We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the Bali rat race” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playgrounds Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nusa Lembongan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playgrounds Resort
Save
You added Playgrounds Resort to your Saves list
Headland promenade, Jungut Batu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Jan Juc, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Away from the Bali rat race”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our family of 6 had an amazing stay at Nusa Lembongan. Playgrounds Resort was in an ideal location for surfing and for keeping an eye on the surf breaks. We stayed in the family bungalow which consisted of a master bedroom with ensuite, a day bed in the living kitchen area (which one of the kids slept in) and a 2nd bedroom which contained a double and single bed. We had our our own small plunge pool but the kids preferred to swim in the main pool (not a huge pool either - but not many people using it) at the bottom of the resort. Our five year old wasn't so keen on the pools as he couldn't stand up in either of them. Both pools have shallow steps all the way round. The manager was extremely helpful, the only downfall was that we had no safe in our room and we had a substantial amount of money, due to the lack of credit card facilities on the island. You hand over your money and passports and the manager disappears with it! I forgot to retrieve money for dinner one night - you can only access the 'safe' from 9-5pm but they bent over backwards to enable us access. My one other tip would be to keep an eye on the mini bar. We didn't drink any beer from the fridge but were charged for it, but were unable to prove anything either way. We would definitely stay at Playgrounds again.

I loved listening to the locals playing on the main beach and working on their seaweed farms. Not being hassled to buy anything was also a bonus! The snorkelling was unbelievable. The best we have ever experienced. Such a thrill snorkelling with your kids. We explored the island and the adjacent one (accessed by a fun rickety suspension bridge) by motorbike. It was great to get a real feel for how the locals live.

We took a bit of a risk and turned up at Sanur without booking a boat, due to the expense of using one of the big commercial operators for a family of six. We found a company which was much cheaper (still a fast boat) and organised our own transfers to and from the port.

Loved Nusa Lembongan and loved Playgrounds Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Hi Linda W,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is greatly appreciated!
I wasn't aware of the incident with your mini-bar account and apologise for the mistake. Please contact me and I will refund the full amount.
Hope to see you at Playgrounds again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here at the end of September for 3 nights, we travelled with children 15, 12 and 6 my parents and my in laws. We had 3 rooms on the lowest level. One family room and 2 double rooms, all with a/c with a shared verandah overlooking the pool.
It was my parents first trip to Bali and I think Nusa Lembongan was the highlight of their trip.
The wonderful greeting from Silver, really was a taste of what was to come. We immediately felt at home from his warm, friendly, welcoming manner. We were spoilt by our rooms, in that a shared verandah just for our group really made the experince even better. The olds could escape into their rooms for some reprieve and we could all enjoy an afternoon beer and laugh together on the deck watching the kids in the pool. The local restaurants would deliver lunch to our rooms and the service from playgrounds was faultless.
Yes, the bathrooms could do with an upgrade as could the shared kitchen but i didnt spend much time in either. The fridge kept all our beer/ wine/champage and kids drinks icy and we asked for wine glasses from the bar and it was no problem.
The view was fantastic, and i know is even better from the higher rooms, but for my parents it was not possible for them to climb any higher so this was perfect and i thought the views were wonderful anyway.
My boys surfed everyday, we had a family snorkling trip, hubby and Mr 15 had a scooter day, and a different restaurant every night completed a wonderful start to our holiday. I could very easily have a week in the paradise.
Playgrounds was wonderful.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for the lower level a/c rooms. If travelling in a group they were ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Cannot believe the negative reviews about Playgrounds resort. We stayed there for four nights during Sept/Oct 2011 with my 13-year-old daughter, my girlfriend and her 13-year-old daughter we all had the best time. Rooms were fine and the view is amazing. Captain Nemo took us snorkelling, there are plenty of places to eat. Wish we had stayed longer Thanks to all at Playgrounds resort hope to return in the near future.
Amanda & Iz

Room Tip: A must ......dinner at sunset beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were also surprised to read the bad comments below because from the moment we got off the boat and were greeted by the friendly staff, we felt like we were in paradise. We stayed in a villa with a spectacular view and our own plunge pool and it was the perfect way to enjoy such a beautiful place. I wasn’t fussed on the freaky gecko noises at night, but that’s just Bali!
We extended our stay for a couple more nights and had to move to a standard room at the front of the resort and it was also very nice. Nothing flash, but not the horror stories some other people have written. Sounds like they were in the wrong place.
The view from the verandah was amazing and my husband was stoked to have such awesome surf breaks practically on his doorstep. We also loved that there was such a great choice of restaurants close by.
It’s probably more suited to younger people and families, but we can’t find anything to complain about. We liked the accommodation, loved the location and had heaps of fun with the other guests by the pool each day because it was such a great atmosphere. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We felt totally mis-led when booking villa coco. We expected a shared kitchen area and tv and got neither. It is in fact a bedroom that belongs to another villa and a basic one at that. How they can call a bedroom with no faciliites a villa is beyond me. The only thing between you and next doors family area is a door with a huge gap underneath. To make matters worse the guests next door did have a tv and a kitchen area and were very noisy. It was impossible to get an early night for an early start diving with Terminator on full volume booming under nthe huge gap under the door. Even if they had been a quiet family you would have still heard everything. The toilet and shower were actually in the bedroom and not enclosed. If you had an upset tummy you had to shove your partner onto the balcony and then just live with a smelly bedroom. Sorry to be basic but people need to know what they are letting themselves in for. We paid $100 for this room and it was the worst room for value during our stay in Bali. The room had one open shelving unit and no where to hang any clothes. It had an old noisy fridge stocked with drinks to purchase but glass to drink them from. There was a tiny shared kitchen area for the whole complex with a tatty and limited selection of mugs etc that felt a bit like being in a youyh hostel and a very small plunge pool, both at the bottom of approx 120 steps. Basic is the only way I can descibe Villa Coco - no glasses for cleaning your teeth etc, no bottles of complimentary water - no free wifi - extremely limited furniture - no safety deposit - no TV - all the things we enjoyed in Bali for considerably less than the $100 we paid for 'Villa Coco'
Did we have a view - yes, but I feel the owner / management of playgrounds is being greedy and mis-leading and banking on people paying for the view. For what they are charging it is a mistake to invest so little in the actual accommodation. Worn out towels and horrible sheets and our room was not serviced once in three days. All in all a huge disappointment. It's a personal choice and if the view means that much to you then book it, as the view was good but the we enjoyed far higher standard of accommodation in Bali for far less.
I did raise my huge disappointment at the time and no one was the slightest bit interested so frankly I'm not interested in any comments they have to make now. They ruined our 3 day stay in Nusa Lembongan and nothing can change that so think carefully before you book.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Hi merryweather29,

As Owner and Manager of Playgrounds, I have no record of your booking enquiry so I'm obviously concerned about your claims of being 'mislead' as you didn't actually book with us.
Our website has accurate descriptions of all our accommodation (including current photos) and does not indicate anywhere that Villa Coco has kitchen facilities or a TV. It is advertised (by us) as a studio suite which adjoins another villa.
I also have no record of a complaint during your stay and I'm very disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to resolve your issues at the time. We would most certainly have offered an upgrade in this situation and our staff are readily available for requests such as drinking glasses or fresh linen.
Our rooms are serviced daily, but due to limited resources on the island (power and water), it's not possible to replace the linen in every room - every day. I believe this is standard for most hotels and fresh linen is always available upon request.
I'm not sure which plunge pool you're referring to as the only plunge pools we have are inside private villas, but would like to note that there is a large main pool and bar at the front of the resort.
I am sincerely sorry that your accommodation did not meet your expectations (especially to the degree that it ruined your experience of Lembongan!) We urge all guests to book directly with us via our website so that we can offer you the best possible accommodation and ensure your needs are met during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maroochydore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We recently booked into Playgrounds Resort. Arriving on the island we decided to look around for accommodation and found Playgrounds. The only room available was a family room that was very tired with fan only and cold water and as others have noted not even a glass for cleaning teeth, but the view was great. We made an agreement with the manager to book the room for 4 nights and agreed on a price. After 2 days the delightful staff informed us that we would have to move rooms as the "Aussie boss" had booked our room to somebody else. Where in the hotel industry is that acceptable after a client has made a verbal contract to book a particular room. If we had been told that there was a possibility that we would have to move we would have looked elsewhere. We were utterly disgusted with our treatment and moved next door to Lembongan Reef. Having to move disrupted our plans for the day and we missed going snorkeling to rearrange our accommodation. We moved into a room with airconditioning & fan, hot water, fridge, beautiful timber furniture and great view with charming staff for less $'s. Our advice to anyone contemplating Playgrounds is just don't, go next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Hi Patti,
I sincerely apologise for the booking blunder. It was a very rare instance where the room was booked on Wotif.com at the same time that you checked in, and unfortunately I didn't get to inform the staff of the new booking in time. Obviously we valued you as our guest and wished to provide you with accommodation as promised (as also for the other family who booked), but I didn't realise that asking you to move to the room next door would inconvenience you so greatly. It was an honest mistake and not something that happens often at Playgrounds.
We've noted yours as the second request for drinking glasses to be provided in the rooms and have now done so. Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorebank NSW
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hey, how about this: NO hot water, NO breakfast,NO inroom fridge/TV,
NO furniture (to speak of, other than two bedside tables, one broken,and a
broken clothes rack), NO complimentary drinking water, NO privacy (see through
screen on balcony,rooms not sound proof), not even cups for brushing teeth, NO free wifi (connection available for ~ 4.50$ per 60 mins)?
And all this for 75.00$ a night, in Bali??? (well, Lembongan) Sounds unacceptable?
Well it is to us.
We booked ourselves into the playground resort after reading the mostly rave reviews.
by fellow tripadvisor members. It turned out to be a big mistake, because the room described as 'standard room" in the playgrounds resort brochure turned
out to be decidedly sub standard. Even to call it 'basic' as some reviewers did, does
not give an accurate reflection.
We have travelled Asia far and wide, and the room for the asking rate of 75.00$ is sub standard. Maybe we'd pay 30.00$ for it,because its rather 'backpacker' standard, but our backpacker years are over, playgrounds is selling itself as a resort and even most backpackers nowadays have a higher standard of accommodation.
We admit, the view is excellent, but it is a view from a (periliously sagging) balcony
of a substandard room.
We should have heeded the only accurate review of the W-Australian reviewer and just two other reviewers.
Well, we cut our stay short and head back to Bali. Might be back to Lembongan, which is quite charming btw, but certainly not to playgrounds resort.We checked nextdoors: Ware-Ware has private villas, fan only, including breakfast 55.00$, Lembongan Reef has rooms with aircondition, very nice furniture, fridge, including breakfast for ~75.00$.

.....and well, guess what?...if you want to cancel at Playground and have already paid,
you won't see any money back, even when you try and cancel weeks in advance!

Our advice: stay away, check the neighbouring properties, Playground resort is a rip off!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlaygroundsResort, Owner at Playgrounds Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Hi Amadeusm,
We have a wide range of accommodation at Playgrounds with our standard rooms offering basic facilities for the budget traveller in a spectacular location.
The rooms and faciltiies are accurately described on our website and complimentary inclusions are not standard on Lembongan.
We appreciate your feedback regarding maintenance issues and take this very seriously, however, we found nothing to be broken in your room nor 'perilous' as stated.
Our refund policy is also detailed on our website, and in this situation, a full refund was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playgrounds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playgrounds Resort

Address: Headland promenade, Jungut Batu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Playgrounds Hotel Nusa Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playgrounds Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.