We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near to the luxury shops and city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Louise 91-93, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ixelles
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good location near to the luxury shops and city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Large (twice the size of some similar priced hotels in Brussels) well appointed and comfortable room; somewhat sober and muted design. My room on this occasion facing away from Louise, so very quiet (if not an inspiring view!). A good rest is reasonably assured!
Breakfast good including the entertaining fresh orange squashing machine.
Staff attitude was a little variable; most very friendly and welcoming, some rather less so. Hotel management could work on this.
Location great for the designer shops; in the evening local life is surprisingly varied...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineDelord, Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels at Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Please be assured that we appreciate the fact that you put a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel, your room and the location of the hotel.
However, we have taken good note of your remark regarding the attitude of the staff. You can be assured that action will be taken where appropriate in order to avoid this problem in the future.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,
Yours Sincerely,
Christine Delord
Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    249
    93
    43
    20
See reviews for
76
215
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Thon Bristol Hotel in Brussels.The service at this hotel is outstanding! The staff on duty is accommodating to your every need. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The location is great.The complimentary breakfast is delicious especially the fresh squeezed orange juice. The only complaint I have is that it was impossible to get on the internet unless you went outside in the hallway, besides that I everything else was fabulous! If you are looking for a great priced hotel in a nice area in Brussels this is without a doubt the place to stay! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking onto Louise Street otherwise you'll have a view of a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineDelord, Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels at Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to put a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel, your room and the location of the hotel.
However, we have taken good note of your remark regarding the internet access. Please accept our most sincere apologies for this inconvenience. It was due to a technical problem which has now been solved.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,
Yours Sincerely,
Christine Delord
Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have visited the Thon hotel (Bristol Stephanie) a couple of times now and can only say that it's always a pleasant stay. What I specially like is the huge rooms that are available, if you are on the tenth floor you even have a huge balcony. Also the neigborhood is fantastic, beautiful stores, great restaurants and good bars. Further the breakfast is good (continental) and there is a gym (really small) and a sauna (not visited) there is also a bar and restaurant, but because of the other great places in the neighborhood I have not used that so can't give you a review on that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor have a huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is in a nice and quiet neighborhood, the personal was very kind, and the rooms are great.

It is 15 blocks away from the Markt (the great downtown sqare), which can be a bit far away when raining, and there is no direct tram, (one transfer is needed).

The standard room is really big and comfortable, well equiped with modern furniture and in perfect condition.

The only thing to note is that the double bed is made using two single beds. Despite this, sleep was comfortable. The covers are also two singles, which is the only thing to complain. We asked reception for one double cover, but they told us there were none.

Overall, the experience was really great, and I will choose it again if coming back to Brussels on the same budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although this is billed as a four star, it really isn't by my standards. The room was spacious enough and the bathroom was excellent but that was about it. The decor is old fashioned and everything was just a bit musty really.
I got stuck in the lift to the room which scared me enough to take the stairs for the rest of the time there. There were empty plates from room service sitting outside the lift for at least a day as well which was quite unpleasant.
My key card didn't work and when I went to reception, I was told to keep my mobile phone away from it as it ensures it doesn't work. No apologies for the inconvenience, just a telling off! I didn't have the energy to point out I didn't have my mobile phone with me!
All in all it wasn't the greatest of experiences and I definitely would not book a Thon hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineDelord, Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels at Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for putting a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your last stay at the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie.
However, we are very disappointed to read that you encountered some issues during your stay.
Please be assured that your comments have been read with the most careful attention and that action will be taken where appropriate in order to avoid this kind of problems in the future.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to prove you that the hotel is up to its 4 star standards.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,
Yours Sincerely,
Christine Delord
Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room we got was at first sight clean, Though when you move the sofa you'll find dust. Also the roomservice forgot one of our orders, so we had to call again. In the morning somebody of the cleaningstaff walked into our room without even waiting for answer.I dont recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineDelord, Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels at Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to put a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your last stay at the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie.
However, we are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Please be assured that we took good note of your remarks and that action will be taken where appropriate in order to avoid this kind of problems in the future.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to prove you that the hotel is up to its 4 star standards.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,
Yours Sincerely,
Christine Delord
Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Absolutely terrible. Reception staff are clueless and unfriendly. Cleaning staff use the customer lift, which means a 30+ minute wait to get to your room. There is no chef at weekends, he prepares meals on a Friday to be reheated over the weekend !!! Only one barman who also looks after the restaurant and room service, so be prepared to wait.... Many better places in the area.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineDelord, Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels at Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to put comments on Trip Advisor regarding your last stay at the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie.
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like you to accept our most sincere apologies.
However, please be assured that the attitude of the reception staff is not the kind of service we are offering to our guests. Therefore, could you give us (christine.delord@thonhotels.be) the name of the receptionists so that we can take actions.
Regarding the fact that the food is prepared on Friday to be served during the weekend, we can tell you that this is not possible. As a procedure for the whole Thon Hotels Group, we have a chef in the kitchen for every lunch and dinner and the food is never reheated. We would be interested by knowing why you think that in order to be able to discuss with the kitchen team.
For the elevators, it is true that we do not have a service elevator. Therefore, the chambermaids have to use the guests elevators but the procedure is that they have to wait in order not to disturb the guests.
We would really but thankful if you could give us more information on your stay, this would help us very much.
We thank you in advance and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to show you that the Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie is up to its 4 star standards.
Yours Sincerely,
Christine Delord
Personal Assistant to the Area Director BeNeLux of Thon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie

Address: Avenue Louise 91-93, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the liveliest area in Brussels, on the trendy Avenue Louise – a young, multicultural and artistic locality – Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie is ideal for both businessmen and tourists. The rooms are amongst the biggest of Brussels and combined elegance and comfort. The Sablon square, famous for its antiques and the historical centre are easily accessible by walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.