We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaype - Quintamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaype - Quintamar to your Saves list
Hotel Kaype - Quintamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa De Barro, 33500 Barro, Llanes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barro
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic position and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

To look out of from your hotel balcony directly onto a beatiful sandy beach with rocky coves and little islands is something special. Our room had all the facilities we had asked for, three beds, walk in shower plus we received the balcony and view. The service and staff were excelent. While the breakfasts and main meals were not of the standard of the Parador we had just left, in terms of value for money they were very good. The hotel is in a fantastc position, on the beach, next door to the lovely town of Llanes and on a comfortable drive to the Picos or deaper into Asturias.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    23
    13
    23
See reviews for
37
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent a week with family and left before the end of our booking because the hotel is not worth the price, negligently taken care of, staff is indifferent and cooking dreadful. Huge noisy parking lot right between the beach and the main building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked four night and stayed only one. The location is outstanding but oh how they milk it. The rooms are very basic, we had only one wooden chair for two people !! I won't try to describe it but look at the photos. There was a beach kiosk under our window and the attendant played load music on a radio all day until about 9pm. The car park was full of beach visitors and hotel users had to just take their chance if there was a space. The food in the restaurant was terrible and the waiting staff very rude. The shower unit had been broken and the lever had been replaced with a great big screw bolt. Pipework and radiators had dirty flaking paint. We complained and the receptionist was quite put out that we didn't like the room. She said nobody else had ever complained in all the ten years she had been there !! We eventually left with no refund for our unused nights. I wasn't prepared to stay another night so we went and found another lovely hotel near Llanes for less money and a beautiful room, garden and pool. Visit the beach here and pay the hotel attendant for parking if you love the location ....... but don't stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We rented an expensive room:

1. No fridge/minibar in the room (not in line for a so called "Suite");
2. No safe in the room (not in line for a so called "Suite");
3. No air conditionning (not in line for a so called "Suite");
4. One lift only for the hall building;
5. Whereas other rooms had a balcony and door windows our Suite was located in the highest floor with only roof windows;
6. Food incredibly bad (!) (we had dinner out from the third day)(Gordon Ramsey would probably do a killing in their kitchen)(the closest restaurant belongs to the hotel so that we even wondered whether the hotel did not do it on purpose so that clients ended up eating next door and charged you twice in fact);
7. Service intolerably low, impersonal and unsympathetic;
8. No private parking for hotel's clients: the parking of the hotel is actually open (for a fee) to everyone going to the beach nearby; as a result, on sunny days clients end up parking their cars in a field nearby;
8. Garbage truck very noisy at night (3am every night);
9. 300ml of milk for a baby bottle charged on the room;
11. Despite substantial bill: nor thanks nor goodbye when you leave.
12. Extra service charge of 10% if you have lunch/dinner on the terrasse (!).

Incredible sandbeach and view -> hotel abuses from its location, despite the fact that the region is not so much touristic.
Reading definitely too positive comments on the hotel makes me very circumspect with regards to their objectivity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

These people take advantage of being right on the beach to be rude, incompetent, overpriced and dirty. My soviet era room smelled of feet! The quilt had stains on it, the girl on the reception desk was rude and a half, the "hotel parking" is not part of the hotel. Anyone can park there and all the local beach goers do just that. Good luck to you if you want to find a place!

The reheated frozen food on the menu of the day beggars belief this day and age! And the sheer rudeness and incompetence of the restaurant staff is worth the visit alone. It is an Asturian Fawlty Towers! I have no idea how these people are still in business. They obviuosly have too many customers. Any hotel in the south of Spain is twice as good for half the price and none of the attitude!

There are a ton of hotels and a lovely little hostel right next to this dump so go there if you want to be close to the beach. There are a million and one places to eat really well in the Llanes area also. I ate at the hotel restaurant for the first three days, and one day, after being ignored by the waiters for over 40 minutes, and then being given a look of sheer contempt by one of the waiting staff I decided to eat elsewhere. You don't need to go far for decent food. This place is a Gordon Ramsay Kitchen Nightmare type restaurant.

I would recommend it just for people to see how utterly dreadful it is, but the minimum stay is four nights, and that is 3 nights too many....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape verde
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

This hotel is without a doubt the best location I have ever stayed in during my many travels on this good earth. The staff here were very graful, from the janitors to the waiters and even the maids, despite their heads being too hot.

All of the staff know their place in the world and are more respectful than I could have asked for. They greeted me daily in their native spanish language, which was an enjoyable experience.

This hidden gem of the spanish mainland provided me with both a relaxing and elegant location to spend my days.

At the end of the day, all there is to say about this hotel is kaype laype yaype afk wewewewewewewewewewewewewewwe.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

This hotel was part of a package booked with Brittany Ferries along with the Plymouth to Santander Ferry crossing. We took the car and upgraded to an outside cabin and the whole deal was just over £300 including 4 nights B & B at the Kaype. We could not believe our eyes when we opened the blinds in our room and saw the beautiful sandy cove of Playa de Barro right below our balcony! As it was out of season we had been given a premium room at no extra cost. The room was tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds, plenty of storage space and a very good spacious bathroom with an all round shower enclosure. TV was not good if you don't speak Spanish but who needs TV with a balcony view to enjoy. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel, and the friendly cleaners were always around cleaning the corridors etc. The "nautical" style decor might be considered a little dated by some but we actually found that it worked because of where it is. The reception staff were very friendly and full of useful advice but some spoke limited English. Breakfast was a standard buffet style but we felt that it could have benefitted from the addition of some cheese and ham. Lunch was excellent value with the "Menu de Dia" at just 10€ for 3 courses including wine or water. If you are not a late eater it is better to go for lunch as the evening meals in Spain are served very late. We found many good deals on the Menu de Dia basis at restaurants and the most that we paid was 13€ each. For evening "balcony picnics" there is an excellent little Supermercado just along the road in Celorio. The beach at Barro is beautiful clean sand and shallow water so very safe for small children. Although it is very secluded and off the beaten track you are only minutes from a very good main road and motorway system for exploring the coast and the Picos de Europa Mountains. Would definitely recommend the drive up the Rio Deva gorge from Panes to Potes, where there is ample free parking giving time to explore all the little alleyway shops and enjoy a good lunch. On the way up the gorge take time to look upwards and you will see more birds of prey than ever in one place! For a base for scenic driving it is excellently placed, the only difficulty being in deciding which bit to see first. We would definitely go back for another low season visit. This was our first visit to Spain and we were totally unprepared for the spectacular scenery and natural beauty of this coast and the mountains. It is still very unspoilt with none of the trappings of mass tourism evident in the south.

  • Liked — The secluded position and friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Leaving!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaype - Quintamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaype - Quintamar

Address: Playa De Barro, 33500 Barro, Llanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes > Barro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaype - Quintamar 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kaype - Quintamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaype Quintamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaype - Quintamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.