We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & elegance triumphs over common sense & practicality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Kenanga Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Indiana Kenanga Villas to your Saves list
Indiana Kenanga Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Style & elegance triumphs over common sense & practicality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A small place, right on the beach. very nice rooms & beautiful thick towels and nowhere to hang them..
Coffee & tea is provided in the room with tiny, elegant , (useless) cups. Modern stone bathrooms and style-ish shampoo containers which will smash in a thousand pieces if dropped.
The meals were beautifully presented by the chef but maybe the portions are not big enough for a hungry
teenager. Fortunately, next door is the Shipwreck cafe where the food is good, plentiful and cheap.
Breakfast was not included but (again) available next door at half the price.
Nusa Lembongan is a great place and if you appreciate expensive style and elegance, stay at the Indiana

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    49
    18
    16
    6
See reviews for
62
150
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was surprised to hear that some people had a less than perfect experience at kenanga..

Firstly, The chef Clemant's cooking was amazing, I myself have coeliac disease and lactose intolerance and because all of the food is made fresh it was easy for him to tell me gluten free options! Not only that he visits each table after dinner to check how the meal was and introduce himself to all of his dinner guests ( dinner was often booked out), a very personalized service that I'm not sure we receive enough these days.

Secondly the AMAZING location, very convenient to waterfront and easy to get around island from there on a bike or the hotel can organize a pick up. There is a surf break straight out so for the ladies who want to relax while the man is surfing the hotel offers day beds literally 5 meters from waters edge!! And the staff as always are there at your service with wine or whatever you like! the rooms themselves are tidy and very nice and worth every dollar we spent, right near the main pool off the back of the waterfront restaurant..

Lastly but not least the great staff there!! We wanted to extend our stay there and the managers more than accommodated us after originally not having space, the staff were very polite and always made sure everything in our villa was tidy and running perfectly.. Majority of the staff knew us by first name by the time we left!

It might also be of interest to you that I had the best massage I've ever had in Indonesia at Indiana kenanga! I will definitely be returning over and over!

Lauren and MR Troy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just returned from our 2 weeks honeymoon and Indiana Kenanga at Nusa Lembongan was the highlight of our Bali trip. This island is so beautiful with amazing beaches, picturesque scenery and yummy food. But the best meal we had at Indiana Kenanga. Talented French Chef and owner Clement made us very welcome and kept us entertained throughout the entire stay. He is always to hand to recommend island activities and making sure you are been taken care off.

We booked a one bedroom suite for a couple of nights followed by a 2 bedroom villa for the remaining 2 nights. After one night of staying in their beautifully decorated one bedroom suite with an amazing shower and private garden we got upgraded to the 2 bedroom villa. The space is huge and the private plunge pool is just heaven.

The staff and Clement are very helpful and accommodating. It’s so much nicer staying in a small boutique hotel as you get to know everyone and it feels more welcoming. We had some very entertaining nights with Clement and his staff and would certainly recommend Indiana Kenanaga to anyone looking for an unforgettable, peaceful stay on Nusa Lembongan. Hiring a scooter is a must to explore the island!

Should we decide to return to Indonesia/Bali, Indiana Kenanga would be on the top of our list.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the 2 bedroom villa. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We just loved our stay at Indiana Kenanga. We chose a 2-bedroom villa with private pool. It was beautifully appointed, tranquil and very typically Balinese.
But for us the standout was the restaurant overlooking the lagoon. Wonderful breakfasts, perfect lunches and memorable dinners, created by Clement, the talented young French chef. His garlic soup with prawns was unforgettable!
We found the staff at the resort attentive and friendly, but never precious. When the time came to leave, the high tide and unusually large swell made it impossible for our small boat to collect us. Without batting an eyelid, the manager Kayan and one of his gardening staff threw our bags, and then us, onto the back of their motorbikes and took us to a safer landing place at the other end of the beach. Great service and great fun.
We will certainly return and can recommend the place wholeheartedly.
Roscoe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but for a special treat splurge on the 2-bedroom villa. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Today, 24 March 2011.. We came for massage, looking the place for dinner and also villa for another night to stay.

My wife (Indonesian) meet the guy in reception, asking him if possible to see the villa but he told us check first the price through internet. For sure, we already check the price and the review in trip advisor before we came, that's why we go to Indiana Kenanga. Because we want to stay in 2 different villa. When we came, we not said our budget because we already know the price.

When we are waiting for massage, there is 2 western couple came for see the room and not more that 5 minutes the reception go with them for see the room.

we choose massage first... And, the massage is not good, the price is expensive, looks like same with the massage in the beach.
We already go to a few good spa in Seminyak, with that price we can get the very good package and the therapist is very good. The therapist not offering us for shower and no shower gel and no hot water.

So, we cancel to have dinner there and also cancel to see the villa (because the staff the we asking before maybe forgot that we asking to see the villa)

Maybe, michelin not came to Lembongan for the star.


Massimo
sindaco.massimo@gmail.com

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayan007, Manager at Indiana Kenanga Villas, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanking so much for your visit and appreciate for the review.

We knew that you visited our resort early in the morning around 10.00 am where it's the first day of opening our resort after having renovated 2 weeks. We told you that we have to clean and arrange the Villa for a couple hours before showing it. We meant it would look nice to you. While waiting it, you decided to have a massage and we agreed to look the villa after it.

We didn't realize you felt unsatisfied with the massage even though in the room of massage, there is always a shower and soap. We have talked with our therapist to clear it.

If you have another time to visit our resort, we would give you free for massage and , of course, we 'd make better to reach our 'Michelin ' style. Thank again for your positive idea.

Wayan Kayan.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My friend and I had such a lovely time at Indiana's! We were blown away by the menu (the scallops and the chicken bonbon especially!!). The attention to customer service was flawless. Clement (the young French owner) provided a laid back atmosphere while not denying his guests the experience of an exclusive, five star setting. The rooms are big and private with beautiful detailing. I am a huge lover of a giant bathroom and these were fantastic (giant showers)! Lembongan is the prefect island to escape from crazy Bali, as an Australian I cannot say the last time I went to Bali and actually got to see a tropical paradise. 20 minutes away, Lembongan is where I will be heading from now on on my Indonisian holidays and I will be definitely be booking Indiana Kenanga!! Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: big villas with private pools avaliable to groups!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I will choose somewhere else to stay as power was out all night - i went looking for staff nearly 6 times but nobody around. Started about 11pm and didn't go back on until after 10.30am. When power did work the internet connection is useless so if you need to work while on holiday, like many people do these days, this place isn't for you. Terrible sleep and very difficult to cope with a 1 year old baby with no air-con, no fan - no electricity whatsoever. Management felt it appropriate to offer a free breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience but this is insulting given the price you pay for these rooms. The check-in process was easy and efficient. We were escorted quickly to our villa which had some good points but very poor points as well. The ceiling fan barely worked and the air-conditioner kept the room from getting too hot (when there was power). The villa was equipped well in the bathrooms but the kitchen was bare. The gas bottle wasn't connected to the stove but it didn't matter anyway as there was nothing to cook with. We had no way of heating up a baby bottle and our holiday quickly turned to stress and frustration. Lembongan is a beautiful island with many alternates in the similar price range: choose carefully.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayan007, Manager at Indiana Kenanga Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We so appreciate for your comment and sorry for the inconvenience.

At 11.00 pm, there was a problem electricity in one of our warehouse which almost burned the whole building. It caused by the inappropriate installation of cable. Our technician had taken initiative to handle it by turning on the generator, unfortunately, it didn't work as the main cable cut off. In the darkness, we could not fix it and our hotel is located in a remote area. The guardian and staff who charged that night have tried to explain for the guest . Then, the next morning we can fix it by saying so sorry for all the guest for discomfort by offering them a compliment free breakfast or massage in Spa. Most of them did understood except you.

However, we would appreciate to have the review which can upgrade our management.


Kind regard,

Wayan KAYAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Indiana Kenanga Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Kenanga Villas

Address: Jalan Jungut Batu Beach 56 | Klungkung, Bali 87500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#2 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Indiana Kenanga Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant boutique hotel luxury spa & yoga on the beach situated on Nusa Lembongan, 16 suites with private garden, 2 Villas two bedrooms with private swimming pool, 1 restaurant creperie and 1 restaurant gastronomic with French Chef.A big area for spa and yoga.............. Many activities directly from the hotel, paddle, diving, snorkeling, fishing, surf, motor bikes, etc....Possibility to organize packages for group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Indiana Kenanga Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Kenanga Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Kenanga Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.