We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Lights
Save
You added Harbour Lights to your Saves list
Whin Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Craster B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Peter and Jane, the proprietors at Harbour Lights, went out of their way to ensure our stay was extremely enjoyable. Our room was bright and airy, tastefully decorated and well co-ordinated. The big, white, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries were excellent. The breakfasts were delicious, especially Jane's home-made bread, yoghurt and marmalades. Peter was a mine of information about the surrounding area (which was backed up by a comprehensive file of leaflets/maps and booklets in the room). There was also a library of nature books, dvds and magazines for guests' use.
We have stayed at some excellent B&Bs in recent years, but Harbour Lights is by far the best! We would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Bird watchers would love the rear bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Staffs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

If you are looking for a 'get away from it all', quiet, comfortable, well managed and extremely friendly B&B, this is it! Super location overlooking the harbour at Craster. Commanding views over the North Sea, good base for trips out (nothing very much to do or see in Craster itself), good walking country. The proprietors are a lovely couple who really go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. Minute attention to detail and a strong green ethic throughout the house make staying here a real pleasure. Nothing warrants criticism but only two guest rooms, so wannabe guests may be disappointed if they try to book late in high season. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This is a small property with one double and one twin room, splendidly situated across Craster's harbour. The keynote here is perfect, unobtrusive, organisation. If you need local information, it's there to hand, and the owners are really looking out for the guests' comfort. The bedroom was lovely, with an excellent ensuite bathroom with good toiletries, and there was a comfortable breakfast room with a harbour view. Breakfasts had a good choice and were well cooked with home made bread and preserves. The location can't be beaten for the range of Northumbrian attractions within easy driving reach and you can get to Craster by public transport from Newcastle if you wish. A pub recommended for dinner, about ten minutes' drive away, was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean Hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

A superb location; the breakfast room looks out onto the village, sea and castle, and our room had views to the gardens and hills. You can avail of the gardens during your stay. The owners are very helpful and genuine. Everything has been carefully thought out with lots of extras and information in the room. The bathroom is a very good size with excellent quality requisites provided and the best shower I have ever used. The breakfasts were very good - the bread, marmalade and some of the cereal is made on the premises. A very enjoyable stay for our special occasions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights in an extremely comfortable double room. Clean, modern facilities and the best breakfasts I have ever had. Hosts Peter and Jane were so helpful and friendly and provide a wealth of information about the area. Gazing at the view over the harbour whilst eating breakfast was my favourite part of the day. Could have stayed there forever!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkintilloch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

A bed room and dining room overlooking a sleepy harbour ,a warm welcome, a comfortable room, good and varied food all within easy reach of sandy beaches ancient castles, islands teaming with wildlife and stately country homes,what more could you ask for? Add glorious sunshine and you have it all. Our stay at the Harbour Lights was the perfect end to an enjoyable tour or Northern England. We would highly recommend a stay at this well managed and friendly little B&B.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

A superb B&B at a superb location, as shown in the photos of the first reviewer. The internal decor was first class (memo to go home and redecorate our house). Only two rooms so visitors are spoilt by Peter and Jane (they may be retired but both must have retired early). We had the twin room with the lovely view over the harbour. Craster has a pub and a seafood restaurant so no need to venture far in an evening. Lovely coastal walks both north and south. Dunstanburgh Castle is a 30 minute walk away. Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights

Address: Whin Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Craster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Craster
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.