We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spyway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askerswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spyway Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Askerswell, Askerswell DT2 9EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Askerswell B&B and Inns
South UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tim and Chris made us feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The room was pretty good value, clean and well equipped. We chose to eat in house both nights of our stay and were not disappointed. Breakfast was also very good. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the Spyway Inn is a great spot for access to the coast and local towns. Would go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I don't often write reviews however after using TripAdvisor to find this pub i thought that it would only be fair to write my own. We didn't book a table but the barman could not of been more accommodating, friendly and service with a smile. There was five in our group and all had different meals and all of us would give this place the thumbs up 5* food.

We most definitely will be going back again and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the spyway inn is the best cuisine for me, around here.im lucky because i live just a few miles away in the next village. so i go there regularly....mine host and the staff, tim and christy and the chef and lorraine in the kitchen, make it a delightful time out..the food is superb...i so love the setting of the pub and the view is to die for.. long may they reign

carole and derek heard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Been for lunch and dinner on many occasions and we love it. It's cosy in the Winter and comfortable and airy in the Summer. Don't need to travel into Dorchester or Bridport to find excellent food. Tim's very welcoming and courteous. Beer and ciders great, especially during the cider festival. Do try the West Milton cider during the festival only. The roasts are addictive and perfectly cooked. The homemade pies cannot be beaten and the puddings are incredible. It manages all this without being snobby and still retains the historical feel. The garden is a delight and lastly you couldn't choose a more perfect setting. The pub nestles just below Eggardon Hill and isn't far from Powerstock Common giving the perfect after dinner walk! I tend to eat here, The Three Horseshoes in Powerstock and The Manor in West Bexington mainly. The Spyway is the best all round pub out of all of these (as much as I love the others!!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Spyway is quite a special Inn,tucked away down a narrow winding leafy lane away from all the passing holiday traffic.It is well worth going out of your way to find it just for the location,the atmosphere,the views and the high quality of food and service.The garden at the rear is large with ample seating and fantastic rural views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Three different Saturday evening meals for three people. 1) Duck; 2) Steak; 3) Lamb Chops. Each dish thoroughly enjoyable. Great atmosphere. Tim in control in his easy-going but on the on-the-ball manner. Individual guests received his full attention as did those in the Chritmas parties taking place. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sunday roast, having walked in the wind and rain, was excellent. Great value, super service with a quip and smile, made me sad that this was a pub some distance from home that will rarely visit again. Top marks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spyway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyway Inn

Address: Askerswell, Askerswell DT2 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Askerswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Askerswell
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spyway Inn 4*
Also Known As:
The Spyway Hotel Askerswell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spyway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Spyway Inn to your Saves list