We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres en Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Chambres en Ville to your Saves list
Chambres en Ville
Rue de Londres,19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Ixelles B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have stayed at "chambre en ville" a few times and am still thrilled to discover the different rooms, and the details of each room: they have been decorated with plenty of imagination and taste. At the same time you can simply feel at home in them. In the mornings you share your breakfast with other guests at a big table.
If you are a sensitive sleeper ask for a room towards the yard.
Chambre en ville is just the opposite of a faceless, modern hotel. It is unique, offering great quality, including a personal but professional management. "Unfortunately" others have discovered this gem as well, and the place is already fully-booked for my next stay in Brussels...so: stay away :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked La Vie d’Artiste six weeks before travelling to the B&B but upon arrival we were shown to the room across the hall (Retour d'Afrique). This room faces the street but we didn't realise the significance of this at the time. I pointed out our booking was for the other room but this was met with a blank face and an apology that we had to sleep in the African themed room as the spare bed for our son had already been placed in that room. With hindsight I wish I'd insisted that we simply pick the bed up and move it 10 paces across the hall into the room we'd booked.
Without exaggeration the three of us had the worst night's sleep that we've ever had. There is a bar on the corner downstairs (London Calling) and if the LOUD music wasn't keeping us awake, the noise of the bar's squeaky door opening and closing as people went outside to smoke did.
Aside from this, the B&B is in a nice area and the room was beautifully decorated (although some of the African headwear hanging on the wall was very dusty).
We note with interest that the previous reviewer experienced the same problems that we had when trying to agree on a suitable time for our breakfast to be served: we were told that 8 o'clock was "Not possible" yet when we arrived for our 8.30 slot two other guests were finishing their leisurely breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Upon arrival at Chambres en Ville we were asked what time we would like breakfast, a response of 7:30 am was met with Phillipe saying that is the time he has breakfast and it would not be possible. Eventually 8 am was agreed on, though he kept pushing for 8:30 am. The following morning we came down for breakfast and all the other guests were finishing their breakfast, turns out Phillipe was just trying to stagger when everyone had breakfast and breakfast was indeed available at 7:30 am. Breakfast consists of toast, jam, croissant, fresh fruit and yogurt with choice of juice, tea or coffee to drink.
At check-in we were shown to the 2nd floor and our room. I had booked the room 2 months prior and was told we would have the room "La Vie d' Artiste". Once we arrived at the 2nd floor we were told there was a "problem" with "La Vie d'Artiste" and would the room "Retour d'Afrique" be ok? We answered it would be fine. Retour d'Afrique faces the street and there is a bar/night club next door named "London Calling" there was loud, live music until late into the night. After spending 2 nights there we realized the "problem" with our original room that Phillipe had mentioned was that it was given to another guest. I can only guess this other guest was unhappy with the noisiness of the front room and asked to have their room changed. La vie d'Artiste overlooks the inner courtyard and I can only assume that it is quieter than the front room. The second night I had to wear earplugs in order to get to sleep.
Due to the treatment we received, I can not recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

A very warm welcome from Phillipe and his wife. Upon arrival my friend was unwell. Phillipe allowed us to check in early so my friend Charlotte could have a rest.Even with the language barrier ( my french being very poor) Phillipe and his wife were concerned and showed nothing but kindness, asking every day during our stay if Charlotte was feeling any better and if there was anything they could do. Situated on the edge of the Ixelles district, the Grand Place in the Lower Town is a 20 minutes walk away. The Levante room which We stayed in was spacious and airy. It is on the first floor, overlooking the Place de Londres. There was some noise. A bar on the corner of the square and a house was being refurbished up the road at the time of my stay being the main causes.

There are plenty of nearby restaurants and bars. Rue Boniface especially, being a 5 minute walk away has lots of choice, as does the whole Ixelles/Matonge area.

Breakfast was served downstairs at a time of your choosing.
Continental and very good it was too.

If you wish to stay in Brussels, in a relaxed, comfortable B& B with wonderful Hosts, I can't think of anywhere better. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

This B&B was a fantastic find. Good value for money with a delicious breakfast, quirky decorations in the rooms - I could have stayed here for weeks! Rooms were huge, set in a quiet neighbourhood with some great restaurants and cafes. Our host was lovely and friendly and I could not fault this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Beautifully decorated B&B in a vibrant neighbourhood in Brussels. Each rooms has a theme and the whole building exudes quality, attention to detail, and the creative mind of owner Phillippe.

Rooms & bathrooms are spotless and exquisitely decorated. They have big windows and tall ceilings that add a feeling of largesse. The website picture are very accurate portrayals. The rooms are in the upper floors but without elevators maybe inconvenient for mobility-impaired visitors.

Free WiFi, delicious breakfast, and a beautiful courtyard are other pluses.

Restaurants and main attractions are within walking distance. Parking is limited so may have to use a parkade.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We absolutely enjoyed every minute at this place. Our room was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was amazing with house-made jam etc. and we enjoyed exploring the area which was packed with good restaurants (refresh your French skills!) and nice cafés. The place has an exceptional atmosphere and iconic character throughout. All nights were quite and it was lovely to be waken up by the smell of coffee. We you are used to Premier Inn and Novotel you are possibly not abble to appreciate the place. We did it a lot and always searching for these hidden gems. Merci beaucoup!
Ingo & Lia

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres en Ville

Address: Rue de Londres,19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chambres en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres En Ville Hotel Ixelles
Chambres En Ville Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres en Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.