We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice locality, outskirts of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Brussels to your Saves list
Catalonia Brussels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Haut Pont 2, Hoge Bruglaan, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly HC Brussels)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Mumbai, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice locality, outskirts of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at HC Brussels for two nights. We were on a vacation, Brussels being one of the places we toured. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city and we wanted to stay in such a place. The city centre can be reached by a 15 minute tram ride. The tram stop is a couple of blocks away. The Gare Midi station is a short bus ride from the hotel.

We stayed in the premium room that had a small terrace with the city view. We could see the Palace of Justice and a tiny view of the Atomium. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. The bathroom had all the necessary toiletries. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast for €10 was good with a good variety. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi connectivity was good.

Overall, a good hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with the terrace offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation which I passed to my colleagues which were very happy that you had such a pleased stay with us, and it will motivate us to get even better in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel Catalonia Brussels.

Best regards
Beni Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    137
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
118
31
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nice room in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood, but not very close to the old city. It is kind of close to the Brussels Midi Station, and there are quite a few cafes around the hotel area. Room was clean, average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

HC Brussels is excellent value for money. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms, though small, are pleasant and spotlessly clean. For €10 you can get an excellent breakfast. There is a small bar. The hotel is conveniently situated being in reasonable distance from both Gare Midi and the old city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation which I passed to my colleagues which were very happy that you had such a pleased stay with us, and it will motivate us to get even better in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel Catalonia Brussels.

Best regards

Beni Pons
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice welcome, fair prices and a well presented room but oh so hot! You can see the exterior floodlights on the main picture, one of which lights room 509. The room had AC which produced a lot of noise but little cool air. The heating thermostat cut in at 26 degrees C.

I don't know why they bother with a duvet. With a mattress protector underneath, I was perspiring without anything on top.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Free wifi..but no water heater@kettle inside room.i have to go down and ask the receotionist for the hot water.this is due to mo water heater provided inside the room.the lift vry tiny.overall it is a clean hotel.and nearby tram as well as town..overall its ok

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff is friendly, the new rooms are clean and well equiped, the breakfast is rich. HC Brussels hotel can just be recommended.

I do not know what to write more to fill up the 200 characters, but I think that's what you need to know.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is good - clean room, clean and well equipped bathroom. There is wifi all over the hotel for free, the staff is nice and helpful, but not very quick.
Double room used as single gave me enough space - I think this room was the best I experienced in a 3 stars hotel in Brussels. The area is nice, not far from the city center.
The price for the room was fair - good balance services-price.
Dinner in this hotel wasn't a good idea - very few items from the menu list were actually available. Breakfast is available for extra money (10 euros/ day) - after the 'dinner experience' I decided to have breakfast in another place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Brussels

Address: Avenue du Haut Pont 2, Hoge Bruglaan, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly HC Brussels)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the Art Nouveau district in Brussels and just 10 minutes away from the Grand Place, the Catalonia Brussels (formerly HC Brussels) hotel offers their guests exterior, modern and comfortable rooms. All of them have free Wi-Fi connection and more than 20 international TV channels, as well as wide and fully equipped bathrooms for you to enjoy a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Forum Hotel Saint-Gilles
Catalonia Forum Brussels
Catalonia Forum Hotel Brussels
Catalonia Brussels Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.