We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Israel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balzac

Balzac
11 Haeshel St, | A Neighborhood ,, Ashdod, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Ashdod
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ashkelon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Balzac is one of our very favorite restaurants. We love going there for special occasions and we are never disappointed and always pleasantly surprised by the chef's innovative and creative dishes. We celebrated our wedding anniversary there today and the meal was incredibly good. The first courses of sea food were unusual , delicious and light: calamari on shiro (ethiopian hummus) and mussels in cream and blue cheese sauce.The main courses, lamb stew with red cabbage and dates was fantastic and the entrecot steak was a delight. You can't go wrong with ordering wine-they are all of good quality. The deserts are also delicious and unique.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a romantic dinner at this restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and efficient, and the ambiance was that of a little French bistro.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A truly great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Small and intimate, calm atmosphere and good music, creative chef, nice and friendly service, moderate prices (for gourmet food) - all the above join to the wonderful food to complete an experience you'll want to repeat over and over.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We only had 2 courses but they were both very very delicious. The fish are as fresh as it gets, and the service was excellent.
If we're ever here again (in Ashdod) - we'll definately be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshav Shdema
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hidden spot in Ashdod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Intimate place with reasonable price. Renovated from a home of somebody to the restaurant. Feeling like being home of somebody's dinner party. Tasty food and good dish size. Nice wooden floor and antique kind of atmosphere. Good for routine visit and occasional visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 
Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 

Been to Balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balzac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.