We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boa hospedagem no paraíso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Kenanga Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Indiana Kenanga Villas to your Saves list
Indiana Kenanga Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Boa hospedagem no paraíso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly staff! Nice food! Honeymoon rooms! Paradise! We have been visiting lembongan every year , this one we ll be back! Manager wayan is the best! Smiling, helping! Trusting!!! Ship wreck is right át. The front! Clear water surfing and breakfast after! No words!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    47
    16
    16
    5
See reviews for
59
145
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i recently spent 7 nights at Indiana Kenanga and had an absolute dream experience. to start with the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpfull, and one of the french owners, Veronika, was regularly present, always very friendly and checking up to see that i was having a great time. The food was great, especially the evening dinner menu. The 'Fishermans Dish' is probably the most original, exotic and delicious seafood dish i have ever had the pleasure of enjoying and is well worth trying out. French chef and owner Clement is an excellent cook, a very friendly man and enthusiatic about his restaurant and hotel.
Our days were filled with making the most of the great activities on offer such as snorkelling, surfing and trips to the mangrove forest.
i would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone loooking to turn their idea of a dream tropical holiday into a reality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed for 11 nights at the Indiana on Lembongan as part of our brief tour of this magical part of the world.

Our suite was number 3 which is near both pools, the restaurant and the beach. At night we would retire to the very comfortable bed and drift off to the soothing sounds of frogs and geckos chirruping away in our own little private garden and wake in the morning to the sounds of doves gently cooing on our roof. It is a very relaxing environment .

We spent our time surfing and snorkeling at several superb sites around the island and eating well both in the local and the hotel restaurants. The hotel restaurant, although expensive compared to the rest of the island, serves superb and beautifully presented food which would cost at least twice as much in the uk . We considered it extremely good value.

We can thoroughly recommend the Balinese massage offered at the spa and there is a new spa building being built and judging by the stunning carved wooden entrance and a brief look around the part built interior it is going to be fabulous place.

We cannot thank the staff enough for making our stay such a delightful experience.They were always cheerful and attentive and didn't laugh too much at our rather lame attempts to converse in their language.

We would particularly like to thank the manager of the Indiana , Kayan .He is a charming and thoughtful man who was always very courteous and helpful and he spent some time explaining to us ignorant westerners something of the beliefs, customs and governance of the island.

If we could we would give this hotel a 4.75 rating. This is only because of the fact that the furnishings and bathroom fixtures and fittings are starting to look a little tired, a small criticism of a great little hotel.

If you like snorkeling , surfing and risking life and limb on a moped (great fun really and the best way to see the island) then Lembongan is a great place to visit.
While on Lembongan if you are looking for a great little hotel with a slightly different and very chilled style then we would recommend the Indiana unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayan007, Front Office Manager at Indiana Kenanga Villas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review is . Thankful and pleased to know you have passed a great
moment to stay in our Villa.

I realize you got the value of satisfaction on your holiday due to the great ambiance of this island ; beauty, calm , culturally , respectfully . Your desire is fully realized !

I agree with you to spend the holiday in other country not only sleeping in nice hotel nor eating the 'miam miam' food but to see, learn his life, respect his culture without critique is more important. Exchange the ' savoir-connaitre' is one of example. I can adapt and give you the right information personally as I had lived and studied in Europe .

Thank also for your great story about your small village' Commo' and its life. It's so interesting !!! Hoping to see you in another time.

Kind regard,

Kayan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights in Indiana during our honeymoon, we had a suite right next to the pool and restaurant which was an ideal location.

Our suite was very comfortable with a large double bed, bathroom and shower. We also had an outside deck with table and chairs. The suite is nicely decorated but the room is very dark even with all the lights on.

Breakfast that was included in our package was very limited either fruit and toast or fruit and eggs every day served with juice and tea. We were given option of pancakes when we asked but we felt we shoul have had the full breakfast menu available to us.

The food for lunch and dinner was outstanding quality the French owner/head chef should be commended for the quality of the food...compared to the rest of the Island the food is expensive but quality of the food was far greater than any where else we ate.

The staff were reasonably friendly but appeared very tired and unmotivated due to what appeared to be working very long hours. Simple requests had to be repeated constantly through out our stay such as milk with tea, candle to keep away the flys...just little things but when it happened constantly it began to become quite annoying.

During our stay flys were a constant nusance particularly by the pool and during breakfast apparently they were worse than usual.

Lembongan had a very laid back atmosphere compared to the mainland when we ate out most times food would take over 1.5 hours to be served.

Mushroom bay is worth a visit...snorkling in crystal bay was amazing...snorkling off the mangrove forest and other bays were very rough and difficult so just stick to crystal bay.

If you have not ridden a scooter before I would advise you not to try in Bali... the roads are very dangerous with no rules of the road applied...I managed to fall off and gave myself some nasty cuts after 5 minutes and gave the bike straight back!!

Lembongan is best suited to Surfers and divers...you can see all the sights within a couple of days...unless you surf, snorkel, or dive I would not advise a long stay!!

Room Tip: Suites nearest the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while scuba diving on Lembongan. Overall we were quite happy with the hotel.

First off it's a true boutique hotel. The rooms and hotel in general are painted and decorated in an artistic and modern fashion. There are many nice little touches from the statues to the plants, to the pools that make the place very nice and very comfortable. This comes with a price though as the hotel is significantly more expensive than many other hotels which are immediately next door. so if you are willing to sacrifice a little luxury you could save on the cost. If you want a high class, beautiful hotel, then this is your better choice.

The restaurant is headed by a high quality French chef and the cooking shows it. We enjoyed the desserts (chocolate fondant is a good option) and a very good hamburger. Other people on the island told us it's the best restaurant, and the prices are overall not bad (way cheaper than anything in France). Worth noting though is it seemed to me like there were too few Indonesian options and I often preferred to go next door or to other restaurants to get gado gado, nasi goring, or other more local dishes. The sate came with a teriyaki sauce instead of peanut sauce even :-/ very non-Indonesian. likewise the breakfast you get each morning of fried eggs and toast, though good tasting, wasn't as local (Indonesian) as I would have liked.

Another slight negative (though not the hotel's fault) is that the beach is really not very nice for swimming or even sun bathing. It's very rocky, there are many seaweed farms, and other junk in the water (that are not fish) for a few hundred meters. So if you want to snorkel you honestly do need to pay someone to give you a ride to where you can see fish. A note of advice, we did scuba diving instead of snorkeling and it was truly fantastic so consider that the better option.

One last sad note was the hotel gave us no flexibility in our check out time. We had a boat going back to Bali a little past check out time, and we were not allowed to check out at 1-2pm. this would have been really nice of them to grant us because we were out scuba diving and would have liked to shower off the sea water prior to getting back to Bali.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Between a beachfront lined with backpacker hotels, diving schools and some local businesses, Indiana Kenanga looks the odd one out being a luxury accommodation. This however also gives the charm to Indiana Kenanga as Nusa Lembongan is a simple island with slow pace where you are to relax, dive or surf, but you can do this with the modern comforts of this hotel. We stayed in the new bungalow area and although I can symphatize with some of the reviews that the older bungalow area has more atmosphere, I think it is not a reason to write a negative review, as it just needs some time for the gardens to mature. The bungalows itself are spacious enough, clean and of good quality. The restaurant serves some great food which compared to the big resorts is excellent value for money. The thing you need to be aware of about the restaurant are: (i) make a reservation for dinner in advance to avoid disappointment as there is only one shift, (ii) the opening times for the kitchen for breakfast, lunch and dinner as certain hours there is no food service available, (iii) the breakfast has two set options, anything outside these set options (even if you like to replace one item with another item from the card) has to be paid for separate. Other things to note are the early wake ups from all the chickens and coqs in the surrounding areas and that with low tide there is no swimming in the sea as there is about 100 - 200m of exposed reef and seaweed farming area in front of the hotel (like many other areas of the island). But don't let that hold you back staying here, as the food, accommodation, views from the restaurant and staff more than compensate this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and really enjoyed our time there.

Pros:
-The food at dinner service is exceptional and we ate there most nights as there isn't many great options for restaurant dining on the island. It's expensive but worth it if you are looking for quality food.
-Lovely clean resort and a nice pool area.
-Seems a new, bigger pool area is soon to open which looks great.

Cons:
-Service/staff friendliness. We stayed in two other parts of Bali and were blown away by friendly, attentive service. At Indiana Kenanga it was clear that this wasn't the case, the staff work long hours (people there at 11am were still there at 10pm) so maybe this is the issue, but they clearly couldn't have cared less! This took away from our experience for sure which is a shame.
- Breakfast wasn't great. As part of our rate breakfast was included and we were given a voucher at check in which entitled us to either fruit/juice/hot drink and eggs or fruit/juice/hot drink and toast. After disappointing stale toast on the first and second day I asked were there any alternatives. We were told we could have pancakes instead. This was good but I wonder why ALL the options aren't set out from the start so people can have a nice breakfast. Compared with the other places we stayed (marketed as the same type of standard, same prices etc) where Eggs Benedict etc were on offer breakfast here was a bit of a let down.

Tips:
-4 nights on the island is more than enough, we did more and could definitely have moved on after 4 nights.
-If you need laundry done, go to the laundry just behind the hotel (signposted), it's so cheap and much better value than the in-room laundry offerings.
-The spa 4 mins walk down the main road is excellent (I think it begins with a K but can't remember the name), the hair spa is well worth getting and the treatments are really good value.
-The bar next door is good value and perfect for sunset beers
-Snorkeling in Crystal Bay is fantastic, would give the Mangroves a miss, no comparison and another hour in Crystal Bay would be a better use of your time.
-Only rent a moped if you are competent, we saw wounded tourists and it's not worth it.
-Mushroom Bay is a lovely place to spend a day on the beach
-Bring earplugs for night time, you have animal noises in surround sound due to the island's cockerels etc!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Indiana Kenanga Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Kenanga Villas

Address: Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#2 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Indiana Kenanga Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant boutique hotel luxury spa & yoga on the beach situated on Nusa Lembongan, 16 suites with private garden, 2 Villas two bedrooms with private swimming pool, 1 restaurant creperie and 1 restaurant gastronomic with French Chef.A big area for spa and yoga.............. Many activities directly from the hotel, paddle, diving, snorkeling, fishing, surf, motor bikes, etc....Possibility to organize packages for group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Indiana Kenanga Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Kenanga Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Kenanga Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.