We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravan'Serail

Caravan'Serail
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ixelles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caravan'Serail
Save
You added Caravan'Serail to your Saves list
47 rue Lesbroussart, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The b&b is located in the nicest area of Brussels next to all the nice bars and restaurants of ixelles. Shopping at avenue Louise is just 5 min on foot and public transportation that takes you to wherever you want to go in Brussels is right outside the b&b. Stephanie and Giacomo are the best hosts you could think of they are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is great .. all organic and homemade. They even make the yoghurt themselves !Will always be coming back here when in Brussels! So much better than all the overpriced hotels in Brussels!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed four nights and five days at the Caravan 'Serail which was recommended to us by our friends who had stayed there before. We stayed at the Sha-Dô room and paid euro 70 per night including breakfast for two. The room was very clean and comfortable and cosy with access to a kitchen outside the room. The breakfast was great... great value for money and delicious with homemade juice every morning. Stephanie, the owner is friendly and very discreet and easy going. We felt very welcome and definitely will go back there the next time we are back in Brussels. Great location with access to public transportation and plenty of restaurants and bars to try around in Place Flagey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Last year we stayed at the B&B for two nights, and we loved it. That's why we were very happy that we could book all of the three rooms for our this year's trip to Brussels to stay with our friends who were travelling with us.
As always everything was perfect – from the first to the last minute. The rooms were spotless clean, the rooms are cozy and of perfect size, the breakfast yummy with self-made juice and everything you need for a perfect start into the day.
I don't know if someone already mentioned it before: The rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floor without an elevator, so unfortunately it isn't suitable for elderly or disabled travelers ... (but I liked the stairs to get rid of all the waffles and fries :))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent a very comfortable week in the Caravan'Serail when in Brussels for work. I was going through a stressful period at the time, and its soothing atmosphere was just what I needed.

I stayed in the Timbuktu room at the top of the house. It is spacious, light, airy and warm, with wall to wall windows overlooking the garden, and a great en suite shower.

It was very handy to have access to a small kitchen equipped with a sink, oven, fridge and electric hob plate, so that one could make cups of tea or simple meals.

The area is great - near to the elegant Avenue Louise, and also Place Flagy with its supermarket, banks, restaurants, and shops. It's about a 25 min walk to the European Parliament.

The breakfast every morning was delicious, with fruit & veg smoothies, homemade yogurt and delicious bread.

Stephanie and Giacomo are friendly, attentive, courteous and relaxed, and so were lovely hosts.

There are a lot of stairs (and no lift) so not for those with mobility problems, and wifi struggles to reach the top of the house, but a lovely place to spend a few days, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Recanati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This B&B is in a good location, close to Place Flagey and public transport. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The owners are very kind. The price/quality ratio is excellent: the best B&B you can find in Brussels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I don't really need to add anything here... The accommodation and hospitality were fantastic. Rooms are beautiful, breakfast is amazing. Amazing value for money!
The only downside is it is a bit far to walk to the main sites in the cente of Brussels..about 30mins. This was fine in the mornings but on cold nights we had to taxi or tram it.
This is a small downside though as the trams are 5 mins away and the area has lots of lovely bars and restaurants open at night.
Thank you Stephanie!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was traveling with friends this past week, and after a few rainy and stressful travel days, staying at Caravan'Serail felt like the best kind of homecoming. The breakfast was delicious, Jacopo gave us great recommendations for things to eat and see in the area, and the beds were very comfortable. We only wish we could have stayed longer--I'll book earlier next time! I hope that I'll be able to go back again someday (perhaps in the summertime when the patio is open).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravan'Serail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan'Serail

Address: 47 rue Lesbroussart, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caravan'Serail Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravan'Serail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.