We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busines hotel that offers discount rates on weekends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Brussels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Brussels to your Saves list
Catalonia Brussels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Haut Pont 2, Hoge Bruglaan, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly HC Brussels)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Busines hotel that offers discount rates on weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very good hotel, clean, comfortable and quiet. Situated away from city center in a nice neighbourhood, safe at night to walk around. Lots of eateries, resteraunts and burger bars etc. close by, Just ask at reception. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: I was on 6th floor. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Clinton E,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate all staff cause your words.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    157
    54
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
131
35
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice, clean and welcoming hotel, well located not far from the city center, and displaying an advantageous price level! Good comfort, silent environment (compared to existing conditions in this metgropolis!), nice and friendly staff!
Federico

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Federico,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate all staff cause your words.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great time staying at the HC Brussels. The location is extremely close to a convenient tram line that can get you to any of the sightseeing locations in Brussels. Although, on a map, it is farther from the city center than other options, the location provides a quiet oasis from the bustling, tourist center of town.

The rooms are updated, with wood floors and tile through out. There is a safe in the room and free wifi. The bathrooms are a great size and extremely clean. We were very impressed with the overall accommodations.

The hotel staff was also very helpful. They were available to answer questions and called taxis for us when we were traveling to/from the train station.

We had a great experience and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Christine R,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate all staff cause your words.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome and we continue imroving our facilities and services.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found it as being a nice and quiet location. The hotel HC Brussel is clean and the people representing the staff of it were friendly. We are satified regarding of breakfast and overall we thank you for your services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Loredan S,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate all staff cause your opinion.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is in a very nice quiet area of Brussels, not too far from the centre. Very clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast. The room was much better than in other 3-star hotels in Brussels. The restaurant has very reasonable prices. It does not work during lunch time, only in the evening, but there is a very nice bistro just around the corner. The whole stay proved out to be much better than expected and I would deffinitely chose again this hotel when staying in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Versenze,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate all staff cause your words.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Prices (at low season):
75 EUR/night Mon - Thu
60 EUR/night Fri - Sun
10 EUR for a very nice breakfast
Late check-out

They were not happy about my debit card and asked me to pay the full price in cash in advance plus 50 EUR deposit, which they returned to me when I checked out. This may be a problem for some people.

The hotel is located next to Ma Campagne, so it is easy to get to any part of the city from there.

The rooms are OK, but nothing spectacular. The bathroom is almost the size of the room itself and is very well equipped. The room has a built-in A/C unit, which is quite noisy, so it is a bit difficult to sleep with it on. It also has a mini-bar, a TV unit, a strongbox and a land-line phone. The wardrobe is large and the coat hangers are plentiful.

They have free high-speed Wi-Fi, and I mean high-speed; I was able to video-chat via Skype without any lags.

The hotel has a restaurant working after 7 PM except weekends with a very nice steak for 18 EUR. It is very tasty and the serving is huge - I had trouble finishing it, although I am a large guy and eat much. Don't take the salmon, however - they serve it with a weird sauce which totally does not go with it. On weekends it does not work, so you have to go out to the city to eat something. There are some food spots nearby, but I didn't try them.

The tap water is much cleaner than in some other hotels in Brussels - maybe they have some kind of filters installed.

The stuff is adequate and most of them speak English, although I had to guess what they tried to tell me sometimes.

Overall, I think I will stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor on the street side with some construction going on and it was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mr.Aleksei P,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
We take note about your remarks in our process and we will try to improve some of them.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have Just returned Home from a City Break In Brussels staying at the ''HC Brussels Hotel'' (Used to be Called & Is often still referred to as ''Catalonia Forum Hotel'')

The Hotel is easy enough to Reach from The centre of Brussels. Just a short Metro and Tram ride away (25-30 minutes). The HC Brussels is in the Saint Gilles District of Brussels, This area it's self is very interesting as they is plenty of Art Nouvelle Architecture with the Art Nouvelle - Horta Museum within walking distance of the Hotel.

To get to the Hotel Take the Metro to ''Louise'' Then upon exiting the metro station you will see the Tram stop, Take tram 92 Towards ''Fort Jaco'' But get off at ''Ma Campagne'' then walk up the street with your back to the Traffic lights, the hotel is down the first street on your left.

Upon arrival at the HC Brussels they made an excellent First impression. Our flight Left the UK at 6.30am so we where at the hotel by 10.30am. The Hotel already had our room ready (Excellent) We had a Twin Room of the 5th Floor, with a front facing view over the St Gilles district of Brussels. The receptionist who checked us in was very Helpful (English speaking) and told us everything we needed to know about the hotel.

Our room was a standard Twin Room with En-suit bathroom! The beds where Excellent. The room was clean, modern, had a TV with BBC channel, a Safe (Fee applied), A Desk, Telephone and fridge (With Mini-bar, Fees applied). The bathroom was really nice, had a great shower and was equipped with Hair-dryer, Complimentary Shower gels, Shampoo's, Soaps and Shoe polish too.

We slept well during our stay, The hotel is located in a very quite district of Brussels, so they is no Rowdiness at night.

They is No Tea & Coffee making facilities in the Standard Room's, However they is a Bar on the Ground floor; The bar is open from 18.00-22.00 Weekdays and closed on weekends. They is however a nice little bar 100 Meters from the hotel - If you exit the hotel, go left and at the end of the street on the corner they is a small bar.

Breakfast at the HC Brussels was excellent. The Breakfast room is on the Ground floor, next to the bar. It's a buffet continental style Breakfast; serving croissants, meats and cheeses. Cereal and Toast was also available. Fruit Juices and Tea / Coffee where available to drink. Although I stuck to the Orange Juice!

Personally, I was Very impressed with the HC Brussels! It was a quite hotel but that's not a bad thing! It's market is Tourist's & Business (So I felt very welcome here on a city Break.)
The Hotel offers Free Wi-FI that works in the Room's and at Reception, They is also Free internet access available from the Hotel's computers.

As we had a late flight home on the Monday (19.30) The hotel looked after our luggage for us after we had checked out of us room, again very helpful. We simply collected our luggage before commuting to the Airport.

The Hotel's Location on google maps is very accurate, this may help with guidance so you find the hotel easy. Journey time from the hotel to Brussels centre takes around 25-30Mins; Take Tram 92 from ''Ma campagne'' towards ''Schaarbeek'' getting off at ''Louise'', Then enter the Metro at Lousie at which point you can catch the metro trains to anywhere in the city.

Useful info for a Trip to Brussels: Nearest Tram stop to Hotel: Ma Campagne, Nearest Metro: Louise (Catch the tram here from the Hotel) Louise is a main Metro station so you can access anywhere within the city from here.

When using the Metro buy either the 24, 48 or 72 hour Discover Brussels tickets, they allow unlimited Travel on the Metro, Trams and Buses for the number of days indicated. When you are first issued with the ticket remember to validate it. The ticket it's self only needs validating once, However it will need inserting into a Validating machine at most stations to get through the ticket barriers. Buy your Travel tickets from the manned Kiosks as the ticket machines only accept Belgium Bank cards!

ATM Machines are not that popular in Brussels! However 85% of it's metro stations do have Free ATM machines (Louise included) so you can depend on the Metro stations for ATM's!

I Booked the Hotel Via Travelrepublic and paid £130 for 3 nights (Fri - Mon) for 2 Adults in one Twin room. This also included Breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Catalonia Brussels, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr.jon365athen,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
You have informed perfectly about our services and facilities.Advise for you and for other guest only that Horta metro station is also close from the hotel if you come from Gare du Midi.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future because you are more than welcome.
Best regards.
Jose Padron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Brussels

Address: Avenue du Haut Pont 2, Hoge Bruglaan, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly HC Brussels)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the Art Nouveau district in Brussels and just 10 minutes away from the Grand Place, the Catalonia Brussels (formerly HC Brussels) hotel offers their guests exterior, modern and comfortable rooms. All of them have free Wi-Fi connection and more than 20 international TV channels, as well as wide and fully equipped bathrooms for you to enjoy a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Forum Hotel Saint-Gilles
Catalonia Forum Brussels
Catalonia Forum Hotel Brussels
Catalonia Brussels Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.