, because when we dine out en famille(which is quite frequent), we rarely spend less than £100...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab food... would highly recommend, the restaurant was packed and service and food was faultless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nothing to say... all was good good, good and would highly recommed and stay at the hotel and a meal in the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northen Sands Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northen Sands Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.