We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Le Lys d'Or” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes to your Saves list
Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes
96 Avenue Henri Jaspar, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Saint-Gilles B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Le Lys d'Or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location is great, and our stay was really comfortable. My and my siter stayed at to top floor appartment which consists of two bedrooms, both en-suite, a living room and a fully equiped kitchen. The hostess -and hubby- are really nice and welcoming. It's just a few steps from the Munthof metro st.; a short walk away from the Justice Palace, the rest of the city centre, the Parliament, restaurants and in a very safe neighbourhood.

I'd definitely recommend this Guesthouse to anyone who is planning to visit Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
52
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Brussels. It only a few feet from the metro station and only two stops from the Gare du Midi which makes easy transport to the airport or the trains to elsewhere in Belgium or the Netherlands. We did walk to the center of Brussels and back, but if you are not up to that the proximity of the Metro is a plus. The room that we had was actually a two bedroom and two bath apartment at the top of the building. The accomodation was spectacular with charming decor and furnishings and a kitchen and living room, too. There are many steep and narrow stairways and we were happy that we chose to travel light. The owner, Dounia, was lovely and very helpful in steering us to some nice restaurants and places to see. The breakfast area was small, but comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I loved my room at the top of the building, but if stairs are a problem, you should ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A perfect place to stay if you want to travel around Brussels! The metro station is down the street, just 1 minute from the house! From that stop to Gare Du Midi there are only 2 metro stops. And from Gare du Midi you can arrive wherever you want. We visited Anvers, Gand and Brugge.
The room is enormous, very confortable and clean. Although it is spacious, it is very warm !
In the bathroom there's also the bidet (very important for italian travellers !!!)
The owner is a sweet young girl, very kind and always available. Breakfast is rich of sweet things.. if I'll visit Brussels another time, I'm sure I'll go back to Le Lys D'Or !!!
Beautiful experience ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in chamber 3 which had 3 rooms. Stunning decor, very comfy. The lady who runs it was super helpfull kind and lovely. She even helped us lug our cases up the steep stairs.
I would recommend this place to anyone as long as they dont have a problem with lots of steep stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Absolutely lovely B&B, with incredibly spacious rooms and comfortable and clean interiors. It was very quiet - I think the windows block out most of the noise from the street. The B&B is located very close to the metro, although it wouldn't take long to walk into the centre of Brussels. The breakfast was more than sufficient - fresh bread, croissants and boiled eggs made to order. Overall, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room we stayed in is on the top floor of the building. The interior was in a mint condition, very clean and nice. The place is really quiet. I even wonder if we didnt make too much noise ourselves. We had two beds and one sofa, which was over our expectations. Washing mashine and dishwasher was also awailable. Clean towels, cups, shower and TV also available, not to mention free Wi-Fi. The beds were in two seperate bedrooms. Each bedroom has a seperate bathroom. Hair dryer is available in the bathroom.

The host was very helpful and kind. You can find the host at the hotel most of the time, which is very convenient. If the host is not there, you can call him/her by simply pressing a button on the first floor near a speaker on the wall. It connects directly to him/her cellphone and it is for free. Really nice and convenient. The host gave us few advices about places to visit at the evening and so, we used them and were satisfied. The breakfast was fine for the price. You get to eat sweet stuff, but you can also ask for an egg.

The one drawback to mention is the steep, narrow stair to the rooms. As we lived in the top floor, this was a inconvenient. However, the view of the room we got to see when we made it to the top was really nice, and the effort to climb the stairs paid off.

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a pity to leave. I am fully satisfied with the B&B and would recommend to anyone who plans to visit Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an ideally located B&B. The hostess was very pleasant, flexible and amenable, making sure we had all the help and information we needed. This was a mix of family vacation and business, and the family apartment on the top floor was fantastic! Beautiful, spacious, comfortable, but it also had the internet access important for the business part of our stay, and breakfast provided at an hour that helped us stick to our schedule. It's located immediately next to a secure parking garage, so we could leave the car and not return to it again until we were ready to leave. You have to fight a lot of traffic and confusing circulation to get there, but it's definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Family room is a fully functional 2-floor apartment with kitchen, living/dining area, and 2 bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes

Address: 96 Avenue Henri Jaspar, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lys d'Or est une maison d'hotes typiquement bruxelloise avec 3 chambres situee a proximite d'un arret de metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lys D'Or Chambres D'hotes Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lys d'Or Chambres d'hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.