We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burntisland Road, Kinghorn KY3 9YE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinghorn
xxxxxxxx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly reccommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our one-night stay was a 'pre-visit' to the hotel to assess its suitability for an event we will be holding in the area in 2014. We were given free use of a meeting area and double rooms at a very reasonable single occupancy rate. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the hotel.

Staff: without exception the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient.
Food: excellent choice of dishes, good sized portions all served with a smile.
Accommodation: the rooms are spotlessly clean and fitted out to a very high standard. The little 'additions' and attention to detail such as the lace edged 'doilies' on the coffee/tea tray, the selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate/biscuits and the good quality toiletries are what puts the Bay Hotel above its competitors.

Needless to say we have booked the Bay Hotel for our event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    25
    12
    9
    19
See reviews for
30
54
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Bay 'hotel' offers the more pricier option of accommodation in this area.
I really wish I could say it was value for money, but what a joke. The place is situated in the middle of a caravan park. £120 a night will get you a view of the hotels air conditioning unit backing onto the rear car park. "Where reality ends & fantasy begins"!
My first room had a toilet with a detached toilet seat, nice touch, but not my bag!
As the janitor had gone home I was given another room, great I thought, here comes my upgrade. A possible view could be the order of the day? I was right, my next room was next door, which offered an up close & personal view of the industrial aircon units humming away in the belly of the hotel.
Ah well I was tired all I needed was a bite to eat & a bed for the night & it has to be said the bed I can't fault, 'twas large and comfy!
The food in the restaurant however was appalling but to be honest that was consistent with everywhere I tried over my 4 night visit to the area & I don't ask for much.
The service throughout the hotel was faultless from the front of desk to the waiting staff.
It has been mentioned many times already but I have to agree, what the hell are they thinking with their Wifi prices, eye watering!
Over all I'd say you would be better off choosing a travel lodge. As there beds are pretty consistent & I've honestly had far better views from something on the side of a motorway, for half the money!
Shocking

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kinghorn hotels

EastCoastLesbo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My daughter & partner stayed for one night. They said from arrival that the staff were unhelpful & rude & that they got the feeling that they did'nt want to be there!! This was a treat for my daughter as she had a baby recently & we thought it would be a nice surprise for her. Well she was extremely disappointed & said it was one of the worst hotels she had ever been in. Apart from a nice room there did'nt appear to be any more positive comments.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I attended a conference in the hotel. The purpose of the conference was to provide networking opportunities for the participants. I expected to be able to use my tablet, which works with Wi-Fi connection. When I tried to connect I found that even in the hotel's public areas it is protected by a password. I assumed the reception will provide me with the password (many restaurants have that system, for example). The receptionist asked me for £4! I pointed out that this is an unreasonable charge, especially when the hotel markets itself as a conference venue. I asked to speak with the manager, but when the manager arrived, she just politely stonewalled me.
This is a silly and self-defeating policy, as it is only likely to attract bad reviews and put off potential customers.
On the way back from the conference I stopped in ASDA and even ASDA were advertising FREE Wi-Fi for their customers (and who goes to the supermarket to surf the net?).
Poor show, Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, General Manager at Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are sorry that this was a disappoinment to you but Wifi is only included for conferences when this has been requested. We hope it will not deter you from future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013 and I have been meaning to leave a review since then, we upgraded to the Bridal suite after using a Groupon voucher we were given as a present.
The receptionist was lovely and had pre heated our original room so it was lovely and cozy but we choose to upgrade and after putting the heating on for 10 mins it sorted the room out. The rooms were lovely with an amazing view. we ate at the restaurant and my meal was disappointing (Im vegetarian and there was only one option) but my husband said his was very good and it looked amazing.
The breakfast was very good though and made up for the meal before.
we were prewarned about the security deposit and it was refunded straight away.

Room Tip: upgrade to a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are contemplating staying here.......DON'T!

This hotel is beyond terrible,it was painfully obvious they don't know how to run a hotel. First impressions,it's on a caravan park,great big ugly green static vans. Young receptionist on duty however was very pleasant,welcoming. She showed us to our room,explaining the key system,directed to restaurant and bar,all usual details breakfast times etc. Overall check in was perfect,it was from here it went downhill.

The room which was advertised with a view,had been thrown on the side of the building with a balcony,that was obviously put there are so you had to go out on here for your view! However,hardly a balcony when it has stairs to one side that anyone can come running up,as we surely discovered! Our room also had some awful smell about it,that even leaving our window open constantly could not diffuse. The cleanliness of the room wasn't bad,however smears on mirror and tv from cleaning cloths....totally noticeable,no one could have missed these. Them or the bits on the carpet that it clearly had only had a very quick run over with a vacuum.
Unbelievably,this place nit only are the room prices through the roof for the quality of room you get....they have the cheek to charge 8quid for WiFi,yes that's right 8quid.....which needless to say didn't even get a signal in our room!

Furthermore,when we decided to have dinner in the restaurant,it started off reasonably well. Then some bloke that was hobbling about seemed to just bark orders at everyone which you could hear from miles away and then he'd disappear again. The volume at which he bellowed was certainly not professional or adding to any kind of pleasant atmosphere. Then there was an older lady ho didn't seem to have a clue what was going on who stayed behind the bar all the time looking quite lost and getting herself in a chaotic whirlwind over a few checks! Again professional was not a word I would describe for this woman ho must have been in her 60s at least!besides all this though our food was ok....apart from the steak was a little over how we had requested,but still decent enough with a tasty enough sauce.

The next morning,breakfast was standard,not a lot to say. However we were surprised to have a housekeeper knocking at our door when it was not even 11 yet, trying to get in our room to clean. Feeling a little rushed out the door then. Although our check out was great,again reception very pleasant,wishing us a nice day and to enjoy the rest of our trip.
Overall,impression was that the only people who had a clue what they were doing we're the reception staff down at the hotel! I would recommend that those lovely pleasant girls find themselves jobs elsewhere and escape hotel hell. Maybe get Gordon Ramsay on the case of this place!
Will NOT be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm quite surprised by the number of poor reviews here, I stated for one night to attend a function in the hotel and found it very good.
The hotel is modern, completed in 2008 and is constructed to a high standard, with stunning views over the Firth of Forth to Edinburgh. OK, to the back there is a static caravan site, but it's very neat and tidy and any criticism of the hotel on these grounds seems to me to be purely down to snobbery!
We had a room at the back with no view, but it was at a good, fair price for the function, so that was fine. The room itself was great, fine, comfy bed, nice bathroom and anything else you could want including an iron, trouser press, hairdryer and fridge (not a minibar for some reason). My only crticism of the room was the lack of free wi fi access.
Breakfast was fine, usual help yourself to cereal etc and then they take your order for cooked stuff. I've seen more comprehensive buffets (for example, there was no loose muesli or yogurt) but it was fine. The cooked items were very good (though no veggie option) and I would have preferred mine to have been a little hotter.
A special mention should go to the staff, who were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The views to front are stunning but you will obviously pay more for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel

Address: Burntisland Road, Kinghorn KY3 9YE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kinghorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinghorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Kinghorn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.