We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A crab sandwich for nearly eight pounds ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Fisherman Pub

The Jolly Fisherman Pub
Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
01665 576 461
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jolly Fisherman Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Craster
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A crab sandwich for nearly eight pounds ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had lunch at the pub expecting something special. Paying £7.95 for a crab sandwich i expected more. The crab is sandwiched between two slices of store bought brown bread is presented on a wooden board with a small dressed salad of spinach leaves and a small ramekin of crisps. Yes it's a crab sandwich but not a special one. The other dish we ordered were the fish cakes - two tasty croquettes served with a miniature basket full of ordinary chips - i say full meaning about ten chips. Again a small dressed salad of spinach leaves made up the dish. Again the dish was nearly £10 a lot for what was really an entrée size serving. The place was very busy and i assume the tv appearances have drawn in the crowds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    228
    99
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In one word - fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just had the most fabulous meal in a fabulous setting - how lucky we are. After an 8 mile walk in beautiful autumn sunshine we popped into the Jolly Fisherman for a well deserved bite to eat but we got more than we bargained for - the food, staff, views and atmosphere all outstanding. Thank you Jolly Fisherman as you were certainly the icing on our cake and made a day to cherish and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fab-U-Lous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really excellent food and service in the Jolly Fisherman.
the 'new' restaurant mansger was excellent and made our successive trips better and better.
Lovely views over the sea from all tables so you wont be dissappointed.
Service style, food, ambience all terrific.
Thank you

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beer and Crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived for lunch, grabbed a table for four, quickly served with 4 pints of Black Sheep ale and ordered 4 crab sandwiches.
Lovely pint and tasty sarnies. Just what we need after completing
our 8 mile walk around Craster.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasty local ale and crab sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bustling and good atmosphere,cosy bar where dogs welcome. Good lunch time snacks especially the local crab sandwiches and good variety of local ales.Friendly locals too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Fisherman Pub also viewed

 
Low Newton by the Sea, Northumberland
 

Been to The Jolly Fisherman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jolly Fisherman Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.