We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant , to be tried” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune

Neptune
Rue Lesbroussart, 48, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 (0)489 303 350
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 104 Restaurants in Ixelles
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
671 reviews 671 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,314 helpful votes 1,314 helpful votes
“Pleasant , to be tried”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant, one of the neo-bistrot series, is quite the hip of the day and all serious gastronome in Brussels should go there. This is a pleasant-ish experience, but in my opinion they have some homework to do before settling among the best restaurants in Brussels.
The room is nicely furnished but overcrowded as there are at least two tables too many and the service is frankly slow and kind of inaccurate as they are one waiter short.
The food is generally worth a try, it did not made me cry with joy, but there is some solid skills and a few good ideas behind it. The wine pairing is inevitable for a small table, but for a larger one that can open one bottle every two servings, I would advise to skip it. I was not convinced by a few matches, but that has to do with my personal taste of course.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Neptune restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Interesting and creative cuisine for foodie connaisseurs. It is so refreshing to be surprised and taste truly creative food. The tasting menu at 56 euros is delightful and the three of us (couple plus teenager) did not agree with previous trip advisor reviews re quality and quantity. We were quite satisfied on all fronts and delighted to discover new ingredients like faisselle. The service was friendly and warm. The only slight niggle is that the wine at 48 euros (a Beaujolais) was overpriced but then we could have chosen something else. The meal ended with financiers with the coffee which were historic. We would happily return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Experimental food in a cosy nest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The restaurant is very tiny and cosy and the crew is amazing, friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable .

The food is very experimental, mix of textures, tastes, very innovative. Sometimes it works amazingly, and sometimes...it fails. But out 5 dishes and 2 deserts on the set menu, 5 were absolutely great so overall a good score. Keep on the good work !

The one thing that is a bit puzzling: have to go through the kitchen to access the toilets. Bizarre experience :-)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“for food lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I almost cancelled my reservation because of the bad reviews on tip advisor. But i had been once before and so thought i would take a chance. I am so glad i did. The experience was great, the place is fun the staff friindly and the experience is a true delight. Unusual its true and perhaps not for every one, but the food is chosen perfectly, combinations you would never imagine, and very fresh ingredients. It has a Japanese feel and certainly the chef goes out of his way to make his life complicated but the result is something different - something i will remember for a long time among all the other resterants that blurr into one over time. Its a fixed menu but one of my friends doesn't eat shell fish, we hadn't told them before hand but there was no problem and a delicious replacement was prepared to replace the oyster in squid ink which was visual as well as tasty and the "couteau" with mushrroms. We then had squid with beetroot and black olives, ray and then the most amazing duck, female duck which was devine, hardly cooked at all so as with the other courses this is a place for people who are really interested in food - one of my friends was thinking they were still a little hungry until the duck came as the portions are small but since you have so many courses thats a good thing. And there were 2 deserts both fabulous. If you choose the wines that go with the menu it will set you back 33 euros but the wines are unusual and really good and they don't stint. My friends are serious wine and food lovers who eat around the world and they were happy. A possible down side is the long wait between courses at the beginning as i think the chef tries to prepare the same course for several tables at once

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We are a group of friends which likes to discover new, special and interesting places to eat in Brussels. We are quite demanding, and le Neptune seemed to be a very good choice. The place itself is very special, lovely lights, nicely set tables. Very promissing...until the food was served. OK, the policy of the house is to serve a fixed menue (49 EUR, 85 with suggested wines) with minimalistic plates, which is fine, BUT then the food has to be flawless and something to rock your palat. In this case it was really the contrary. No value for the price!!! I really don't recommend anyone to waste money in this place. What on earth was gault&millau thinking.

See below for detailed comments on the November menu.

The first dish of the fixed menue was an oyster, very small but a very nice and particular taste. Everything still looked very promissing.
Second dish, 6h coocked leak and then grilled with a mousseline sauce: looked nice, but no taste whatsoever. No spices, no salt. I guess all the taset was gone during 6h cooking.
Third dish: a tiny piece of octopus, again coocked for 6h, hard like a rock, needed a 10 min chew before it could be swollowed. Disaster.
Fourth dish: lotte with some herbs. Not coocked, it still had blood at the side!!! (a terrible mistake), not salty, no spices. Disapointment.
Fifth dish: civet de marcasin. Despite the fact it was a civet, the meet was very dry (well these 2 cubic centimeters of meet that was in the dish), none of the vegetables were coocked. The sauce was nice, though, and lovely flavoured.
Desser No1: tarte aux poires: "Ni sucrée ni salée", as explained by the waiter. I would also add, "ni cuit non plus". In addition, also the pastry was not well baked. Another disapointment.
Dessert No2: this was the highlight of bad dishes: Sorbet de riz was absolutely awful. I can eat everything but this was really inedible.

We had two bottles of white wine, the first one suggested by the waiter was a very nice Savoie blanc, Le P'tit canon, 30 EUR; the second, CouCou, sémillon/sauviognon de Sud Oues, very mediocre for 48 EUR!!! (on internet it costs 19).

Not worth, though we had a good laugh while criticising the food and eating lots of bred which was at the end of the day the best dish :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.