We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but needs improve in service :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adi Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adi Bungalow to your Saves list
Adi Bungalow
Mushroom Bay, Lembongan Village, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
“Nice place but needs improve in service :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here with some friends and it was really nice. Nice place and unique. The bedroom and bathroom was okay. There is no something wrong with the property when we stayed. But when we arrive, I think the preparation was not fix. Because I saw the staff there confused to give which room to us. Breakfast was good but we need also the staff kindness not only giving. Want to come back again with the better situation. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 6 great days a Adi Bungalow. When we first arrived there was a little bit of confusion over our booking via Agoda, but we were soon in a bungalow (we changed to a different one 2 days later).
The restaurant is great, very good food at a very reasonable price. At times things can be a bit disorganised, but Agus, Adi and the rest of the family more than make up for it with their charm. We also went on a snorkelling trip arranged by Adi's which was great - swam with manta rays, sharks and dolphins!
I would definitely recommend staying here, it's a great option for Mushroom Bay. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our stay here was nothing short of warm and homely. The place wasn't perfect, but I suppose that's what gives this place even more character.

To start off - our main host Agus, the son of the owner is a very friendly and genuinely sincere man. He greeted us by names when we arrived and took care of us from day one till the day we left. He did not seem to want to overly try to please us, and conversation with him was very breezy. He left us to our own most of the time, only greeting us each time he saw us and was very on the ball should we need anything.

Everything was prepared and organized by him. He took care of our every request from our snorkeling trips to getting a universal plug for our room socket. And if we asked him anything, he was willing to take us somewhere or show us something. He went beyond his duties and treated us like family which was lovely. The whole island was brimming with people who were always smiling and willing to help so Agus was a prime example of that. The only one gripe that I have is just that prior to arriving at Lembongan, we did email him but we did not get any reply. When asking him about it, he did mention replying to us but it did not seem like we got it. But Agus seems to be a hardworking person so I doubt he'd skim on emails.

The bungalows/huts themselves are charming little gems with their own character. For starters, they're very kampung-like, everything from the way they was built with their sturdy wooden frames to their thatched roofs. Each single-storey hut has two small windows and a sliding door, and smack in the middle of the hut is where the bed is placed - which is also very comfortable. No thin mattresses here! We got the room for 950,000 rp for 2 nights through booking.com but as August is peak season - it might be cheaper during other months.

There's also air-conditioning and a fan inside, and it was very cold for us so we mostly kept to the fans. There's a mosquito net that drapes around the bed to keep the pests out and our blankets were made of 3 layers! A comforter, a thin sheet and a batik cloth - all of which kept us quite comfortable throughout the night.

They also have an outdoor bathroom which is fascinating and certainly a new experience for us but it got a little creepy at night and we unfortunately chose the two-storey bungalow so each time we needed to go - we had to climb these precariously steep wooden steps down to the loo. Of course if you got the one-storey ground bungalow (which I suggest you do!), the bathroom is just outside your bedroom.

Also, they provide a tiny side table and equally small hangers nailed to the wall - these can barely contain our stuff but we were happy to leave our stuff on the floor. The lighting isn't very good either - it's hard to see at night but we weren't bothered as most of the time we would come back from a long day and we'd just want to shower and go straight to bed.

There is also an issue of privacy - we could hear our French neighbors talking quite loudly on both nights and the curtains (made of a thin batik cloth) do not exactly cover the windows properly but again, we weren't bothered, just a few things that give the hut it's "feel". Also I think Adi's is quite new - and the rooms, despite being set in the kampung era, are unbelievably clean. I think it's quite hard to maintain that, especially how after 2 days we spotted spiders already weaving their homes in corners but Adi's manages to keep the room as clean as they possibly can.

There are only 5 or 6 of such huts, and it's easy to make friends with those who stay at Adi's. We were made to feel very at home during our entire stay and it was easy to negotiate lots of things, and prices and payment was very flexible.

There is no room service however (but it's fine, because you don't want a maid going into your room with your stuff on the floor making just one bed).

We felt very safe having Agus take care of all our arrangements on the island. He's also an English teacher at a local school which impressed us because we saw him at the restaurant in a smart blue uniform (so different from his usual t-shirt and berms!) and even though we have a very good grasp on the Indonesian language, he still prefers to speak to us in English.

Adi's is also in a prime spot (not beach front, but comfortably close) and is walking distance to most all the eateries nearby. Adi's itself serves good food but we like to get out and try different things and I have to say that a lot of the other places have excellent food as well.

You can rent a bike from Adi's for 50,000 rp while the other shops rent theirs for 70,000 rp a day. Also traffic laws (if any?) are very loose at Lembongan so if you’ve never ridden a bike before, Agus can teach you how to. My boyfriend unfortunately fell while learning and Agus kindly helped to apply medicine to his wounds. (If you're wondering, I ended up learning and riding the bike most of the time with my bf as the pillion rider haha)

There's a small lounge pool (newly built) that features a pretty statue of a lady pouring water in and it gives the place a breezy and tranquil ambient.

Overall the experience at Adi’s was lovely and even though their facilities weren't the best, but at the price we paid and being under Agus the whole time made this a five-star experience for us.

We might or might not return depending, but if you're looking for either a comfortable budget place, or a personal home-stay experience, you should be looking at Adi's.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground-floor bungalow if you're not staying in the family rooms, and email them prior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Set just off mushroom bay this small hotel has great rooms, a really good and cheap restaurant and excellent staff. Agus, who runs it, helped us organise a snorkelling trip to see the mantas which consisted of his friend with fishing boat and a good selection of snorkelling gear taking us out for the morning. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and clean. It is just off a road so get some traffic noise but not too much. Also, they were building a pool as we left which would really add to the excellent experience of AdiS

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Adi’s for three nights and really enjoyed our time here. The bungalow is very nice and clean, with AC, an outside bathroom and a nice little garden. The food at the restaurant/warung is also great and prepared by Adi’s wife, who is a great cook! We got to know the son of the familiy, Agus, who also manages the place. He is a great guy and very nice to talk to, so we had a lot of fun with him. Also, his English is very well, since he is an English teacher in the village nearby. He told us a lot about life on Bali and on Lembongan and also took us to a local wedding party of a friend of his, which was a great experience for us.

The bungalow is located right behind the beautiful mushroom bay, within a two-minute walk to the beach. We have seen many beaches during our three-weeks stay on Bali, and this is definitely one of the nicest ones! Also, there are many nice restaurants and warungs nearby, e.g. the café bali right at the ocean side on mushroom bay (nice place and food, but the staff was not nearly as friendly as at Adi’s). You can do some snorkelling in mushroom bay but also snorkelling tours with a fisherboat around the island, e.g. to chrystal bay where snorkelling is simply amazing. We also rented a motorbike from Agus (very fair price) and spend one day discovering the island and the mangrove forest.

If you have enough time, stay at least for 4 nights, 3 nights was not enough for us.

Thank you Adi and Agus for a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Adi Bungalows was a fantastic place to stay. We arrived at Mushroom Bay were greeted by a lovely man on the beach who suggested we stay there. The bungalow was very cute with aircon and a fan, with a private outside toilet, which was so good im going to install one in my own house. Everyone there is very laid back and amazingly nice which suits the island life of Lembongan. We got a motorbike through them and booked a snorkeling trip as well which was very cheap and a massive highlight. Its close proximity to one the prettiest beaches I've ever seen is also a great bonus. Great place to stay for a cheap and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Because it was low season we just turned up to the island and paid about half the advertised price h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at Adi's in Mushroom Bay on Lembongan after spending a week at Sanur. We caught the slow public boat direct from Sanur to Mushroom Beach (not the main beach of Lembongan). We had previously booked our room via email and Adi was very good in email responses. Adi's provides free transfers from the main pier but as we came direct to M/Bay there was no need so graciously they provided one to the main pier when we departed. Adi's is about 100m up the road from the beach, the bungalows are very new and in good condition. It would have been nice if they had met us at the beach or if someone had been at the bungalows as the only girl there didnt speak English but it didnt really matter as we spoke to Adi on the phone and were quickly in our bungalow. The bungalows are smaller than most other places we stayed but were very charming in their traditional format (lumbung?), they have small balconies out the front with fans and airconditioning inside, the bathrooms are outdoors which we really like.
Mushroom Bay is the nicest beach on the island with beautiful white sand and clear water (much nicer than Sanur) although the water was really cold (tides?) much colder than anywhere else we experienced and it is inundated with day trippers (sooo many boats) from Bali but once they leave its very tranquil.
Adi's was definitely the cheapest place to stay and eat in the immediate area with places on the beach much more expensive (and mostly empty). The food was cheap and the local dishes were good if not spectacular. We also ate across the road from Adi's (forgotten the name) and it was very good and the staff were very friendly.
The rates at Adi's seem to vary significantly depending on vacancy so it is probably worth the risk to not book in advance.
In summary, if you are going to stay at Lembongan and you are not there for surfing (stay on main beach) stay at Mushroom Bay and choose Adi's if you are on a budget as you will get a nice clean bungalow with a/c (and they installed hot water while we were there).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adi Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adi Bungalow

Address: Mushroom Bay, Lembongan Village, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Adi Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adi Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.