We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first bite?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amour Fou

L'Amour Fou
185 Chaussee d'Ixelles, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
00 32 2 325 73 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 104 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love at first bite?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Situated next to St Boniface and the Matongue area of Brussels, l'Amour Fou is all about combining a unique atmosphere and some great food. It is not just a restaurant, it is also a great bar in the evening and free wifi coffee lounge during the day. It caters to all your needs and more, by also providing space for photo exhibits, live gigs and a selection of old LPs that are for sale.

I discovered the place when invited to a UNICEF fund raising event. On the night my partner and I had some small side dishes to accompany our drinks and were surprised at how good their nachos and cheese platters were. I later noticed they did all kinds of burgers and even a Sunday brunch. They advertised that everything is freshly made, including the fries, bread and nachos. So we decided to come back a few weeks later to try out the food.

The selection of burgers is one of the best I've seen in Brussels. You won't be disappointed, this place knows how to make a burger taste right. From the home-made buns to the juicy meat, they pack all the essentials required for the perfect burger.
Help it all down with a glass of freshly squeezed juice before tucking into a sublime banoffee pie.
Brunch is served from 11am to 5pm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    60
    24
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A friend of mine introduced me to this place that I found refreshing in terms of concept and atmosphere. The food is correct, but the nice thing is that you can go any time of the day to have a drink, or during the week to enjoy a nice live band playing some music. It has this nice welcoming feeling about it that makes you wanna come back. I also went on a saturday night, they had a DJ playing some trendy music.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Can't go there without having a burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We like the place, the decoration is nice, the staff friendly and the burgers delicious and original: beef, chicken ... fried potatoes, sweet potatoes, onion rings... goat cheese, cheddar, guacamole...
I never succeeded to try something else on the menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very professional staff, polite and efficient, and the food and drinks are delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were there last night to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were thinking to stay there for some drinks only. But we've ended up staying there for dinner!
The staff: Very professional, polite and efficient. A friend asked for bloody mary which was not on the menu, and the staff accepted the order nicely.
The drinks: The cocktails are delicious. Great mixing. I had Mai Tai (the cocktail of the week) and it's sooo delicious. On our table we also had Gin Fizz, Mojito Raspberry, Capirinha Raspberry, Mojito Lime. No one complains but sipping on the drinks happily
The food: We started off getting hungry and getting the entree and light snacks. At first we had the 'Charcuterie Belge'. It is slices of salami, it came with bread and butter! Then we ordered Nachos Locos. It's reaally good.. big portion of tacos with guacamole, sour cream and salsa and melted cheese. We saw the other table eating their burgers and we thought that we must have them.
Our table ordered "Bobo", "Moine", "Cheeseburger" and " Cheeseburger with Bacon"
For Bobo, it's a beef burger with goat cheese on top, and served with sauteed sweet potatoes. I find that the portion of sweet potatoes is too small. And there is no fries came with it. The Moine comes with 3 onion rings. Again, it's kinda small for side dish. So we had to order extra fries. It's just that we expected fries with every burgers. But we were not disappointed. for extra, the fries are home-made, still with the skin, and so crunchy. The staff also explained to us nicely becausewe were so edgy when we discovered that there is no fries with the burgers.
However, the cheeseburgers came with fries. But everyone gets what they wanted without waiting too long. So we were happy.
We didn't get to see their desserts. But from the menu, the Finnish Heaven and the moelleux au chocolat looks promising.
We will definitely come back and experience other things in the menu!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxed dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Warm welcoming service, the place has a vision, ethical and culinary standards, opennes to art and music, .. The best hamburgers I ever had. Fresh, refined yet: Burgers! You need to take your time when you go there, you might wait a little for the food to come, but personally, I like that: it's more quality time with friends, and besides: most restaurants working with fresh and natural ingredients need time to make their food (or so they say, well to me it makes sence). The little beetroot salads, and special carrot/cheese mixture: all those little dishes that "surprised" me, in a very positive way.
Nassim, the man who runs the place, is doing an amazing job. (If you get a chance to talk to him: it's an exceptional personality)

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amour Fou also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to L'Amour Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amour Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.