We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brussels / Friendly & Convenient Hotel close to Avenue Louise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neufchatel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neufchatel to your Saves list
Hotel Neufchatel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Rue de Neufchatel, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Banchory
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brussels / Friendly & Convenient Hotel close to Avenue Louise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My party of four stayed in two rooms at the Neufchatel Hotel in Brussels and found the hotel to be conveniently located just 10 minutes’ walk from Avenue Louise through a nice area of attractive looking restaurants, bars and shops.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Although lacking air conditioning, and my room being unable to open its door-window due to opening on a fire escape, the room was equipped with a stylish heavy duty table fan, and so sleep was no problem.

The folks at reception could not have been more helpful. I had forgotten to request single beds but they changed us from the original double bed that we were originally check in to, to a triple room at no extra cost, despite the hotel being very busy. The breakfast buffet was of good quality.

I’d have no hesitation in recommending Neufchatel Hotel to others and staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
39
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneve
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Also enjoyed this small but cozy and lovely hotel. Our room (#23) was big (we were 2 adults and a teen), with big comfortable beds, high ceiling, lots of space for our baggages. Bathroom was not huge, but good sized, with super nice shower. Staff was super helpful and smiling, breakfast room stylish and nice, very good breakfast. Area full of options for food and shopping, and although not in the central ring, just 10min away from it by tram.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Yshay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

beautiful boutique hotel, priced right in a great location, you can even find parking close to the hotel, stylish rooms, good breakfast.
we stayed 3 in a room, was spacious enough.
highly recommend for tourists and business people

Room Tip: rooms to the back side are quieter, although, the street itself is quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had a quick overnight at this hotel during Art Brussels, and was very impressed with the service, the rooms, the breakfast and location. It's quite fresh and new and stylish if not fancy. It was close to lots of fun boutiques, galleries, and restaurants, as well as the tram line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a superbly designed boutique hotel. I've stayed here a couple of times and it is a little out of the way as I need to make my way to the EU quarter which is about a 50 minute walk a tram/metro ride. However it makes a nice change. The attention detail is charming, e.g. the monogrammed plates and cutlery. One time I had the basement room which opened into a charming garden. The cold breakfast is really good. If booked through a work travel agency it's worth checking that they have drawn the payment as both times they hadn't which meant that it was a bit if a faff checking out. Otherwise this is a good place to and there's loads of good restaurants nearby around St Trinite church and the surrounding streets.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Typical example of fake design/boutique hotel. Good to stay for a short city trip, but not for business travellers. Rooms are small, no chair to sit, bathroom way to basic and small. Neither facilities nor aminities. Front desk staff / owner not very friendly. Way overpriced. Not close to center at all, no parking. Do not recommend this hotel to expirienced travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is modern and in a nice area of town. Difficult to park at night. The room was very small but modern and clear. Towels are cheap and thin. Breakfast was good and there is a nice view on an inner garden. You cannot sit in that garden though. We booked the hotel on 16/1/14 for a stay on 26/2 and 27/2, we paid ���327 for 2 nights. When we went back on booking.com to check if there was a gym 2 days before our stay price was ���195 for 2 nights. The owner refused to do anything about it on the first night. It is only another member of staff who gave us ���100 off at departure. We leave with a feeling of having been overcharged.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Gérant at Hotel Neufchatel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message. First of all, we would like to tell you that is was a real pleasure to welcome you. We always do our best to make our guests fell comfortable and we hope it was the case for you.

For your information, the garden is closed now because it is winter time and it is a bit freezing outside.

About the price you found on Internet, we think it could be interesting to give you more information about the model used by the hospitality sector around the world.

Just as it is the case for flight tickets, train tickets, all-in trips, the hospitality sector has you use flexible rates to maximize the occupancy of the hotels.

- When a plane is gone, you can not sell the tickets for this flight anymore so you have to apply last minute rates.
- When the date of a food product is close to the expire date, you have to apply a discount to sell it.
- When you sell clothes or shoes, at the end of each season, you have to apply a discount to empty your stock.
- LaFourchette.com allows people in France to have dinner for up to 50% discount everyday because they need to maximize the occupancy of their restaurant.

There are plenty of examples and, depending on the product, you have different expire dates but as soon as this date is close, you have to apply last-minute rates. If you book/buy early, you are sure to have exactly what you want. If you wait to the last day or last minute, you take the risk to not have what you are looking for.

Having the feeling to have been overcharged could be understood but it is clearly a wrong idea to think that rates are fixed. In MANY sectors, variable rates (yield management) are applied everyday.

We tried to explain you all this during the check-out but unfortunately you just wanted to complain and were not open to any communication. By analyzing your TripAdvisor profile, we can objectively notice that 30% of your experience is "horrible" so I guess that complaining is maybe a hobby for you.

We give everyday our hearts and souls to see smiles on the faces of our guests. Even if your review is not fair, it will be a huge pleasure for us to welcome you again. Just send us an email and we will offer you our best rate.

Kind regards,

David Brainis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neufchatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neufchatel

Address: 34 Rue de Neufchatel, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neufchatel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated from January to August 2012, The Neufchatel Hotel welcomes you again in an elegant, cosy and surprising atmosphere created by the famous interior designer, Manuel Vraux de S. Laranjeiro.Experience the comfort and warmth of our unique 20 rooms equipped with high quality and design furniture, free highspeed WIFI, interactive LED TV and rain shower. Buffet breakfast and business services such as printing and scanning are also free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Neufchatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neufchatel Hotel Brussels
Hotel Neufchatel Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neufchatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.