We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for a weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Arms

The Grove Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grove Arms
Save
You added The Grove Arms to your Saves list
Ludwell, Ludwell SP7 9ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ludwell
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just right for a weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife I stayed here on the 2 Nights for the price of 1 deal & found it very good. Room nicely done out & food in restaurant very good. All staff very friendly & nothing too much trouble. We will definitely return next time we go to Longleat, Monkey World. Weymouth or the mother inlaws.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here over the weekend - we got a bargain, £85 for two nights!!
The rooms are a good size and the pub itself is lovely!
The food was very nice, especially the breakfast (which is included in the room price!).

Great service from all members of staff.

Overall, a great stay! Just a shame I left my iPad charger...doh!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Me & my girlfriend recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The accommodation was basic but clean & comfortable, apart from the hot tap which didn't work to well.
The food for the Saturday evening was excellent & breakfast was equally as good, especially the scrambled egg & smoke salmon - best I've ever had.
Location was good for trips to Shaftsbury & South Dorest.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us....the plumber has now been and the hot tap is working perfectly....thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Blanca, Spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The inside of the restaurant/pub area is lovely and has been refitted to a very high standard.
We ordered off of the early bird menu 2 meals for £15 (between 6pm and 7pm). 2 of us had the lasagna which was delicious but portion size wasn't great, one had the gammon which was a very large portion and other had the burger which was lovely a good size portion.
We ordered a portion of chips to go with our lasagnas and when the meal came they had forgotten them so we had to wait 10 minutes for them to cook some.. we had almost finished our meals by then.
Also when we came to pay for the bill they had over charged us on the drinks.. but did refund us when we mentioned it.
The service wasn't the most amazing.. waitress wasn't particularly friendly but the setting and quality of food was good so we would probably return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Katy,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you liked the pub and would come again despite the disappointment on your last trip. We think confusion may have occurred as we offer two sizes of portion on the lasagne on our menu....obviously you would have preferred the regular size rather than the smaller appetite which it appears you were given. We have made sure all our staff are aware that this must be checked when the 2 for £15 order is placed so that this does not happen again in future. Please accept our apologies for the delay in getting the chips to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a family occasion in the adjacent village. The rooms, food and welcome from the polite and efficient staff was much appreciated. Excellent value for money. Thank you. We'll definitely visit in the future. The location is also ideal on the main road

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had dinner here on a Saturday evening. Lovely environment and friendly atmosphere but disappointing meal, duck advertised as served pink was so overcooked it was hard to chew. My partners meal was ok but it was a shame that mine didn't match up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Please accept our apologies if your duck was overcooked - had this been mentioned on the night, when the waitress checked the table, we would have cooked another for you with pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

was staying in a b and b in Chicklade and was looking for a nice pub to eat in on Friday night and was heading on the road into Salisbury and saw this pub thought it looked lovely and picturesque so decided to go in. Me being the picky eater found their was lots of choice and my fiancé had no trouble finding something he liked. The specials menu had lots of choice. I had local sourced lamb burger which was lovely and tender and cooked just right, my fiancé had a pulled pork tortilla wrap which he said was excellent, we had big portions for a reasonable price that you didn't mind paying because of the portion size and quality of food. The service was excellent and you didn't feel rushed out the door. The deserts were lovely we had crème brulee and cheese cake. Well worth going to this pub would definitely go their again if we were on holiday in that area. Well recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on trip Adviser. we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Arms

Address: Ludwell, Ludwell SP7 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Ludwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ludwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Arms is a delightful part thatched country inn and is located in the beautiful village of Ludwell, between Shaftesbury and the historic city of Salisbury. The original part of the building dates back to the 16th century and is grade II listed. Many of the original features are retained in the cosy snug bar including mullion windows, carved cornices and flagstone floors. the premises have been licensed since the 17th century. There is an enclosed patio garden and courtyard area which is perfect to enjoy the summer sun as well as ample space inside too. There are also six en-suite letting rooms available all of which are 4* AA approved. There is free WIFI throughout the building. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grove Arms Hotel Ludwel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.