We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa to your Saves list
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jungut Batu, Bali 1111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you're after the hustle and bustle of Bali - then dont come here.

Batu Karang Nusa Lembongan is the Bali of many many years ago, before the bogans, but with up to date facilities!

We stayed in a Superior One Bedroom Villa (ocean view) and our (older) children stayed in a twin downstairs (garden view) with an exterior connecting staircase.

Our room was right outside the Middle Pool (there are three) and to say we were relaxed would be an understatement.

If you want to explore the island, you can grab a bike and ride around and see it all.. if you want to do some snorkelling it's available. Reception will book it all and add it to the bill - you dont have to negotiate ANYTHING!

Food at breakfast is fantastic - the view at breakfast is even better.

The staff were so friendly and made you feel very much at home. Rooms serviced twice daily including a turn down service.

Spa in my opinion was a little pricey for Bali which would be the *only* downside to this resort. Prices were the equivalent to Australian Spa Prices which is unusual when it comes to Bali so I couldn't tell you how great it was.

Probably not a 'family' location (our children are older) but the perfect spot for romantic holidays.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    52
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
206
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon, and it is a holiday we will remember fondly for the rest of our lives! The resort is absolutely stunning, with brilliant facilities and amazing staff. The owner Alan is so accommodating and was so helpful to us during our stay. His son Troy (the manager) is equally as helpful and was gave us some great tips for things to do around the island.

The island itself is ok, though there is a not a great deal to do. If you are looking for a shopping trip action packed with activities then this is not the island for you. It is perfect however, for those looking to unwind and spend a few days doing 'not much at all'.

The water is beautiful, and I would definitely recommend a snorkelling trip out to the Mangroves, where we saw some beautiful fish and even a stingray. Whilst the view from the resort is stunning, you cannot swim directly in front of the resort due to the seaweed fields. This was not a problem though, as we enjoyed swimming in the pools just as much. Our snorkelling trip was arranged through the resort, as were our transfers to and from the resort, a driver and shopping trip back on the main island, and even a dinner reservation. The front desk staff were very helpful and would do absolutely everything they could to accommodate your requests.

The resort facilities were wonderful, with three different pools to choose from, a restaurant and bar, day spa and internet lounge area. We just loved lazing by the pools and the hardest decision we had to make every day was which cocktail to choose!

The villas were just lovely and while it took me a while to get used to the idea of the shower being outside, I miss it now, being back at home! The attention to detail at this resort is impeccable, from the beautiful carved walls of the outside of the villa, to the flowers in your room, and the delicious smelling towels, they really don’t miss a beat. The staff work extremely hard to ensure their guests are happy.

The food at the resort was great, and fairly cheap by Western standards. There are also many local restaurants nearby which offer food at slightly cheaper prices, though drinks are much the same. Most of our trip was spent eating, drinking and lazing about, but that’s exactly what we wanted! We loved our Happy Hour drinks every afternoon at the Deck (5.00 – 6.30pm), and I miss the delicious strawberry daiquiris already!

We cannot thank the brilliant staff enough for making our honeymoon a wonderful and memorable experience. We will definitely be back and cannot wait to be sitting at Muntigs Restaurant having breakfast and staring out over the beautiful Bay, soaking in the beauty of Nusa Lembongan!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a fantastic view, but if you want less of a walk, request a low numbered villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

There is not a single thing that I could fault about our stay.. The resort is amazing! The views are breathtaking and the staff welcomed us like family members.

The people who have written bad reviews must be absolutely impossible to please.. To say you would never come back and stay here is absolutely absurd. This resort is paradise a true sanctuary.

The management of this resort is of an extremely high standard as is the service from the wonderful staff.

I loved every minute of staying here and am already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was recently lucky enough to discover what I believe to be the nicest Island hotel escape I could hope to find.
Batu karang on the beautiful island of Nusa Lembongin offered everything I could ever ask for.
It was quite incredible to find such professional staff, services and amenities on what could be called a remote and still primitive Island. I found this so nice to be able to explore the tradition of the Lembongin villages, and be immersed in the local daily activities and restaurants, Then be able to return to such an oasis of a hotel.
With views to die for, spotless rooms with the most luxurious yet traditional fixings and designs, Amazing restaurant that employs all local staff to support the nearby villages, an amazing in house day spa and gymnasium, the pool bar, clean water, and have to mention the deck cafe that I think is new and has some awesome food and cocktails right on the water, Had some amazing after surf burgers! I could really go on and on.
If you are looking for an escape from the mainland, somewhere to find world class surf breaks right at the doorstep, snorkeling, romantic getaway, wedding, somewhere for the kids, whatever it is I would recommend Batu Karang every time.
The managers are also very helpful, with a huge knowledge of the surrounding areas and gave me so many great inside hints for my onward travels.
Go and enjoy you will not be disapointed. And the indoor outdoor rainhead showers are my favourite.

loggins.

Room Tip: A room high on the hill if you want views or lower down for quick access to the restaurant and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltysister
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I got the "Just enough" deal where we stayed in a one room villa, snorkeled, free one hour spa treatment for both of us, and some drinks and more. The staff there made everything so easy for us. We did a second snorkeling trip, rented a motorbike, and got reservations plus a free ride to a nice local restaurant--and they never once let us down! The bed turn-down and air conditioned room in the afternoon was awesome after spending all day in the sun and the little extra touches (flowers!) were great. I spent a lot of time in that spa and I can vouch for those ladies--they are good!
Breakfast was tasty and the afternoon tea on the deck was superbly done. I wish the restaurant upstairs and the deck one combined a little bit more--one served great tea and the other scones. I couldn't get them at the same time! And there is some wildlife there (I think a gecko took a liking to our room one night as he played in the thatch roof) and the tv isn't that great but I didn't go there to watch tv. Other than that, I really can't think of any downsides to our stay there. It was a perfect 2nd honeymoon!

Room Tip: If you have kids or are older opt for a room closer to the bottom of the hill. But they do offer car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked to stay at Lombongan after some friends of ours had an awesome holiday last year. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the views are just stunning!

We stayed in one of the standard villas which we were incredibly happy with. The Room was spacious with the bed facing out over the ocean. There was a huge balcony and the bathroom was just amazing - outdoors with an awesome bath and one of the best showers ever (views and a huge sunflower shower head). The room was always beautifully cleaned and was done twice per day.

The resort itself was beautifully maintained and given the steepness of the location, buggies were available almost anytime you wanted to take you around the resort - although after lazing around it was the last thing we needed! Breakfast was always lovely and the food great with probably the best views on the entire island. We had dinner there one night and the laksa was amazing but we weren't overly happy with the fish that we had. With my husband being a chef sometimes we expect a little more and to be honest the food was still lovely and I certainly wouldn't have any complaints as such in this regard!

We did find that the alcohol was a small issue - there was no red wine available when we had dinner, there was no gin whilst we stayed there and one of the days we wanted a cocktail by the pool which we were told we couldn't have. We found this quite bizaar and had the impression that they were awaiting a particular licence from the mainland although staff were never quite sure! To be honest this would be our only issue with the resort and probably something that was out of their control. It was not an issue for us but it was a little annoying at the time.

The staff were always friendly and their service was very good. The island is the perfect getaway and so very different from Bali. We fell in love with Lombongan and we can't wait to go back! The island seemed quiet and there were more Europeans staying there (in other resorts) so if you like nightlife and partying then definately choose your seasons! We found it to be very relaxing and suited everything that we needed to address stressful home lives.

If you like fancy food - then definately go to Indiana Restaurant otherwise The Beach Club is amazing with it's own pool and overlooks a beautiful beach. Both will collect you from your hotel and drop you off if you pre-arrange. Mushroom beach was a beautiful beach to laze about and hiring a scooter to check out the rest of the island was a really good option especially to experience a bit more culture. I have not snorkelled very much before but the coral is amazing and it was so much fun to do - although the currents are quite strong so you have to be careful!

Amazing island, amazing holiday and amazing resort - we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are just beautiful & we were incredibly happy. There is internet but the ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currimundi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our first visit to Bali and what an amazing resort in a fantastic location looking out across the water to the mainland. Nusa Lembongan is a beautiful destination away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas of Bali. Batu Karang would have to be the best resort on the island, the villa was just stunning, beautifully appointed and fantastic ocean views. Great day spa and well priced. Met the resort manager (owner's son) who was very friendly and helpful and he gave us some great tips on what to see and do on the island and over in Bali. A very relaxing stay for us, got a good surf in and the locals were just lovely, even the touts weren't over the top. Will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa

Address: Jungut Batu, Bali 1111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#1 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nusa Lembongan, Batu Karang Lembongan Resort and Day Spa is an ideal spot to discover the surrounding island sanctuary. Only 30 minutes by boat from the east coast of Bali, provides a great escape for those seeking the real paradise.The ambiance of Batu Karang Lembongan Resort and Day Spa is reflected in every guestroom. Spacious villas are an indulgence with a modern décor with Balinese accents and the finest amenities. Air conditioning, satellite/cable TV, shower, fan, bathrobes, hair dryer, safety deposit box, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities are just some of the facilities. Outdoor bathrooms afford complete privacy and luxury and balconies with day beds are featured for guests to relax and to embrace the breathtaking panoramic views of the ocean, east coast of Bali and the magnificent silhouette of Mount Agung.Lulur Spa features traditional Balinese massage as well as relaxing seaweed beauty treatments. Batu Karang provides a Day Lounge with a DVD player, library and internet stations, Gym, Steam room, 3 swimming pools, Day Spa, Conference room & facilities, movie theatre, restaurant, café & bar, buggy transport within the resort and free WIFI. Local and international dishes are served at the in house restaurant, Muntigs Bar & Restaurant. Refreshing drinks and snacks are available at the swim-up Pool Bar also!With its convenient location, the resort offers easy access to varies world-class surf breaks; Playgrounds, Laceration and Shipwrecks and to many of the best dive sites in Bali. Batu Karang can arrange many recreational activities like snorkeling trips, diving, fishing, stand up paddle boarding, motorbike rental, bike rental, surfing trips and many others to ensure you have the best time during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious experience at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort And Day Hotel Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.