We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manos Stephanie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Manos Stephanie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Manos Stephanie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Chaussee de Charleroi | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Saint-Gilles
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Hotel had a simple entrance, good service, nice simple breakfast and restaurant (included), a nice well done small and comfortable bar behind the reception and a room which I think was quite perfect, simple but very tasteful and lots of space.

I rate this room very highly among the many hotels that I have been in, I just enjoyed the space and simplicity with very high quality and taste.

We also used the small sauna and pool in the Manos 1er, which is about 200 mts away from manos Stephanie, we also enjoyed the relaxing, well organized but simple set-up. The only recommendation for the hotel is that in the pool/Jacuzzi had way too much cloro.

I would recommend this hotel for anybody coming to Brussels if you are looking for high quality in a quite and relaxing atmosphere. The only think to look out for is where in Brussels you want to be, the hotel is very close to shopping and many cafes and restaurants, and a 10 minute walk from Sablon but it was a long 30 minutes walk from the main square, very enjoyable walk but if you are mainly sightseeing, you may not want to be so far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole team thanks you for such a nice comment.
Looking forward welcoming you in a near future.

Best regards,

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
47
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a one off as we were staying in Brussles over night.

It probably won't help that I think Brussles, compared to other beautiful Belguim cities like Ghent and Brugges, is a complete waste of time.

The staff were sweet but the room, although clean was incredibly hot (even turning the radiator off didn't seem to mske a difference).

The room decor was frumpy and old fashioned to a worrying, 'is this secretly really dirty' level. The bathroom suite was green and the toileteries were terrible.

Breakfast was in a cute room with a nice looking tree in the middle, honestly one of the best elements.

If you must visit Brussels, stay somewhere incredible, it will soften the blow of the ugly city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you to for publishing your feedback on Trip Advisor.
As we try to constantly improve the service we deliver, we will transmit your comments to the concerned departments of our hotel.
We apologize for the fact that you felt not to be served as well as you expected as the policy of the hotel is to satisfy the expectations of the whole of our customers as much as we possibly can.
Each rooms of our hotel possessed its own charm and we regret that you haven’t asked for changing the room to have one which would be more of your convenience.
However we will transmit the message to the concerned department.
We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel to have the opportunity to offer you a service that will completely satisfy your expectations.
Warmest Regards.
Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

When you enter the hotel, you feel like having gone back in time 200 years. Definitely, it is not your hotel if prefer a more practical and modern style. Most of it needs a refurbishment, specially the elevators.
Breakfast is pretty good though. It is served in a closed terrace in a very relaxed environment.
Conclusion: I wouldn't repeat anyway, it's too much for me.
Finally, if you don't smoke, make sure you ask for a non-smoker room (if there's any). I forgot to say and the smell in the room was terrible. However, I was too tired to go down and ask for a a new room.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoker if you don't like the smell of cigarrettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
Manos Stephanie Hotel is a really smart choice for business, holidays or cultural trips and guests with an exquisite taste. Ideally located in the heart of Brussels, just yards away from the most fashionable shopping and business district (the prestigious "Place Stephanie" and "Avenue Louise"), the Hotel Manos Stephanie is a reflection of Brussels genuine hospitality.

Opened in 1992, this hotel occupies a converted townhouse, and most rooms have good sized sitting areas.


Best regards,

Merav Abergel
Assistant general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was due on a business trip in Brussels and based on the reviews on TripAdvisor I had decided to stay the Manos Stephanie hotel.

My room at the seventh floor facing the rear of the building was very quiet and I could sleep well. The room itself is spacious and clean, the bathtub/shower is big and with flowing hot water. The bed is quite comfortable and there is good radiator heating and a large TV screen in the room. The hotel and the room are very fine, yet somewhat outdated and require slight maintenance and refurbishing.

The daily breakfast is great and served on the ground floor in a large dining room. A waiter will take your room number and bring Coffee/Tea to your table. There is a large selection of meat cold cuts, cheeses, breads, eggs, fruit salad, yogurts and more.

I was unluckily with the restaurants in Brussels having three successive dinners that were below mediocre. I opted for the hotel's room service and surprisingly (and most uncommonly) the dinners from the hotel's kitchen were really very good.

The hotel is situated well close to the tram, metro and plenty of taxis. Opposite the hotel are several small restaurants, pharmacy, small supermarket and the obligatory Godiva chocolate shop.

The staff at the hotel is most courteous and helpful, speaking very good English. My thanks to David, Majid, Alexander and the others who made my stay comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: Take a room at a high-floor, away from the elevator and facing the rear of the building. It will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guests,

We really appreciate your nice comment , we will transmitted them to the concerned service and person.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in the Manos Stephanie, looking forward welcoming you for your next stay!!!

Best regards,

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay at the Manos Stephanie, we had been here 15 years ago, and absolutely loved it. So when we planned a second trip to Brussels, we knew where we wanted to stay. The Manos Stephanie is primarily a business hotel, so our room was 180€ on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday night, but only 110€ on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. That includes an amazing buffet breakfast - more on that later. That meant even with the current exchange rate, we were paying about $200 a night- an amazing value for a hotel in a lovely section of the city, walking distance to many attractions, 2 blocks to the Metro stop, and 1 block from the tram.
Our arrival was in the morning, after an overnight flight, way before check-in time. The gentleman at the desk quickly took our suitcases, welcomed us warmly, and apologized for not having a room right away. He said it would be just a half hour before he could have our room, and suggested either going for coffee, or having breakfast at the hotel. We went for a walk, and when we returned, our room was ready.
Our room was delightful, almost exactly, as it had been 15 years before. It was large with a queen size bed, desk and chair, 2 chairs and a table as well as a minibar that actually had a little extra room for our own purchases. The available items were good, and reasonably priced for a hotel minibar. The carpeting and upholstery was fresh and very attractive. The room was well lit and had 2 sinks outside of the bath with lots of shelves and closet space. It was easy to store our luggage. The bath was marble with a tub, but needed a little refurbishing. The marble was beautiful, but the grout and caulking was very tired looking, and the lever that directed the water to the shower head was quirky- would not always work well. The towels were excellent. The heating/ air-conditioning system worked well, and we had a lovely view out our window at the back of the hotel.
The buffet breakfast (which we remembered fondly from our previous stay) was served from 7am to 10am on weekdays, and until 10:30 on weekends. It includes an amazing amount of items - eggs (scrambled or soft/hard boiled), sausage, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt , rolls, croissants, sweet rolls, fresh fruit, bottled water, fresh fruit juice, cereal, doughnuts, waffles... And I probably missed a few. The server asks for your room number, and what kind of hot beverage you would like. Then he brings your little pot of coffee, tea... and warm milk to your table. The room is at the back of the lobby, with a very large skylight, very ample sitting, and is beautifully set with quality china and linen. The only problem is if you breakfast after 9, there might be no fresh fruit left, just the peels of melon, and pineapple to taunt you, and the bacon will be quite well- done. There might not be a choice of juice left. Even though the coffee was freshly made, it was not to our liking- but that could be personal taste.
We cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were all so helpful, spoke perfect English, and just could not have been any nicer. That was true of everyone we met during our 6 night stay. The free wifi worked perfectly, and was so nice to have. Unfortunately the computer downstairs is not hooked up to a printer, and we were not able to get our boarding passes printed despite the best effects of the staff.
As a side note, the 97 tram which is right outside your door, will drop you two blocks from Moder Lambic, (otherwise a 15 minute walk) which is a delightful Belgian beer bar - very well-rated. There are many good restaurants just a few steps away from the hotel, and lots, and lots, of wonderful shopping just down the street. Also down the block is a small supermarket, a bank, and a wonderful pastry shop.
As you can tell, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for receiving such a nice comment about our hotel.

We hope that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.
Your positive comment will be transmitted to the team.

Kind regards,

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

very surprised with hotel as does not get many really good reviews. we stayed in sept for weekend and thought it really good but we did get excellent price of Euro 100 including breakfast - buffet. Not too far from old town, 15 minutes walk but there is a lift so makes it quite fast. Also restaurants within 10 minutes. Good value, worth considering. We has a large room with some views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The whole team thanks you for such a nice comment.
Looking forward welcoming you in a near future.

Merav Abergel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We received a really spacious room for 95 Euros per night, well maintained and clean. Its a 5 minute walk to the centre of the tourist must do's. Nice buffet breakfast included. It has a lovely little bar although its a bit more expensive than normal. Lovely dining area with a lovely hallway. I would stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merav A, Manager at Hotel Manos Stephanie, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

The Manos Stephanie team thank you very much for writing such a nice comment about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.

Merav Abergel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Manos Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manos Stephanie

Also Known As:
Manos Stephanie Hotel
Hotel Manos Stephanie Brussels, Belgium
Address: 28 Chaussee de Charleroi | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#2 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manos Stephanie 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Manos Stephanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manos Stephanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.