We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Baruna Restaurant

Pondok Baruna Restaurant
Main St | Jungutbatu Village, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent traditional Balinese cuisine with an extremely friendly staff. Chicken curry and mixed grill were excellent. Finish with chocolate brownie and ice cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    44
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced and fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm glad to see this restaurant has finally made it onto TA. It is locally owned and operated and though it doesn't have a view and can be a bit noisy at times it is comfortable and is friendly. We ate here a lot during our two stays on Lembongan in Feb. / Mar. 2012. The food was consistently good, and the staff Renaldo, Onyk and Made were entertaining and attentive. If only Putu would install WIFI they would have the whole package. We're looking forward to our next meal at Pondok Baruna!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“eat local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm always surprised at people's reviews of local restaurants when they eat western food and are disappointed. So their sandwiches and fries aren't great - how about their Indonesian dishes?!

The Opur Ayam (chicken curry) was delicious and the staff especially friendly. We returned later in the evening for their chocolate brownie - boasted to be the best on the island - delivered with such smiles and pride, who could blame them?

Enjoy it here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Lembongan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went here nearly every day for lunch and it did not ever disappoint. They have a very wide selection of Indonesian dishes, and they were all delicious. It was the best food we had the whole time were were on Lembongan. The service was great and friendly, and I especially loved the resident cats.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had a few lunches and dinners in this local restaurant during a one-week stay on the island. Food was always very good and the staff was nice and friendly,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pondok Baruna Restaurant also viewed

Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 

Been to Pondok Baruna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Baruna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.