We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I've had in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Kenanga Restaurant

Indiana Kenanga Restaurant
Jungut Batu Beach 56, Bali 80771, Indonesia
+623665596371
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The french chef Clement Fouquere, will be happy to share his passion for fine cuisine, with over 15 years of experience in the most famous 3 stars Michelin restaurant(Alain Ducasse in Monaco, The Bristol in Paris.....)The restaurant is just in front the sea and you can see wonderful sunset!!!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food I've had in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've been living in Bali for almost 6 months and I can honestly say this is the best food I've had. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    67
    31
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected taste of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This food was truly a surprise-we never expected that foie gras could transport us to Paris while on a resort in Bali. This splurge is worth it-service, food, drinks and view were wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly food in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Down a little walkway, through gardens and bridges over koi filled pools, you find this gem - the best food on the island and a must visit to cap of your trip! Outstanding quality and service, the food may be the top end of the island but the price is still hugely reasonable and the food to die for - get there for sunset and look out over the beach while enjoying the steak....

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Michelin Efforts in Lembongan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A real effort to bring the standard of food and presentation on a small island. The beachfront setting is attractive and tastefully decorated in shades of mauve, within the Indiana Kenanga Hotel grounds. Reservations are a must so book ahead. Three meals later our opinion of the food is mixed. The fois gras starter was delicious, but the prawn sate on the lunch menu was flavourless. A small side serving of a homemade sauce would easily rectify this. My prawn salad would have been good except the prawns were not deveined and served with black intestine, certainly not michelin standards. The crispy barramundi is a good choice, the chicken average, the food is not of a consistent standard. The kitchen is much better when head chef is in attendance as is the service. Twice we dined and had to raise our hand to catch the attention of the staff who were too busy chatting amongst themselves. Never were we asked how our meal was or if we wanted anything or needed more water. Surely more staff training is needed to sell your product as michelin star standard. We expect more at these prices. Mention the M word and our expectations will be raised. Good effort though on a small island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were so looking forward to our dinner experience here as we are big foodies and travel alot. We were however super dissapointed with this restaurant. Firstly we tried to call for about 2 hours on and off to make a booking but it seemed the phone was off the hook. We then emailed, they replied promptly to say they were booked out for the whole night. Our villa manager suggested we go down there, we did and found an almost empty restaurant (this was 8.30pm).

The food was really good, great presentation (small meals but it was enough). The staff were un-attentive and took far too long to clear the table, never came over to fill our wine glasses nor did they ask how our meals were, even though there were about 5 of them just in a group talking.

Nice location but no atmosphere the night we were there.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Kenanga Restaurant also viewed

Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 

Been to Indiana Kenanga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Kenanga Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.