We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Trappiste

Le Trappiste
Avenue de la Toison d'Or 3, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 (0) 25117927
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 104 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Brasserie
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lake District UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food was good value and staff attentive. Possibly the best value and food we experienced on the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    39
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The first beer to try in Belgium!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Trappiste is a beer to be tested by all beer fans! However, it is quite high in alcohol content! They can be easily found almost at any supermarket in Belgium.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good Belgian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The old-style, typical Brussels restaurant in the popular avenue Toison d'Or. I went there to have a dinner: petit jambonneau, an excellent and huge (not "petit" at all) peace of cooked smoked meat with bone, with the mustard sauce over (delicious!) and traditional French fries. Very tasty, great sauce, real food – if you are hungry this will help. With a glass of red wine – a perfect combination. The prices are a bit higher than in some similar restaurants in Brussels, but the quality is really good, therefore, the price is in the end not really high. The restaurant is almost always full – another indication of a good quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Try not to to inconvenience the staff with your customer-like behavior”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm sometimes forced frequent this establishment as some of my friends like to meet here out of convenience.

All of the waiters (save one or two) have a unique knack for making you feel like an unwelcome relative who decided to drop by unannounced and ruin their Sunday afternoon.

On one occasion, one of the waiters (who looks like a young Steve Buscemi) even decided to ridicule our group because we sat down at a table that he hadn't cleaned yet. After we sat down he left a smelly, dirty rag in the middle of the table to make some sort of point – he also made some sort of wise-crack that no one really understood. Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think it’s good form to embarrass customers.

I still hesitate every time I open the door to Le Trappistes, and if I see the Steve Buscemi lookalike I head for the other side of the bar to avoid him.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Decent food in a "Brasserie" atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Trappiste is situated on one of Brussels' busy avenues, half-way between the trendy shops, galleries and cinemas on one side, and the teeming Matongué neighborhood on the other. The atmosphere is typical of the somewhat older city cafés, with oak panelling, mirrors and shiny brass. The public is varied, with people popping in for a quick drink (Belgian beer, mainly, of which there is an acceptable choice) before or after movies as well as couples coming in for a meal and tourists seeking to sample Belgian dishes. The food is decent, no frills, and the service correct.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trappiste also viewed

 

Been to Le Trappiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Trappiste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.