We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Swansea East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Swansea East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neath Rd, Llandarcy SA10 6GZ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting some old friends and old haunts in the Swansea area. Our room (217) was compact but contained everything we needed for a short stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a masterpiece of design for a small space. We had a walk in shower, plentiful hot water and fresh fluffy towels each day. There was a great flat screen tv and free wifi (although only for one device).
Breakfast was advertised as "continental with some hot items" and we were agreably surprised to find, sausages, beans and scrambled eggs available in addition to the cereals, yogurts, bread rolls, croissants, toast, cheese, grapefruit and plentiful fresh fruit. The breakfast slot is also quite long so the hotel suits holiday makers and business people, and the available food was constantly replenished with fresh supplies.
The hotel was clean and modern throughout, the soundproofing was very good and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Although there is no provision for evening meals there is a Harvester restaurant on the site which was ok and Swansea itself is an easy 10 minute drive and there is plenty to do and see there. (Don't miss the Dylan thomas Centre). The hotel is also an ideal base for day trips further along the coast to Tenby etc.

Room Tip: The hotel did not have king size beds. Opt for a twin and you will get 2 very comfortable 3 ft beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you found our guest rooms to be comfortable and well designed and that our breakfast offerings and quantities exceeded your expectations.
We have recent added the additional benefit of free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including guest bedrooms. Should additional vouchers for more devices be required these are available at reception.
Please be aware food is available at the hotel and can be order at the bar until late evening.
As you have found us to be an ideal location and great hotel, we would hope to see you again in the future
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    97
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
67
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very friendly welcome. Spacious rooms with free wifi. Easy location from motorway and a harvester restaurant next door. They arranged an early breakfast at 6:00am for those doing the dragon ride on Sunday morning. Good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on motorway side are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

An excellent hotel, well located and easy to reach from the motorway. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were given an access room which was large and the bathroom was fitted with rails ina large walk in shower. There was a special seat teaches to the wall that would make transfer from a wheelchair to the shower seat easy. Alarms were throughout the room.i accidentally pulled one and staff responded in less than a minute.
The wifi is fast and reliable and free for one piece of equipment per room.
Breakfast was sufficient and there was plenty to eat.
For the price this is excellent value.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or elderly ask for an access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed hear for 5 nights as I was doing a course in the industrial estate near by .very clean , staff helpful and friendly . The outlet centre in bridgend is only 15minutes away and Swansea is 10minutes .Only downside was the bar food was only average .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisagrainger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel and the excellent staff service that had been given to you during your stay.
The hotel is easily accessible and just a short drive away to many shopping outlets, beaches, attractions and/or night life in the city of Swansea.
With regards to the food that is served at the hotel we are limited in a Holiday Inn Express on what food we can offer, however, our menu is change twice a year and is due to be changed in July.
If you are returning to the Swansea area and wish to dine out please speak to our reception team as they can recommend nearby restaurants.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We regularly stay at this hotel and always have a great stay and this weekend was no exception. The staff are great, friendly and nothing is too much bother. Quick check in/out, rooms were spotless....the only niggle was the the tap in the basin was very loose. Great choice at breakfast, plenty to suit all pallettes. The Harvester pub next door does great food, but be prepared for quite a wait for a table if you haven't booked, but the bar area is very comfy so no great shakes about having to wait really!!

Room Tip: We always go on the top floor, furthest away from the lift....stops folk walking passed your door an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Always stay here when visiting ancient Aunt and Uncle who live in Neath. Very convenient for M4-immediatly off the roundabout, top of slip road J43. The reception staff are charming, and keep the area clean and tidy. As others have remarked, the car park has never been littered, which gives an excellent impression of the hotel.For a budget hotel, a double room is a fair size, if the bed a little narrow.Breakfast is a fair spread if you're hungry. (buffet style).
Cross section of working people stay here - same people frequently.Harvester on site can have its off days!

Room Tip: Overlooking the car park-away from motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

4 Night break in South Wales.
Off Motorway and some distance from Swansea, For a 10 year old hotel in excellent condition.
I am always impressed when the car park is clean, tidy and litter free. This gives a first glance
impression. Requested an accessible room (108) lift to first floor.
The front desk staff were very accommodating to everyone. The room was very good, clean and tidy. Cleaned every morning.
Breakfasts were a bit better than some H.I. X that we have stayed at. A good selection and never
ran out.
Recommended
The Harvester net door was Naff/Smokey.....meal mediocre to say the least.....

Room Tip: Give the Harvester next door a miss....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swansea East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swansea East

Address: Neath Rd, Llandarcy SA10 6GZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Llandarcy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swansea East 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the easy-access Holiday Inn Express Swansea - East, close to city centre offices and beach escapes. Our friendly staff will greet you as you arrive in the bright Lobby at the Holiday Inn Express Swansea-East. Our quiet hotel, with its leafy garden and large car park, is just 1 minute from the London-bound M4 motorway and 41 miles from Cardiff International Airport. It's just a 10-minute drive from the Holiday Inn Express Swansea West to the DVLA and Swansea Council's city centre offices. Invite delegates to our 3 bright meeting rooms, and access free WiFi. Stay in touch with wireless Internet in your Guest room or simply relax and watch your favourite shows on our new 32-inch flat screen TVs. Your tour of the Gower Peninsula's dramatic coastline starts at the Victorian seaside town of Mumbles, 13 miles away. The Brecon Beacons National Park, with its waterfalls and valleys, is 30 minutes by car. Wake up daily to our complimentary continental breakfast with selected hot items served in the comfort of the Great Room lounge daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swansea East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swansea West m4, Jct 43 Hotel Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Swansea
Llandarcy Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East Llandarcy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.