We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Surfing

Monkey Surfing
Jungutbatu, Bali 80227, Indonesia
+62 821-4614-7683
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 2010 we were the first surf school to open on the quiet island of Nusa Lembongan. Our certified surf/lifeguard instructors teach in small group to provide our students the best experience. Monkey standards is not to push your board but to help you catch the right waves on your own. For the more experienced we will guide you to the line up at the same time to enrich you the knowledge of surf culture. Wide-range surfboards for hire as well as SUP. Private lessons upon request. (Surfez en Francais !).
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a bit worried about surfing the reef breaks in Lembongan island as a beginner, but there is nothing to be worried about!!! You'll feel safe surfing with MonkeySurf and Chris & Planet will make sure you go at the best time of day and they give you reef shoes. Very professional and fun at the same time! And if you're lucky ýou'll get a nice surf picture out of it taken by a camera attached to a helmet attached to Chris' head! :) Lembongan island is a fantastic place to visit, peacefull yet enough to explore. Fantastic views, also while surfing. On the pic you'll see the break in the far left (don't worry: you don't have to paddle all that way, you take a boat), Jungutbatu village down below and Bali's Gunung Agung in the distance: gorgeous! So go there and go surf with Monkey Surf!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, Professional, Safe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a week in lembongan Monkey Surfing made our week - totally recommend them! We rented SUP from everyday. Also went out surfing one day with Chris. It was brilliant! All from Monkey Surfing are friendly, fun and really professional. The equipment is great too and you feel totally safe with Chris out on the reef. Mark has great photos too :-) .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lembongan, Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BLOODY BAGUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Surfing with Chris and Planet was bloody bagus!
Chris and Planet are two professional surf teachers happy to share their love for surfing.
They are patient, enthousiastic and fuuuuuuuuuun!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had my first ever surf lesson with Chris. Basically in a matter of 2 hours, I learned on hard ground how to stand and balance myself on the board to actually catching/riding several waves. He's good in observing which area to go to surf whilst keeping a good eye on you and correcting you. Thanks Chris!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had my first Surf lessons with Monkey Surfing.
They are simply excellent, I would highly recommend them, even though I still suck at surfing ;-)

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Surfing also viewed

Nusa Lembongan, Bali
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 
Nusa Lembongan, Bali
 

Been to Monkey Surfing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Surfing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.