We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation (probably the best in the area)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar e Sol

Mar e Sol
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar e Sol
Save
You added Mar e Sol to your Saves list
2 Main Beach, Ponta do Ouro 0001, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation (probably the best in the area)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited Ponta do Ouro, with a few friends, four couples in all, and stayed at unit #2, we were impressed. The unit was fully fitted with all best quality appliances, crockery cutlery and furniture.
Location may not have been the best, but the quality of the accommodation compensated for that. When visiting Ponta again will definitely book this unit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at mar e sol #6 owned by Marian. The unit was furnished to a very high standard and had absolutely everything we needed. a 2 min walk down to beach or town is also very convenient. All in all agreat holiday that we found was great value for money.

While in the area try the dlophin encounters as it is really special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Mar e Sol as an establishment is just ok. Each house is individually owned, so while some may have superb decor and upkeep, ours had one working toilet out of two, no electricity when we checked in, a locked safe which we couldn't access, and a bathroom door that locked you in unless someone opened it from the outside. There was also no view of the water from our house, although the website makes it sound as though all houses allow you to see the beach. This was house #14. The other houses may be fine. The location is nice in terms of just a short walk to the beach, but if you plan on taking transport to Ponta because you don't have a 4x4, it's the farthest accommodation from town and you should plan on walking a decent amount. The management is by far what makes this place an unpleasant stay. Upon letting the front desk woman know about all the problems in our house, she did not apologize for the inconvenience, and said "oh thanks for reminding me". On the day of check out, we asked this same woman if we could leave our bags at reception while we went to the beach and if she could arrange transport for us to the border, she said yes but she closes early on Sundays. We asked her what time and clarified with her that she would close at 12pm. We arrived back to the reception at 11:30am and she had already left for the day and locked our bags inside the office. The guard who has the key, to his credit, did not want to let us in since she had not told him that we would be coming to get our things. After an hour, he was able to contact her and let us in to get our bags. We were not able to arrange transport with her as she had already left for the day and ended up getting a ride in the back of some kind South African's truck. In any establishment that relies on customer satisfaction,and I am astounded that hotel management would lock a customers bags inside the office and leave when she explicitly told us she would be there till 12. Additionally, if she knew that there were problems in our house, why would she have not fixed them until after our arrival. I have traveled multiple times to Mozambique, and have never experienced anything so blatantly disrespectful. Thoroughly disappointed and would never return.

Room Tip: House #14 is in need of serious upkeep and does not have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We live in South Africa, so decided to do a quick and easy holiday to Ponto do Ouro in May. Researching lodges, I quickly realized that Ponto isn't really very quaint or charming as a place, and when I arrived there that was confirmed. However, Mar e Sol is in a really stunning mountainside location overlooking the sea and if you choose the right house (#19 was good) and you make sure you cook all of your own food (restaurants in Ponto are hideously expensive and low quality) then you would probably enjoy staying here. It's a 3 second walk to the beach and dive centres yet in shoulder season it can be quiet. If you go in high season, I would highly recommend that you consider staying on Ponto Molongane instead, which is just slightly quieter and less overrun by South Africans from Joburg.

Room Tip: Go with #19
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friends and I were very well received despite the difficult I had encountered with agency booking. We paid there and all was organised immediately.
We were only four of us but were pleasantly surprised by the size of the house, the quality of the beds and the sopacious and fully equipped bathrooms.
The quietness of the compound makes one enjoy the vagues all night and their designs are very environmental friendly, which gives the impression of a tree cabin.
There is a private passage straight to the beach and the houses are quite close to every entertainement place, walking distance. We parked in the safe guarded parking lot, and spent the whole week end on foot, which with the great weather was veryy much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this Motel for 4 days. It is very well situhated right on the beach. Its clean and the beds are not to bad. The mozzies did eat me a bit but this is expected. The Motels resturant is very expensive for South Africans and truely there food was pathetic!!! Rather eat somewhere else as its just not worth it. A small plate of Chips (frys) R50.00. R500.00 for prawns...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar e Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar e Sol

Address: 2 Main Beach, Ponta do Ouro 0001, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar e Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.