We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on Lembongan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Kenanga Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Indiana Kenanga Villas to your Saves list
Indiana Kenanga Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oasis on Lembongan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Originally booked a suite but changed to a villa after a few days. The villa was wonderfully private and we loved having our own pool. Food was great but thought the menu could have been varied a little over our stay (7-8 nights). Staff were great. Wi-Fi doesn't work in the suites or villa's which unfortunately means trips to the public area (restaurant/bar) to gain access.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a villa - wonderfully private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    47
    16
    16
    5
See reviews for
59
145
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were sadly disappointed after seeing the website and reviews are expectations were quite high.
The room has lovely decor but the bathroom doesn't have adequate ventilation so there is a smell of the drains. We also had an unexpected visitor a rat in the room but we managed to get it to leave without. The pool area is nice.
The restaurant in the evening when the French chef is there is transformed. The service becomes good and the food is exquisite. During the day the food is poor and the cocktails are worse. We tried different cocktails at sunset...all of them poor. Even the carrot juice is watered down. The coffee at breakfast was undrinkable although the evening before was good.
All in all it was way below our expectations except for dinner in the evening which was excellent. Compared to the other places in Bali we stayed I think you could find better value for money.

Room Tip: Book through website to get a fixed price....avoid restaurant during the day but definitely recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayan007, Manager at Indiana Kenanga Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We are fully sorry that you have left with a such a negative impression. We'd have found an alternative room for you for the issue of smell produced in the shower if you could signal us at the moment. Our sincere apologies for the visit of a rat that we never hope. We always do any efforts for minimizing this creature on this rural area. We can assure you that it's a rare case due to its appearance only in certain period.

Our Bar and restaurant team are always more than happy to service our clients. I would personally like to assure you that all cases raised are being dealt with to ensure this kind of service will never be repeated.

Hoping there would be a second chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August at the end of our trip of 11 days in Java and 10 days in Bali. What a welcomed stay! We really felt relaxed and in pure comfort. It's a small place but with all the comforts you could want. The "villa" was tastefully equipped, clean and comfortable. The food may seem a little pricey, but not if you take into account the quality. There are much less expensive offers nearby, but by no means do they meet the preparation and quality of this place--really outstanding!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A last minute decision had us booked into a private 2 bedroom private villa at Indiana Kenanga for a very good price. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and immediately made at home. The villa itself exceeded our expectations - much to our delight we had our own swimming pool, kitchen, dining area and a waterfall. The villa was well kept, the furniture was comfortable and the water temp for showers etc was always warm and the fridge seemed to have a never ending flow of chic-peanut butter oreos!
Beautiful and perfectly located out the front of Shipwrecks surf break. Clement and his team have done a wonderful job with this place and we hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: For last minute bookings use the Trip Advisor search for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is the second time we have come here and plan on coming back every year.....
Rooms, service, food, location, surf are all amazing. There are many "4 star" villas/hotels here and most of them are seriously run down such as Coconuts, Nusa Lembongan Resort etc.
Indiana Kenanga is in the best location on the island too. Yes it does cost a bit more but relative to other tropical island destinations it is fantastic value. Imagine the cost of staying in a place like this in Fiji, Tahiti etc....That's why we keep coming back.
Keep up the good work!
Regards
Alan Oshlack
Port Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You may hear the odd rooster at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clement (the French owner and chef) has done a superb job with this place. We walked up and down the beach looking for other restaurants and there are none that compare to the Indiana. From the moment I booked our stay, I was emailing with them for arrangements for our 10-month old and they were so responsive and accomodating. The restaurant is right on the sand and serves amazing world-class cuisine. Our room was so nicely decorated and well-kept. The whole feel of the place is a peaceful ambiance, away from the over-crowded hussle and bussle of Bali. He did a wonderful job creating an escape, that is high end without sacrificing character or mass-producing a resort. It is right on the wave Shipwrecks so for any surfers who bring a wife in tow, this is perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are like their own private villa with a garden area. They are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived here after 10 amazing days in Gili T and Lombok. We were in a two bedroom villa, and our initial response was that this place was a bit dark and perhaps depressing. However it grew on us. The decor is unlike any other place we have stayed in Bali as it is decorated in darker colours so the rooms are not particularly light. However once we appreciated the different style to other villas in Bali, we settled in to it. For some people it might be exactly what they are after, so don't let this put you off, it just wasn't our style? It was very clean, big fluffy towels, and great pool villa. Our major issue was the "extra" bed, which cost US$30 per night, and was totally uncomfortable.
The restaurant, with resident french chef is renowned, excellent but not cheap. We ate there one night and went out the other two.
Would recommend that they have a more local/affordable in house menu for guests, because eating here is definitely a "one off" dinner.Unless they are happy for guests to go out elsewhere.
Whilst located on the beachfront it is quite a way from the "hilltop" accommodation and restaurants, but we happily walked each day and enjoyed the experience along the sea wall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indiana Kenanga Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Kenanga Villas

Address: Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#2 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Indiana Kenanga Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant boutique hotel luxury spa & yoga on the beach situated on Nusa Lembongan, 16 suites with private garden, 2 Villas two bedrooms with private swimming pool, 1 restaurant creperie and 1 restaurant gastronomic with French Chef.A big area for spa and yoga.............. Many activities directly from the hotel, paddle, diving, snorkeling, fishing, surf, motor bikes, etc....Possibility to organize packages for group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Indiana Kenanga Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Kenanga Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Kenanga Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.