We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice countryside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Vado del Duraton

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Vado del Duraton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Vado del Duraton
C/ San Justo Pastor, 10 | 40300, Sepulveda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepulveda
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice countryside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's a nice hotel in the center of Sepúlveda, a good option to visit the town and the surroundings.
The hotel is modern with appropriate services, but well integrated with the traditional atmosphere.
The hotel personnel were nice and helpful. There is free wifi available everywhere.
We stayed two days in the suite, it was a pleasant stay. The breakfast was excellent one day, but the second day somehow the standards were lower, still a correct breakfast.
The suite was huge, comfortable and with a big bathroom with a nice jacuzzi.
The room heating was sophisticated but rather annoying because you had to contact the reception in order to turn it off since it was controlled by a computer with weird behaviour.

Room Tip: The suite worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director Comercial at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias Emilio por su opinión nos gusta escucharles para mejorar cada día.
Nos alegra que le gustase nuestra suite.
El desayuno nos gusta para personas que se alojan más de un día no sea igual siempre y lo cambiamos para que no resulte aburrido siento que esto no le haya agradado.
El personal de recepción está las 24 horas disponible para Ustedes ayudándoles en todo lo que necesiten.Desde al habitación controla cada cliente la calefacción/aire acondicionado y si tienen alguna dificultad con ello mis empleados le ayudan controlándolo desde recepción como fue su caso.
Nos gusta cuidar de Ustedes durante toda su estancia, nuestro trabajo es atenderles , servirles y ayudarles en todo momento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room was large (family room), hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed that night so I can't comment. Breakfast was a minimalist affair, but sufficient. Sepulveda is a nice little town to walk around for one afternoon. The natural park information center is very useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks a lot for your survey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a comfortable night here which exceeded our expectations for the price paid (60 Euros including breakfast).

The hotel is not luxurious, certainly, but after winding our way up to the medieval hilltop town of Sepulveda which comprises a charming assortment of very old and sometimes rather rickety-looking buildings, it came as a pleasant surprise to receive a good modern check-in welcome from Estrela, the receptionist.

The surprise improved more when we took the lift to the third floor to discover that our suite was the third floor! Nice big bathroom, ooh, two basins, a shower, ooh .. a big bath with nozzles ..', purred the missus. Needless to say, that was enough to complete my satisfaction with the place, but the king bed under Velux roof windows - allowing us to stargaze that night from the warmth of our bed, really did finish the thing off very nicely.

The town is charming and genuinely medieval; the prices are not! Almost every restaurant was pushing an expensive 'touristic menu' at inflated prices. When I got chatting with a couple of locals they told me they can't afford the restauramts - strictly for the tourists - we just go to the tapas bar and snack and have a few drinks. It was good advice and we ignored it. Went to a restaurant/bar, the only extranjeros in the place and the only diners. Food was pricey and distinctly average. Oh well, we had a nice hot jacuzzi tub to return to ... and we did.

Breakfast was actually ok, not wonderful, but ok. In fact if it were not for the single cup of coffee/ limited breads choice breakfast I'd be giving the Vado del Duraton 5 stars.

Room Tip: Room 301 - if you want your own personal (glass-wall) elevator/lift to a suite with jacuzzi bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review, we are glad you enjoyed both your stay in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Eventually found this place in a charming medieval town after a wrong turn thanks to the amount of hotels in the area
Using duranton in their names but what a great little hotel.parked up accross the road and entered the wood floored modern
Gem of a hotel.free glass of wine.lovely room with a super view.modern tele that could turn any anglo
Program into the original language.rare.ended up watching a cameron diaz cancer weepy and the weird employee of the month.
Surreal.
In short in sepulveda I doubt you could do better for a place to lay your bones ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henstridge, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fantastic location, excellent restaurant, the suckling lamb was to die for. Friendly and efficient staff, though english was a bit limited but that was no probelm. Room was fine but not exceptional but value for money very good. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Vado del Duraton. Staff were hugely helpful and pleasant, the room was large and nicely decorated. However, as noted in a previous review Sepulveda is very quiet during the week. We also found it quite an unfriendly town and were treated quite rudely by some of the locals. It is also pretty much impossible to find a restaurant that serves vegetarian food in the town. Sepulveda is still worth visiting if just for the ancient buildings and the Rio de Duraton nature reserve. However, prepare yourself for a cold reception from the locals. It's very much a local town for local people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenaSegovia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks a lot for your survey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel was clean, quiet, modern, centrally located, with very friendly staff and very reasonably priced. A few points to note: no laundry facility; minibar came with just two small bottles of water; air conditioning can only be turned on or off by reception. Also: the town of Sepulveda is very quiet during the week (with various restaurants actually closed) and really only livens up at the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Vado del Duraton, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks Anthony for your opinion, have communicated congratulate the cleaning lady.
As for the mini-bar, instead of charging us the minibar and have more things rather have the detail with our clients give them two bottles of water chilly and if we want to take something apart from our cafeteria open 10 to 23 each day.
The people, you're right it is very quiet midweek and restaurants take advantage of to give the day off to employees, the Sepulveda weekends are very many people
Laundry comes 4 times a week, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays, other days we have Laundry Service is a service as external to us
We are delighted to haberte had as a customer and will be happy to come at any other time.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Vado del Duraton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Vado del Duraton

Address: C/ San Justo Pastor, 10 | 40300, Sepulveda, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Sepulveda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepulveda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel El Vado del Duraton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Vado del Duraton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.