We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mushroom Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mushroom Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Tanjung Sanghiang Bay | Nusa Penida, Klungkung, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Mushroom Bay is a small and very calm beach at Lembongan. It has a couple of hotels and restaurants, very little partying (suits us fine), and there are really nothing "going on" here. In other words, it is an amazing place when you want to get away from your busy everyday life. Being here was like being on a retreat.

Me and my husband stayed at another hotel while visiting Mushroom Bay, but we had several meals at Mushroom Beach Bungalows and we were very satisfied.

We're vegetarians (in fact, vegans) and were gladly surprised when we found a lot of vegetarian dishes in the menu. Very affordable and tasty! The staff was friendly and helpful, and even though some of them didn't speak English that well we all put on a smile and succeeded in communicate, so we got great vegan food. The tempeh burger was fantastic, also the red pumpkin curry and the green tofu curry.

We went here after breakfast a couple of times, had a fresh juice, and just relaxed (read books) until lunch time. Then we ordered food, and had coffee afterwards. The view from the tables are stunning.

Actually, we have nothing big to complain about. Would have been nice to have a glass of wine some time (there is wine on the menu, but the restaurant didn't have any), and the cocktails are a bit of overpriced, but despite of that (and that is really nothing important!) everything was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    25
    17
    17
See reviews for
17
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Mushroom Beach Bungalows are located on Mushroom Bay Beach, which is smaller and more upscale than Jungut Batu Beach, the main beach on Nusa Lembongan, but also much more beautiful and less crowded. This beach is approx. 20min with a motorbike from Jungut Batu Beach. Mushroom Bay Beach offers a small selection of hotels, resorts, restaurants, spas & watersports and things quiet down quite early at night, so it mainly attracts couples or people looking to sit back and relax. If you plan on going around the islands this is just as a good location to base yourself from as any other. Be aware that prices on Nusa Lembongan are generally slightly higher than on Bali.

Mushroom Beach Bungalows had excellent staff. The staff was always attentive and they happily helped us with anything we asked them for, the staff can arrange any number of activities for you. Our room was comfortable, clean and very nice. There were several different room options available with different facilities and rates. The prices were negotiable and we agreed on a very good price. The surroundings are very green, relaxing and beautiful. The restaurant has a good selection of both indonesian and international dishes, reasonable opening hours and a great view over the bay. There was free, reliable (but slow) Wi-Fi both in common areas and the rooms. Both towels and pool towels were provided. The spa was ok and priced accordingly, not cheap but not expensive either. A limited breakfast menu is included in the room price. Overall, Mushroom Beach Bungalows gave us very good value for our money, and is a very good midrange option.

The pool is a little smaller that the pictures makes you think and it did need some additonal cleaning while we were there, and this is really the only remotly bad thing I experienced during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at Mushroom Beach Bungalows 6 nights (from October 22th. to 28th.).
All the staff were friendly trying to help me all the time.
Ketut Lindung, at the front desk, was always guiding me with good information about the island and about the activities I could do daily. He made my stay easier by helping me in everything.
The hotel has an incredible view from the restaurant, swimming pool and also from some rooms (room number 2 is perfect for a sunset view!!!).
Excellent location, just few steps to the beach.
Rooms are clean and AC works well.
It is a good place to stay. Definitely I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading the reviews, we still booked this place for 4 nights.27th August. We will definitely be back, we loved it. We didn't expect 5 star dining, so we weren't disappointed. Location, views, we did expect, and even then our breath was taken away each of the 4 days we stayed. The staff were friendly to us, and we exchanged many smiles, hello's and chit chats. We hired scooters through the front desk and were told they were kept at mushroom garden villas, just down the walkway. Couldn't be more happier with the service. $6 a day with fuel, happy chap helped us each day. exploring Ceningan island going accross footbridge was a highlight, one im so glad we did. Secret bay and jumping area, AMAZING? We were so glad we chose this place after all, as everyone has different wants and needs, whatever you want more of, you can find it elsewhere, if some things are not to your liking or standard, but compared to the rest of the island we explored and checked on prices of accom,we were still happy. ... Sunset room (aircon suite) number 3 had the most amazing view morning through to sunset. Aircon works well, big bathroom, and outdoor shower was lovely. We took our own mozzie spray just to be sure and we were fine. Yes we saw the rubbish, around the island, and rather than feeling disgust we felt ashamed, that we, tourists are the ones that are causing such high use of bottles, cans, packets, plastic bags etc.and the island is still yet to catch up to these demands.... We did not want to leave, time slowed down for us while we were here, which was a nice change from legian and kuta. We will book direct with mushroom beach bungalows next time, for even better price... Ps. The bungalow, hut style accom with hammocks or day beds underneath, also looked really nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keiraville, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Mushroom Beach Bungalows, and though it's a great position, (up on a cliff, overlooking the ocean and still just a few steps to the beach) the staff are pretty ho hum, and the food is definitely worth a miss! The rooms were clean if a little tired looking, and the plumbing left something to be desired, but maybe this is all over the island. When we arrived the reception fellow was very dismissive, and couldn't find our booking, but when he finally did we were directed to Room 10 (the honeymoon suite) and this was just fine. The beds were mostly comfortable, the air con worked well.

Our major issues with the place were the staff - really hard to get a lot of them to crack a smile - and the food was pretty horrid. We only subjected ourselves to one breakfast there, and the rest of the meals we had elsewhere. Even a cup of tea was hard to get - when I ordered one to come to our room (only about 12m from the restaurant) it was stone cold by the time it arrived! The other horrible problem is the rubbish - as soon as you set foot outside the manicured grounds it's piled up everywhere, and both mornings we were subjected to the sweet smell of burning plastic.... Yes, I know this is a problem all around Bali, however this whole island was in garbage crisis - if you take a scooter ride around the perimeter you'll catch my drift.

On a positive note, the views are incredible and the snorkelling is easily accessible from this area (recommend you bring your own gear though, as hire stuff is hard to get). And some of the staff were really lovely - just not the ones that seemed to be in charge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL COAST
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

On our check in for 6 adults and 4 children our booking was "muddled up". However we overcame this hurdle and really loved the lumbung huts. But be careful some of the steps on the huts are a bit wobbly and dangerous. I would only recomend the huts for people under 50, it takes a bit of negotiateing the stairs, especially if you intend to have cocktails in the evening. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and Ketut was charming. Ketut in the office and reception did his best to fix up our muddled booking and we appreciated it. The front family lumbung was amazing and it felt like a Robinson Curusoe moment, with white sand, ladders, mosquito nets, and a thatched roof. It is a ten step walk to the most amazing beach, white sand, and sparkling azure water. It really is a great spot to "park" yourself, cafes, restaurants and watersports. Mushroom beach bay can be busy with day trippers, or totally quiet, so it depends on the day. I really thougtht it to be a magical place especially at the beginning and end of the day when either sun or moon sparkled on the water and the waved gently lapped at the edge. You will be relaxed when you leave. Beware the bill at the end and prepare for an epic battle with the owner, calculator in had, it is like a wii game, when he says $490 when you know full well it is only $290, it can go on for about 40 minutes. Thus the title! I felt like a lost 40 minutes of my life dealing with a Lemongan Basil Faulty!! Where was Sybil when I needed her? Probably out the back with her hairnet on, smoking an indo ciggie and rolling her eyes!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

nice bungalow, clean and quiet, good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mushroom Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Beach Bungalows

Address: Tanjung Sanghiang Bay | Nusa Penida, Klungkung, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mushroom Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Beach Bungalows Hotel Lembongan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mushroom Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.