We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balzac

Balzac
11 Haeshel St, | A Neighborhood ,, Ashdod, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Ashdod
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
“Terrible disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We tried to book for six in the evening and were told they opened at seven. Not being familiar with Ashdod, we went around in circles a couple of times, passing the restaurant again and again because the sign wasn't lit and the number on the door was 4, even though the address was supposed to be 11. Shortly after we arrived a party of four unknown, not famous men finished eating and left. I asked when they had started and was told five-thirty. They were so important the restaurant was willing to open an hour and a half earlier than usual, but not let us come at six. We ordered fish, which came half-cooked and cold on the inside. The restaurant had been recommend as a culinary delight, which it certainly wasn't, and the service was poor as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

my wife and I celebrated our 14th anniversary in a buisness dinener from a fixed menue with limited choice. price was well within our budget and the dishes were all splendid. service was seemless as well. the atmosphere is pleasent and relaxed , but more elegant than the usual in this city.
hope to come back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Total dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Three of had had dinner in this restraurant. None was too happy with the dishes. And we can not undertstand even now what is so French about this lace and its food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

A small little known bistro, hiding in the middle of a residential neighborhood in Ashdod. You go to Balzac for one reason only - Natti, the chef and owner, and his food. Don't look for decor. Don't look for atmosphere. Natti is an eclectic chef, fusing French and Mediterranean cuisines, but not really looking for labels. The menu changes according to what he found in the markets that week. Forget the "regular" menu, and opt for the tasting menu, which changes daily. If you have particular preferences, tell the Chef. Personally, I let Natti prepare whatever he wants, and eagerly await for that particular evening surprises. I have never been disappointed. Since the Chef only uses the best ingredients, prices may run a little high, but it's the best value for money you will find. One of my favorite restaurants in Israel, and one I will return to every chance I get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food & pleasant romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A "one-time experience",... . Repeats itself over and over again.... Whenever dinning there ...Regardless of how frequently it is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 
Ashdod, Southern District
Ashdod, Southern District
 

Been to Balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balzac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.